We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuru Club(Aitutaki)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
US$ 371
US$ 361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 989
US$ 665
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Etu Moana(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aitutaki Escape(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
163
29
7
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
29
7
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseother guestsgarden unitfishgas stovecook islandsboat tripoutdoor showerone foot islandgreat snorkel spotan excellent lunchthe managersmosquito netbudget accommodationwarm hostsawesome snorkelingparadise holiday
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Two days at Matriki Beach huts was not long enough to settle into stress free mode. Paul was a great host and made us feel at home without being obtrusive. The beach huts are simple and absolutely adequate. He gave us great advise on a lagoon tour as well as other useful bits of info on the island. The coral in front of Matriki is slowly regenerating, which is good to see.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank younghusbandca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana Caroline & Dave
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both here along with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay at the huts but Paul has been awesome taking us to Honeymoon island on Sunday. FYI, on Sunday everyone is off and everything is closed. It was awesome to be on Honeymoon island with just another two couples and have the entire island for ourselves.

Rented a couple of chairs, a table and an ice cooler from Paul, filled it with beer/wine/nibbles from the store and had the most awesome day!

Thanks Paul!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hristo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you Hristo for the lovely review. It was our pleasure to take you both out. Maybe one day we will see you again.
Thank you. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We had a perfect time at Matrikis. Lisa and Paul are super friendly and helpful hosts who know the island and lagoon very well. This is also why we highly recommend to go on one of their lagoon tours with them - it was the best thing we did on Aitutaki! Small group and awesome home-cooked food.

The little Matriki huts are all very nice and directly at the beach. Good swimming, floating and snorkeling right at your door. We saw a huge clam one day!

Long story short:
Perfect location + friendly staff = perfect holiday!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fritz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review guys. It was a pleasure having you here. Thank you for the positive feedback and we really appreciate your support.
Hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Having the good fortune to meet Lisa and Paul the managers at Matriki Beach Huts made my year. On top of being Great hosts and knowing every bit of then island, I felt very much at home there .
Their lagoon trips were the best on Aitutaki. They knew the most interesting spots in and outside the lagoon . I got a chance to see the giant clams the giant Trevallys, Sea turtles and all sorts of stunning tropical fish . They also host a great lunch on these lagoon trips.
I can't wait to return for my next visit

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but very clean and I love staying in the beach hut
Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RoccoJupiter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Kia Orana "RoccoJupiter"

Meitaki Atupaka for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts. We were very lucky to have you return to our beautiful island again this year, and enjoy an extended vacation at Matriki Beach Huts. We are thrilled that you feel as at home and at peace on this stunning island as much as we do. It is always such a wonderful feeling to know that people take fulfilling memories of Aitutaki home with them and at the same time leave a part of their heart here, to pick up again next time!
We know it won't be the last time we see you here on our shores so Kia Manuia with all that is happening in your life until we see you again.

Hugs and warm wishes
Lisa & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

This place will blow your mind if you love your quiet time and beautiful beach views. The upper treehouse was perfect and self contained. The reef out front is great snorkeling and you can walk to a few restaurants. Paul and Lisa are perfect hosts and are helpful without hovering. Their boat trip out to One Foot Island was beautiful and well organized and was one of the highlights of my 2 weeks in the country. It was so nice not to be on a giant boat with tons of people. Everyone staying there was friendly and helpful. The hammocks out front are heavenly.
I would recommend in addition Koru Cafe for bfast or lunch and renting a kayak over at Ootu beach to explore.
One thing that would be great is for the owner to offer a couple of good mountain bikes in addition to the beach cruisers. It would make it even easier to peddle around if you don't want to drive a scooter. There aren't many hills but there was wind! I would happily have paid more for a mtn bike with gears on site (or a kayak rental). Overall a great value for this gem.
Thanks for everything guys!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank nomadkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Kia Orana Kate
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of Matriki. Paul and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here so much and that the Upper Tree House was everything you had hoped for. We also had a fabulous day out on the lagoon with only you, Anne & Tom for company. Makes for such a lovely day when there are so few of us and we can enjoy the time together - a great day spent with lovely people; feels nothing like 'being at work' - well except maybe when i've got to go off and do the dishes haha!
We are extremely lucky to attract guests like yourself - who are looking to get out and experience the beauty of Paradise and all is has to offer but without the expectation of high end resort facilities and price tags.
I wish that you had mentioned you would have preferred gears on the bike as Paul and I do have our own (rarely used) mountain bikes, tucked away indoors which we would have swapped out for you. Next time for sure! :)
Kia Manuia - best of wishes back home
Lisa & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews