We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Nearby Hotels
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
52
21
11
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
21
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgakona lodgefresh sconescarriage housealaskan roadhouselog cabinstayed one nightwould stay here againriverglennallentrappersrafttok
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

After a long but wonderful drive on the Denali Highway (8), this was a great place to have dinner. Just about 2 miles from the "big" highway and close to our lodging for the night. Great food and atmosphere. Rustic and the way Alaska should be. Dark log cabin and romantic. Good salad bar with macaroni and other salads, fresh greens, etc. good salmon, hamburgers, etc. Lots of locals.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Cute rustic cabin for a 2 night stay. New owners are in the process of redoing and updating cabins which will be nice. The restaurant was very good. Continental breakfast with warm scones each morning.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I couldn't find a hotel in Copper Center or Glennallen so I looked at the map and saw a town called Gakona. Booked our stay at the Gakona Lodge and I am glad we did. It is a historic site with a main cabin with check-in, a cabin with the bar and a cabin with the restaurant. There are a few more cabins for overnight stays. All next to a beautiful river running behind it.
We met the owners who are a young retired military family with four very small kids. They are making a go of in in Alaska. He runs the property and she cooks the meal in the restaurant.
Our cabin had two small bedrooms and bathroom, small kitchen and living room. You can imagine being an Alaskan pioneer living in the woods. We sat and played monopoly until 1 am enjoying the family style cabin with the sun out all hours. We overslept and missed breakfast but since there was a kitchen we made grilled cheese sandwiches with our lunch supplies. All great.

Room Tip: They are individual cabins. All very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Terri-on-the-farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Stayed here with my husband on our way to a camping trip in the Alaska Range. Love the historic grounds - lots of character and charm with beautifully decorated room and cabin interiors. We stayed in the main lodge. Great location - the Gakona river runs right outside the lodge and the world famous Copper river is across the road. Richardson highway (with access to Glennallen, Copper River fishing, Denali highway and Paxson) nearby. The young couple that just bought the place last year are wonderful hosts and are really accommodating. They run different excursions for those who are interested.

There are two types of accommodations: rooms inside the main lodge that share bathrooms, and private one, two and three bedroom cabins with their own kitchen, bathroom and shower.

Rooms inside the lodge are cozy and a good size for one or two people. They were clean and comfortable and it was quiet during the evening and night. The bathrooms are shared, so just keep that in mind, but there are two full bathrooms on the second floor and they were clean and available any time I needed to use. There is also free wifi on the premises. Last time we stayed in one of the cabins and really enjoyed that too. Although they are pricier, you get a lot more privacy including your own back and front yard - and really a small house with a full kitchen, bathroom, shower and even a TV!

This place is rustic, so don't expect any shiny new countertops or brand new carpeting. What they do have is perfectly comfortable, clean and in great working order, full of Alaskan character and history. The whole place is very tastefully and uniquely decorated, both indoors and out, to reflect Alaska’s rich trading, gold panning and subsistence history. I would recommend this over a modern or chain B&B or hotel every time.

Breakfast is included and consists of delicious homemade scones, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal and toast, lemonade, coffee and tea. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in their restaurant building, which is worth eating there just to see the beautiful and historically decorated inside - you almost feel like you have just stepped back in history 150 years and Soapy Smith is about to walk through the front door! They also have a separate bar building where they sometimes have bands and a drinks and snack menu.

Bottom line: great place to stay, clean, comfortable, full of Alaskan character (and some interesting regular guests who are Alaskan characters :) This is the real deal - if you want to experience the real Alaska, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Rooms that face the river are a bit quieter probably as they face away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Carabiniero8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We stayed in one of the cabins and not in the lodge. Cliff and his wife Rebecca recently purchased the property and are in the process of making improvements all around. The cabin was cozy and clean. Satelite tv and wifi were included. The grounds are pretty and peaceful. There is a bar and restaurant onsite. The bartender Barry turned out to have family in Oklahoma. His mom and dad graduated from the same high school as my husband. For breakfast scones, cereal, juice, coffee, etc were provided for breakfast. The scones were divine.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clif_Potter, Owner at Gakona Lodge & Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Hi Sherry,
Thanks for the nice note. We really enjoyed having you, and we hope you come back and see us sometime. Barry and Rebecca say hello. Thanks again.

Clif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews