We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Nearby Hotels
Gakona Alaska RV Park(Gakona)(Great Value!)
US$ 20
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
52
21
11
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
21
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgakona lodgefresh sconescarriage housealaskan roadhouselog cabinstayed one nightwould stay here againriverglennallentrappersrafttok
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Beautiful, old, historic building that used to be a carriage repair shop. Our tour group of 40 enjoyed a delicious lunch and historical presentation of the area under open wood beams. The grounds are interesting with informative signs about the buildings and people of the area. We did not see any of the lodge accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendalyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The Gakona lodge is a nice spot to relax after a long drive. The lodge is adjacent to the Gakona river. We had a camp fire right outside the cabin with the wood provided and dead wood around. A continental breakfast is provided. The person running the place is friendly and really laid back. Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Travelling from Fairbanks to Anchorage by car, a good mid-point to stop and enjoy the scenery and fish if you have time. It's a quaint little lodge with stand alone cabins and lodge accommodation that are authentic in build, the way they used to be, but very comfortable. We went in late August 2016 so it was cool but lovely outside the cabin in the afternoon sun. Bar in lodge has great locals and very friendly atmosphere of the real Alaska. It is not a place for five star type of people, but one for those who like it cosy and convivial. Breakfast is help yourself continental style and very easy. No cooking but sustaining whilst we were there. Restaurant may be closed at night, and if so they make snacks at bar for you. An experience staying there not to be missed.

Room Tip: Cabins are great and roomy, 3 bedroom next to river
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile


Lodge nice and too far away from Wrangell N. P.!. Two room for 4 people! Kitchen in good shape. small bathroom and poor. Breakfast available bar poor. Not ideal for families, but only for fishermen and adventurers! overpriced for what you get!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vincenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed for one night at this rustic Lodge and was not disappointed. This was a great place to introduce to our four friends what rural Alaska is all about. We enjoyed our cabin stay. We also enjoyed the nearby bar and the dinner at the little restaurant was awesome! In fact of all the salmon we ate during our two week stay in Alaska, the Copper River salmon was the best! Most of our group ordered the salmon which was cooked to perfection. The following breakfast was simple but met our needs since we had to travel northward to Fairbanks. The innkeepers were friendly and most accommodating. All we wanted was a clean, comfortable place for one night sharing the gorgeous Alaskan scenery. To me, this is what traveling is all about. Would definitely stay at the Gakona Lodge again. Kudos to the staff for their responsiveness and pride in the overall operation of the Gakona Lodge.

Room Tip: Opt for a cabin. Enjoy the experience and absorb the beauty around you.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews