We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night at the Gakona Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great night at the Gakona Lodge”
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We had an overnight stay at the Gakona Lodge and Trading Post. Currently the new owners are in process of updating the lodge but we had a very nice stay. The cabin room which we were in was very comfortable. The sound of the flowing river behind the cabin was very relaxing. We had breakfast at the restaurant. It was a continental breakfast and met our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

One hint, which has nothing to do with the lodge, is that it is in a remote area. If you want soft drinks/snacks, be sure to stop before getting to the Lodge for the night. There is a package store on the way to the lodge coming in from Glennallen. Glennallen is about 15 miles from the lodge where a pretty big store is located. Chistotina is about 34 miles from the lodge where another store is located (closes at 6 PM)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins. They are very nice - clean and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenaNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    18
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Talladega, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

After a long but wonderful drive on the Denali Highway (8), this was a great place to have dinner. Just about 2 miles from the "big" highway and close to our lodging for the night. Great food and atmosphere. Rustic and the way Alaska should be. Dark log cabin and romantic. Good salad bar with macaroni and other salads, fresh greens, etc. good salmon, hamburgers, etc. Lots of locals.

Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Cute rustic cabin for a 2 night stay. New owners are in the process of redoing and updating cabins which will be nice. The restaurant was very good. Continental breakfast with warm scones each morning.

  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I couldn't find a hotel in Copper Center or Glennallen so I looked at the map and saw a town called Gakona. Booked our stay at the Gakona Lodge and I am glad we did. It is a historic site with a main cabin with check-in, a cabin with the bar and a cabin with the restaurant. There are a few more cabins for overnight stays. All next to a beautiful river running behind it.
We met the owners who are a young retired military family with four very small kids. They are making a go of in in Alaska. He runs the property and she cooks the meal in the restaurant.
Our cabin had two small bedrooms and bathroom, small kitchen and living room. You can imagine being an Alaskan pioneer living in the woods. We sat and played monopoly until 1 am enjoying the family style cabin with the sun out all hours. We overslept and missed breakfast but since there was a kitchen we made grilled cheese sandwiches with our lunch supplies. All great.

Room Tip: They are individual cabins. All very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri-on-the-farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Stayed here with my husband on our way to a camping trip in the Alaska Range. Love the historic grounds - lots of character and charm with beautifully decorated room and cabin interiors. We stayed in the main lodge. Great location - the Gakona river runs right outside the lodge and the world famous Copper river is across the road. Richardson highway (with access to Glennallen, Copper River fishing, Denali highway and Paxson) nearby. The young couple that just bought the place last year are wonderful hosts and are really accommodating. They run different excursions for those who are interested.

There are two types of accommodations: rooms inside the main lodge that share bathrooms, and private one, two and three bedroom cabins with their own kitchen, bathroom and shower.

Rooms inside the lodge are cozy and a good size for one or two people. They were clean and comfortable and it was quiet during the evening and night. The bathrooms are shared, so just keep that in mind, but there are two full bathrooms on the second floor and they were clean and available any time I needed to use. There is also free wifi on the premises. Last time we stayed in one of the cabins and really enjoyed that too. Although they are pricier, you get a lot more privacy including your own back and front yard - and really a small house with a full kitchen, bathroom, shower and even a TV!

This place is rustic, so don't expect any shiny new countertops or brand new carpeting. What they do have is perfectly comfortable, clean and in great working order, full of Alaskan character and history. The whole place is very tastefully and uniquely decorated, both indoors and out, to reflect Alaska’s rich trading, gold panning and subsistence history. I would recommend this over a modern or chain B&B or hotel every time.

Breakfast is included and consists of delicious homemade scones, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal and toast, lemonade, coffee and tea. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in their restaurant building, which is worth eating there just to see the beautiful and historically decorated inside - you almost feel like you have just stepped back in history 150 years and Soapy Smith is about to walk through the front door! They also have a separate bar building where they sometimes have bands and a drinks and snack menu.

Bottom line: great place to stay, clean, comfortable, full of Alaskan character (and some interesting regular guests who are Alaskan characters :) This is the real deal - if you want to experience the real Alaska, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Rooms that face the river are a bit quieter probably as they face away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carabiniero8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gakona
29.9 km away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
34.5 km away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 km away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gakona Lodge & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gakona Lodge & Trading Post

Property: Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Address: Mile 2 Tok Cutoff Rd., Gakona, AK 99586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gakona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,439 - ₹ 12,457
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gakona Lodge & Trading Post 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continually operating roadhouse in Alaska (National Register of Historic Places), Gakona Lodge and Trading Post offers its guests an authenticly rustic yet comfortable Alaskan experience in one of state's last remaining historical treasures. It consists of the main lodge, three cabins, the Trappers' Den Tavern and the Carriage House Restaurant. Located at the confluence of the Copper and Gakona Rivers, Gakona Lodge also offers guided fishing and sight seeing river trips. The main lodge has nine upstairs rooms of assorted size and bedding arrangements that share bathrooms.The three cabins are composed of one, two or three bedrooms. The two and three bedroom cabins have full kitchens and a common room in them as well. WI-FI, a continental breakfast, and all taxes are included in respective accommodation list prices. For most vacationing couples, small groups, or families, we recommend looking into cabin availability first as they provide the best combination of privacy and economy for your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gakona Lodge & Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing