We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice, clean, SECLUDED get-away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Girdwood, Anchorage, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah W
1 review
“Nice, clean, SECLUDED get-away”
Reviewed 1 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

I really enjoyed our stay at this cabin. We were able to completely unplug but still watch Netflix and we're very close to some great hiking trails around Girdwood. We went in an odd season and had to go to Anchorage for dinners and items the general store didn't supply. The drive to Anchorage is scenic and beautiful but tiresome after 4 days.

It was very clean and well maintained - I felt very comfortable here. I could only really critique two things.

1) The ceilings. They are VERY angled. The furniture arrangement is such that it's not really a nuisance but in some areas, like the bath/toilet (which is very low), it's extremely annoying. I'm 5'3" and would hit my head daily.

2) There are strong benefits to this location and while I much preferred it over a hotel, there are still a handful of luxuries that could be provided to make the stay more comfortable, like Q-Tips. We came across some other weird things, like for example, we got peanutbutter but it was basically empty and we also had to buy our own detergent/softener to use the provided laundry units. The necessities are all there, though. The driveway is also very steep and it snowed the last day we were there and had to clear our own way before our flight out.

Other than that, we never met Kevin but Patty was very polite and responsive. She even checked-in on us in the driveway once to make sure we were doing alright, and we also met their son once on the property who was polite and talkative as well.

There is also a dog in the neighborhood who kind of spooked us in the middle of the night showing up at the door. The dog was very sweet and not a bother at all, but he would randomly show up in the darkness and scratch on the door which was quite spooky.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scd_cospr...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful wooded hideaway with waterfall!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay in Girdwood and host Patty was wonderful! We had originally booked the Virgin Creek Lodge, but ended up staying in their newer fireweed suite located on same property. Beautiful front covered deck with direct view of stream from waterfall. Left windows open at night and slept to sounds of the rushing water; Very serene. The suite was immaculate with all amenities you could ask for. Had to google how to use a french press as I had never used one before, but worked out great for our morning coffee. Location was close to Girdwood center, but far enough away to feel remote. Took the 5 minute hike up to Virgin Creek Falls and they were amazing!! Would highly recommend this property!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LuvinAK73
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Such a wonderful place, its off the beaten path, serene and romantic. We love this place. It's clean, comfortable, stocked with necessities... the hot tub is a real bonus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you Katie for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit.
Patty and Kevin Montague
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaR...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Perfect rental for our Alaskan adventure”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thank you, Patty and Kevin, for the perfect rental! We chose this property because of all of the stellar reviews, and everyone was right. The cabin was clean, private, and the perfect size for the two of us. The owners stocked the fridge with a few items, and the kitchen has everything you need to cook/serve/store meals. The hot tub on the porch was the icing on the cake; it has bluetooth speakers and LED lights. All of the details were thoughtfully chosen, from the decor to the extra towels. The owners greeted us upon arrival and were pleasant and friendly. The town of Girdwood was a perfect launching point for our day trips to Talkeetna, Whittier and Seward. We would stay here again if we return to Alaska!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you Joshua and Samantha for the wonderful review. We are so glad you had an amazing trip in Alaska. Please do come back and visit.
Patty and Kevin Montague
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing