We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the Denali Highway”

Maclaren River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Gakona
Cuisines: American
Description: Lodge/Bar/Restaurant on the Denali Highway, great place to hang out during the summer and winter. Good food, nice bar, cool people who own it, and acceptable accomodations, albeit rugged, and remote. Wonderful view of the Maclaren Glacier, right on the river. Wildlife abounds in this remote spot. Fishing and ATVing in the summer, snow machining, hunting, cross country skiing in winter.
Restaurant details
Description: Lodge/Bar/Restaurant on the Denali Highway, great place to hang out during the summer and winter. Good food, nice bar, cool people who own it, and acceptable accomodations, albeit rugged, and remote. Wonderful view of the Maclaren Glacier, right on the river. Wildlife abounds in this remote spot. Fishing and ATVing in the summer, snow machining, hunting, cross country skiing in winter.
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We stayed at this lodge and glad we chose this one after seeing the other 2 in real life. The room was clean, loved the deck overlooking the river. Great waterpressure whichi is sometimes non exsistant in alaska. Just remember to bring toiletries. (shampoo body soap). They were reasonable for the cafe and bar. Great View! also bring mosqito repelent but that is anywhere in alaska.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juni399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaclarenL, Owner at Maclaren River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you,
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Alan and Susie Echols

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Great food out in the middle of nowhere. :-) Served buffet style with some wonderful food and lots of great fresh bread. They also had some the the best Alaskan made art work we saw through out our trip. Super nice people and clean restrooms.

Thank happycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaclarenL, Owner at Maclaren River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you,
We appreciate your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We spent this last weekend at Maclaren lodge, just have to say Suzy, Zack and Anna were great hosts! Spent days at 7 mike lake fishing, caught 3 beautiful lake trout in the first 15 minutes. Spent another day going to the ice caves at the head of the Maclaren river drainage, great snowmachining area! Seriously can go for miles! Saw much wild life, Fox, coyote, moose, eagle and lots of ptarmigan! Got great shots of the mountains and surrounding areas. The best part was coming back in the evenings to great dinners, cozy accommodations and warm showers! Breakfast was great with plenty of coffee in the mornings! Highly recommend spending at least 2 nights. There is so much area you can cover, great relaxing fun weekend! Thank you! Suzy

Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaclarenL, Owner at Maclaren River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

It was a pleasure having you here! Love making new friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed here overnight, so we could spend a couple of days driving on the Denali Highway from Paxton to Cantwell, so we arrived at dinner time, had a room, and left late the next morning. We had a great experience.
The place is very laid back. Old timers who have returned for many years pitch in to help newcomers find a beer when the staff is busy in the back. After a while, you pitch in a little, too. One regular and his two twenty-something sons had brought guitars and banjos, and they let me join in on the guitar and play a few songs. It had a great feel.
The food was good and plentiful and reasonably priced. We had chili and burgers and fries. Breakfast was delicious the next morning.
We stayed in a very nice room with a private bath, very comfortable. Although there were lots of people staying at the lodge, including a rowdy group of teenagers, everyone was mindful of the hour and about ten o'clock most people went to sleep.
This is old-time Alaska, and I highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vaidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaclarenL, Owner at Maclaren River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to share. We look forward to seeing you again.

Alan and Susie Echols

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch while driving the Denali highway. There's really nowhere else to stop so I didn't have high hopes but this place blew my mind.

The AYCE soup bar with homemade bread was truly delicious, especially the soup of the day - the potato bacon soup. Their blueberry pie a la mode was awesome.

I wish there were more places like this on our trip!

1  Thank ZonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaclarenL, Owner at Maclaren River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your business and for sharing

Alan and Susie Echols

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maclaren River Lodge also viewed

Been to Maclaren River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing