We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
53
22
11
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
22
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopper rivergakona lodgefresh sconescarriage housetrue alaskan experiencealaskan roadhouselog cabingift shopstayed one nightwould stay here againglennallentrappersmosquitoesrafttok
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My son and I stayed 2 nights at the Gakona Lodge while we did some hiking in Wrangell. The buildings definitely show their age but the rooms were spotless and it was like living history. The staff was incredible. At breakfast one morning I asked the waitress if there was a store anywhere nearby where we could purchase some provisions to make lunches for our hike. She told us the nearest market was over 20 miles away but she would see what she could do. Fives minutes later she came back with a brown lunch bag with 2 sandwiches, potato chips, cookies and 2 apples. I thanked her and asked what we owed for the lunch and she said, "No charge". Now that is how you satify a customer!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We have mixed feelings about our stay at Gakona lodge. The property is in a great location, and is a sensible stop on the drive from Fairbanks to Wrangell St Elias/Kennicott. Other more long term guests were also very friendly.

Unfortunately we felt that the property was in need of much remedial work. The whole building although understandably old was very tired. The bedrooms and bathrooms felt dirty, and there was a huge amount of mess/clutter in communal areas. Children's toys and household items were strewn across most of communal rooms and the office.The breakfast was very limited, with the kitchen/ pantry area for the restaurant absolutely filthy. The microwave had years of caked food on it, and the milk was past it's due date.

We did address these issues with the owner. He acknowledged that redecoration was required in many places once cash flow improved. Unfortunately as a guest, I feel that this is not my concern, and I have certain expectations for cleanliness and state of repair. What is disappointing is that several of the issues would be free/cheap to remedy, such as cleaning carpets, tidying communal areas from children's toys, repainting walls/furniture and replacing broken toilet seats etc. I have been fortunate to live in several old properties, some dating back 800 years - age of the building is no excuse for lack of basic upkeep.

In time with some TLC this could be an amazing property. Unfortunately for now, we could not recommend staying here until the property is clean and tidy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

To start with, the lodge has new owners that only took over a few months ago, so by their own admission, it's a working project.

Staff were friendly and check in was smooth. A staff member walked us down to our cabin and showed us the amenities and how to operate the heater.

The property backs to the Gakona river, with the Copper river across the street, out of sight. This area is the confluence of these two rivers and well known for good fishing.

The property includes several things, including a bar and restaurant, (separate), the lodge and some cabins, along with various out buildings.

Our cabin was the second one down from the restaurant. Two bedrooms, one with a small single bed and the other with a full size bed, up against the wall in another small room. The main room encompassed a kitchen and living room with the bathroom off of that.

Once we fired up the heater, the bees and other bugs that were hibernating inside the cabin began to make themselves known. Ick. The ancient full size fridge was just a box w/o shelves and the microwave was probably circa early 80s, thought did have a carousel and did work. Lots of dust in the corners and on window sills. In contrast was the flat screen TV. We didn't try it to see what was available. The four burner stove w/oven didn't look safe to use, and was in need of a serious cleaning. Over all, this looked like a cabin someone lived in for a long time, then moved out of and they just changed the sheets and added some furniture.

Nice couch and rocking chair in the living room though.

The sheets did not look very clean and with the bed against the wall one of us had to climb over the other to get in. It's not really large enough for a couple that is less than petite. We did not have a good nights sleep, with my wife stressing about the bugs and me nearly hanging off my side of the bed, her on her side facing the raw log wall.

There isn't much in this area for lodging and we chose the Lodge mostly due to it being about the mileage we wanted to cover that day. Glennallen has virtually nothing and it's a ways down the road to Tok. I hope the new owners have the time and funds to bring the cabins up to a better standard so that guests can enjoy what this historic lodge has to offer and enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: It's a one night place to stop, or fish. don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The mosquitoes are bad, but that's hardly the fault of the lodge. A lodge and cabins with great history and character. They are clean and well looked after, though it's not a luxury hotel. The owners are very helpful, and there is a restaurant and bar on site. Breakfast is included, and there is wifi in most areas. Highly recommended for an authentic experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Gakona Lodge and Trading Post in May and it was a wonderful experience! We had originally booked a room in the lodge, but when we arrived and saw the cabins we requested that our reservation be changed to one of the cabins. The owners were very accommodating. Our cabin was very private and peaceful, backing to the Gakona River. It was clean, with comfortable bedding and nice linens. The breakfast was wonderful, with delicious homemade muffins. We enjoyed hanging out with the locals in the evening at the lounge/bar on site. We would definitely stay here again if our travels take us back to Gakona.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarae507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews