We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly great visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We chose Gakona Lodge because of it's central location to many adventures. We stayed longer because of the incredible food, company, and relaxing atmosphere. We were never disappointed. This place is full of history! The staff was all very helpful! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The sheets and towels were clean and fresh smelling. I did not see a bit of clutter or dust. The only bugs we dealt with were the mosquitos. The staff was quick to offer spray for those! The best part of our stay was the food. It was the best of the best! Breakfast always had delicious homemade muffins. Dinner was excellent every night. We tried everything on the menu plus the daily specials. I highly recommend the chicken fried steak. The pretty little cook is from Texas and she knows how to do it right! The meatloaf was the best I have ever had! Salmon may have been my favorite. Fresh and seasoned perfectly. Great salad bar and wonderful homemade soup! The owners are new but they are catching on quickly and doing a great job!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin. I think any room should be fine.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ypsi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

My son and I stayed 2 nights at the Gakona Lodge while we did some hiking in Wrangell. The buildings definitely show their age but the rooms were spotless and it was like living history. The staff was incredible. At breakfast one morning I asked the waitress if there was a store anywhere nearby where we could purchase some provisions to make lunches for our hike. She told us the nearest market was over 20 miles away but she would see what she could do. Fives minutes later she came back with a brown lunch bag with 2 sandwiches, potato chips, cookies and 2 apples. I thanked her and asked what we owed for the lunch and she said, "No charge". Now that is how you satify a customer!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We have mixed feelings about our stay at Gakona lodge. The property is in a great location, and is a sensible stop on the drive from Fairbanks to Wrangell St Elias/Kennicott. Other more long term guests were also very friendly.

Unfortunately we felt that the property was in need of much remedial work. The whole building although understandably old was very tired. The bedrooms and bathrooms felt dirty, and there was a huge amount of mess/clutter in communal areas. Children's toys and household items were strewn across most of communal rooms and the office.The breakfast was very limited, with the kitchen/ pantry area for the restaurant absolutely filthy. The microwave had years of caked food on it, and the milk was past it's due date.

We did address these issues with the owner. He acknowledged that redecoration was required in many places once cash flow improved. Unfortunately as a guest, I feel that this is not my concern, and I have certain expectations for cleanliness and state of repair. What is disappointing is that several of the issues would be free/cheap to remedy, such as cleaning carpets, tidying communal areas from children's toys, repainting walls/furniture and replacing broken toilet seats etc. I have been fortunate to live in several old properties, some dating back 800 years - age of the building is no excuse for lack of basic upkeep.

In time with some TLC this could be an amazing property. Unfortunately for now, we could not recommend staying here until the property is clean and tidy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

To start with, the lodge has new owners that only took over a few months ago, so by their own admission, it's a working project.

Staff were friendly and check in was smooth. A staff member walked us down to our cabin and showed us the amenities and how to operate the heater.

The property backs to the Gakona river, with the Copper river across the street, out of sight. This area is the confluence of these two rivers and well known for good fishing.

The property includes several things, including a bar and restaurant, (separate), the lodge and some cabins, along with various out buildings.

Our cabin was the second one down from the restaurant. Two bedrooms, one with a small single bed and the other with a full size bed, up against the wall in another small room. The main room encompassed a kitchen and living room with the bathroom off of that.

Once we fired up the heater, the bees and other bugs that were hibernating inside the cabin began to make themselves known. Ick. The ancient full size fridge was just a box w/o shelves and the microwave was probably circa early 80s, thought did have a carousel and did work. Lots of dust in the corners and on window sills. In contrast was the flat screen TV. We didn't try it to see what was available. The four burner stove w/oven didn't look safe to use, and was in need of a serious cleaning. Over all, this looked like a cabin someone lived in for a long time, then moved out of and they just changed the sheets and added some furniture.

Nice couch and rocking chair in the living room though.

The sheets did not look very clean and with the bed against the wall one of us had to climb over the other to get in. It's not really large enough for a couple that is less than petite. We did not have a good nights sleep, with my wife stressing about the bugs and me nearly hanging off my side of the bed, her on her side facing the raw log wall.

There isn't much in this area for lodging and we chose the Lodge mostly due to it being about the mileage we wanted to cover that day. Glennallen has virtually nothing and it's a ways down the road to Tok. I hope the new owners have the time and funds to bring the cabins up to a better standard so that guests can enjoy what this historic lodge has to offer and enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: It's a one night place to stop, or fish. don't expect too much and you won't be disappo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The mosquitoes are bad, but that's hardly the fault of the lodge. A lodge and cabins with great history and character. They are clean and well looked after, though it's not a luxury hotel. The owners are very helpful, and there is a restaurant and bar on site. Breakfast is included, and there is wifi in most areas. Highly recommended for an authentic experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gakona
29.9 km away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
34.5 km away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
32.6 km away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 km away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gakona Lodge & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gakona Lodge & Trading Post

Address: Mile 2 Tok Cutoff Rd., Gakona, AK 99586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gakona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Price Range: ₹ 12,473 - ₹ 13,513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gakona Lodge & Trading Post 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continually operating roadhouse in Alaska (National Register of Historic Places), Gakona Lodge and Trading Post offers its guests an authenticly rustic yet comfortable Alaskan experience in one of state's last remaining historical treasures. It consists of the main lodge, three cabins, the Trappers' Den Tavern and the Carriage House Restaurant. Located at the confluence of the Copper and Gakona Rivers, Gakona Lodge also offers guided fishing and sight seeing river trips. The main lodge has nine upstairs rooms of assorted size and bedding arrangements that share bathrooms.The three cabins are composed of one, two or three bedrooms. The two and three bedroom cabins have full kitchens and a common room in them as well. WI-FI, a continental breakfast, and all taxes are included in respective accommodation list prices. For most vacationing couples, small groups, or families, we recommend looking into cabin availability first as they provide the best combination of privacy and economy for your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gakona Lodge & Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing