We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
171
30
8
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
30
8
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests garden unit fish gas stove cook islands rustic beach outdoor shower an excellent lunch amazing snorkeling the managers budget accommodation snorkeling tours wonderful hosts worked fine cook top snorkeling spot your doorstep
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We recently spent 5 nights at Matriki - booking out three huts for family, including two children. Yes, it is basic (I describe it as "one step above camping) - but that is where the charm is. If a fully serviced air conditioned unit with free wifi and TV is what you seek - then this is not for you. But if you want something right on the beach, that provides plenty of shade, a place to sleep, an out of this world lagoon 10 metres from your door to snorkel in, and at a fraction of the price of what you would pay in a resort, then look no further. My kids spent all day on the beach or in the lagoon, while we spent it either the same way, or sitting under the coconut trees in the shade or in a hammock with a drink. Paul the host was extremely accommodating - and the Lagoon tour he put on for us (Matriki Beach Huts has it's own boat that can also be used as a water taxi) was a highlight for us all.

We are already planning on coming back in 2019 to do it all again.

Room tip: The Beach, Reef, and Tree House are all right on the beach.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nztayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you guys
Your review of Matriki was spot on. What we lack in luxury we make up for in other areas. Im glad both you and your family had a great time during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Two days at Matriki Beach huts was not long enough to settle into stress free mode. Paul was a great host and made us feel at home without being obtrusive. The beach huts are simple and absolutely adequate. He gave us great advise on a lagoon tour as well as other useful bits of info on the island. The coral in front of Matriki is slowly regenerating, which is good to see.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank younghusbandca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana Caroline & Dave
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both here along with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay at the huts but Paul has been awesome taking us to Honeymoon island on Sunday. FYI, on Sunday everyone is off and everything is closed. It was awesome to be on Honeymoon island with just another two couples and have the entire island for ourselves.

Rented a couple of chairs, a table and an ice cooler from Paul, filled it with beer/wine/nibbles from the store and had the most awesome day!

Thanks Paul!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank HriMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you Hristo for the lovely review. It was our pleasure to take you both out. Maybe one day we will see you again.
Thank you. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We had a perfect time at Matrikis. Lisa and Paul are super friendly and helpful hosts who know the island and lagoon very well. This is also why we highly recommend to go on one of their lagoon tours with them - it was the best thing we did on Aitutaki! Small group and awesome home-cooked food.

The little Matriki huts are all very nice and directly at the beach. Good swimming, floating and snorkeling right at your door. We saw a huge clam one day!

Long story short:
Perfect location + friendly staff = perfect holiday!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fritz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review guys. It was a pleasure having you here. Thank you for the positive feedback and we really appreciate your support.
Hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Having the good fortune to meet Lisa and Paul the managers at Matriki Beach Huts made my year. On top of being Great hosts and knowing every bit of then island, I felt very much at home there .
Their lagoon trips were the best on Aitutaki. They knew the most interesting spots in and outside the lagoon . I got a chance to see the giant clams the giant Trevallys, Sea turtles and all sorts of stunning tropical fish . They also host a great lunch on these lagoon trips.
I can't wait to return for my next visit

Room tip: Rooms are basic but very clean and I love staying in the beach hut
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RoccoJupiter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Kia Orana "RoccoJupiter"

Meitaki Atupaka for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts. We were very lucky to have you return to our beautiful island again this year, and enjoy an extended vacation at Matriki Beach Huts. We are thrilled that you feel as at home and at peace on this stunning island as much as we do. It is always such a wonderful feeling to know that people take fulfilling memories of Aitutaki home with them and at the same time leave a part of their heart here, to pick up again next time!
We know it won't be the last time we see you here on our shores so Kia Manuia with all that is happening in your life until we see you again.

Hugs and warm wishes
Lisa & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews