We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere, an oasis of friendly people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Travelling from Fairbanks to Anchorage by car, a good mid-point to stop and enjoy the scenery and fish if you have time. It's a quaint little lodge with stand alone cabins and lodge accommodation that are authentic in build, the way they used to be, but very comfortable. We went in late August 2016 so it was cool but lovely outside the cabin in the afternoon sun. Bar in lodge has great locals and very friendly atmosphere of the real Alaska. It is not a place for five star type of people, but one for those who like it cosy and convivial. Breakfast is help yourself continental style and very easy. No cooking but sustaining whilst we were there. Restaurant may be closed at night, and if so they make snacks at bar for you. An experience staying there not to be missed.

Room Tip: Cabins are great and roomy, 3 bedroom next to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile


Lodge nice and too far away from Wrangell N. P.!. Two room for 4 people! Kitchen in good shape. small bathroom and poor. Breakfast available bar poor. Not ideal for families, but only for fishermen and adventurers! overpriced for what you get!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vincenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed for one night at this rustic Lodge and was not disappointed. This was a great place to introduce to our four friends what rural Alaska is all about. We enjoyed our cabin stay. We also enjoyed the nearby bar and the dinner at the little restaurant was awesome! In fact of all the salmon we ate during our two week stay in Alaska, the Copper River salmon was the best! Most of our group ordered the salmon which was cooked to perfection. The following breakfast was simple but met our needs since we had to travel northward to Fairbanks. The innkeepers were friendly and most accommodating. All we wanted was a clean, comfortable place for one night sharing the gorgeous Alaskan scenery. To me, this is what traveling is all about. Would definitely stay at the Gakona Lodge again. Kudos to the staff for their responsiveness and pride in the overall operation of the Gakona Lodge.

Room Tip: Opt for a cabin. Enjoy the experience and absorb the beauty around you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We stopped at Gakona Lodge for one night on our way upto Fairbanks via Glen Allen and Delta Junction. Had a very comfortable stay for one night. Room was clean and comfortable. Its a wooded cabin and not a modern room. Our room had a great river view. We could walk to the banks of the river. They did have TV and WiFi but we did not use it. Staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a tavern to have drinks. We drove to Glen Allen ( 8 miles away) for gas, groceries. They also had a restaurant in the lodge.

Room Tip: All lodge cabins have a river and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drajend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed here for just one night but loved it. Our room was in the far corner of the main lodge. It was a large, clean, comfortable room. The house is just as described: historic Alaskan lodging. It felt like I was staying an my great-grandma's house...and that's a good thing. It felt homey and comfortable. A great value. Continental breakfast at the restaurant a few steps away was great. This was the last night of our Alaskan adventure and we're glad we spent it at the Gakona Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megklee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gakona
38.7 km away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
27 km away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
67 reviews
23.4 km away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36 km away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
0 km away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
38.8 km away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#8 of 10 in Copper Center
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gakona Lodge & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gakona Lodge & Trading Post

Address: Mile 2 Tok Cutoff Rd., Gakona, AK 99586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gakona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Price Range: ₹ 10,787 - ₹ 13,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gakona Lodge & Trading Post 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continually operating roadhouse in Alaska (National Register of Historic Places), Gakona Lodge and Trading Post offers its guests an authenticly rustic yet comfortable Alaskan experience in one of state's last remaining historical treasures. It consists of the main lodge, three cabins, the Trappers' Den Tavern and the Carriage House Restaurant. Located at the confluence of the Copper and Gakona Rivers, Gakona Lodge also offers guided fishing and sight seeing river trips. The main lodge has nine upstairs rooms of assorted size and bedding arrangements that share bathrooms.The three cabins are composed of one, two or three bedrooms. The two and three bedroom cabins have full kitchens and a common room in them as well. WI-FI, a continental breakfast, and all taxes are included in respective accommodation list prices. For most vacationing couples, small groups, or families, we recommend looking into cabin availability first as they provide the best combination of privacy and economy for your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gakona Lodge & Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing