We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 487
US$ 470
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuru Club(Aitutaki)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
US$ 373
US$ 363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 998
US$ 969
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aitutaki Escape(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rino's Motel(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
163
29
7
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
29
7
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseother guestsgarden unitfishgas stovecook islandsboat tripoutdoor showerone foot islandgreat snorkel spotan excellent lunchthe managersmosquito netbudget accommodationwarm hostsawesome snorkelingparadise holiday
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We didn't stay at Matriki during our stay in Aitutaki however we booked a lagoon excursion with them and it was amazing! We had been on another cruise the day before and that was also good but Lisa and Paul, the managers, have a very small boat which made it all different! The visit was very private (it was only six of us including them) and we got to see islands we had not seen before with no rush and a veeery relaxed atmosphere! Lunch on One Foot Island was also great!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank costanza l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Kia Orana Costanza
Thank you for your wonderful review of our One Foot Lagoon trip.
It really is the highlight of our job here at Matriki, getting to take not only our guests, but other visitors who have received recommendations about us, out into the beautiful lagoon, visit secluded motu's and share a great island inspired lunch! I think Paul's coconut cake is becoming world famous soon - the recipe is travelling onto several countries! ;-D
We feel very privileged to have the opportunity to share such amazing days with people like you guys; who are left simply blown away by the beauty this Paradise island has to offer.
Wishing you every success in your future ventures in NZ and thank you once again for taking the time to submit this review.
Kia Manuia, Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

My Husband and I spent 3 weeks at Matriki in January and loved it. The beach huts added a rustic charm while providing everything necessary for our stay. The snorkeling right outside our door was fantastic and many times we were the only ones on the beautiful, white sand beach. The new managers, Lisa and Paul were wonderful hosts and exceptional guides on the 2 boat tours we booked with them. We would not think of staying anywhere else when we return to this beautiful island paradise.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank valmikef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Kia Orana valmikef
Thank you for so much for taking the time to share your review, and so highly too! What can we say .. as you know, you guys were part of Paul and I's first 'official' guests as we became Managers and along with the others who shared the start of this journey with us, you quickly became like extended family to us. We shared so many enjoyable evenings with you around the 'pot luck' table and who could ever forget our first boat trip and lunch at Maina when you kindly suggested that 'chilled' pumpkin soup had never tasted so good! ;-) .... you were so patient with our transition.
We really did have lots of fun on this adventure with you guys and hope to see you again one day. Thank you once again, and best wishes for the future. Kia Manuia Lisa and Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

I stayed at Matriki for one week...what can i say...Aitutaki lagoon is the best place so far i visited in the last 10 years and Paul and Liza before to be the owners they are your friends and they make you feel like home...absolutely relaxing and best holiday A place to go thank you again for everything's

Room Tip: Tree house in the top is the best for me
Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marcello c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Kia Orana Marcello
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review about us here at Matriki! We are thrilled to hear how highly you thought of us, and to hear Aitutaki is the best place you have visited despite all the travelling you have done??? ... well that is really wonderful!
We heard you spread the word about us around Rarotonga too! We had several people mention how much you had loved your time here, and that made us smile! especially Mr Paul - "the TV star!"
It was our pleasure to host your time here, and we will always fondly remember you guys being our first guests to float the One Foot channel. Hope you saw that you starred in the 'One Foot - Heaven on Earth' Facebook video we took that day!
Oh and we miss your coconut skills very much. Best of luck with your future plans. We hope to see you back here again one day. Kia Manuia Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Nice place but owner needs to invest in the property more. The managers were great and made our visit very enjoyable. Highly recommend the boat trips on the water, it was the best part of our trip! Good fun!

Room Tip: Room with the bath was big enough, nice having bathroom inside, outside toilets very clean when I used them. Room with the bath is the most private room. Room on the beach, I'd choose the cottage on the right as you are walking to the beach, it's the most private of the three on the beach
Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Got2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Kia Orana Guys
We very much appreciate your review on your stay at Matriki Beach Huts and are very happy to hear you really enjoyed our boat tours! We certainly had lots of fun with you all. Being previous island visitors ourselves, we understand this is what visiting Aitutaki is all about - getting out on that amazing lagoon and snorkelling with the amazing marine life and appreciating the beauty the island has to offer.
With regard to investing into the property, we welcome the feedback you have provided. We are currently in the process of renovating the Beach Hut and are very excited to unveil that later this month. Updating and maintaining the accommodation is a huge focus for us and one that we are committed to!
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your review. Kia Manuia - Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I booked Matriki based on past reviews and wasn't disappointed at all, I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Matriki was an incredible place to stay for a holiday to get away from all the stresses of modern day life and enjoy the spectacular Cook Islands. When I booked I did start to worry that I might have booked for too long and would there be enough to keep me busy... I need not have worried as I had an incredible time and wished I could have stayed so much longer!

Staying with Matriki gives you the best of both worlds, incredible hosts, location and all at a fraction of the cost of the neighboring resorts - enabling you to save money to spend on the fun treats of your holiday such as the lagoon tours or eating out.

The huts are basic, however they cater for all your needs and are well thought out. The hut came with limited cooking supplies in the form of a twin gas burner and kettle/toaster and all your normal kitchen supplies. There are plenty of eating options on the island though if you prefer not to be cooking all the time. The hut was right on the beach and waking up each morning to the incredible ocean views was wonderful start to the day.

The beach was spectacular and the snorkeling was amazing with so much to see in the gloriously warm waters and all available all right off the beach just a few steps from the hut.

Matriki also offers fantastic in-house tours from lagoon trips to fishing trips. The tours are well priced and professionally run and also have the bonus of never being busy like some of the other operators as currently they are only sold to staying guests, also meaning tours are often tailor made to the guest preferences.

People are what makes a place and Matriki has fantastic hosts in Paul and Lisa. They were the perfect hosts from the moment Lisa collected me from the airport to the sad farewell at the end - It was like catching up with old friends. Nothing was ever to much trouble for them and went out of their way to assist the guests and make them feel right at home.

I can't wait to return to the Cook Islands and Matriki!

PS Thank you Paul & Lisa for making my birthday such a wonderful day... I shall return for my cake and the fish that got away!!!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rich2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Kia Orana Richard
Thank you for your wonderful and informative review of Matriki. You summed up the Aitutaki atmosphere perfectly. As lovers of this Paradise island, Paul and I understand that the crystal clear warm waters, white coral sands and swaying palm trees are the magical ingredients to a fantastic holiday, but it also takes the spices of welcoming, friendly people around you to create lasting memories you will treasure forever and that's why we love being hands on and interacting with our guests, whether its as you say; tailoring our lagoon trips to suit the group, or just sitting having a quiet beer at the end of the day watching a spectacular sunset together.
It was our pleasure to head out to share a birthday lunch with you and you must admit my chalkboard 'Happy Birthday" message skills were rather outstanding!! (OK maybe not!). We do apologise that the coconut cake (which incidentally is becoming quite famous!) didn't quite make it to the table... although of course there's always next January... Thanks for being such a great guest Richard, we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews