We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
168
30
8
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
30
8
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests garden unit fish gas stove cook islands rustic beach outdoor shower an excellent lunch amazing snorkeling the managers budget accommodation snorkeling tours wonderful hosts worked fine cook top snorkeling spot the entire island
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I booked Matriki based on past reviews and wasn't disappointed at all, I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Matriki was an incredible place to stay for a holiday to get away from all the stresses of modern day life and enjoy the spectacular Cook Islands. When I booked I did start to worry that I might have booked for too long and would there be enough to keep me busy... I need not have worried as I had an incredible time and wished I could have stayed so much longer!

Staying with Matriki gives you the best of both worlds, incredible hosts, location and all at a fraction of the cost of the neighboring resorts - enabling you to save money to spend on the fun treats of your holiday such as the lagoon tours or eating out.

The huts are basic, however they cater for all your needs and are well thought out. The hut came with limited cooking supplies in the form of a twin gas burner and kettle/toaster and all your normal kitchen supplies. There are plenty of eating options on the island though if you prefer not to be cooking all the time. The hut was right on the beach and waking up each morning to the incredible ocean views was wonderful start to the day.

The beach was spectacular and the snorkeling was amazing with so much to see in the gloriously warm waters and all available all right off the beach just a few steps from the hut.

Matriki also offers fantastic in-house tours from lagoon trips to fishing trips. The tours are well priced and professionally run and also have the bonus of never being busy like some of the other operators as currently they are only sold to staying guests, also meaning tours are often tailor made to the guest preferences.

People are what makes a place and Matriki has fantastic hosts in Paul and Lisa. They were the perfect hosts from the moment Lisa collected me from the airport to the sad farewell at the end - It was like catching up with old friends. Nothing was ever to much trouble for them and went out of their way to assist the guests and make them feel right at home.

I can't wait to return to the Cook Islands and Matriki!

PS Thank you Paul & Lisa for making my birthday such a wonderful day... I shall return for my cake and the fish that got away!!!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rich2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Kia Orana Richard
Thank you for your wonderful and informative review of Matriki. You summed up the Aitutaki atmosphere perfectly. As lovers of this Paradise island, Paul and I understand that the crystal clear warm waters, white coral sands and swaying palm trees are the magical ingredients to a fantastic holiday, but it also takes the spices of welcoming, friendly people around you to create lasting memories you will treasure forever and that's why we love being hands on and interacting with our guests, whether its as you say; tailoring our lagoon trips to suit the group, or just sitting having a quiet beer at the end of the day watching a spectacular sunset together.
It was our pleasure to head out to share a birthday lunch with you and you must admit my chalkboard 'Happy Birthday" message skills were rather outstanding!! (OK maybe not!). We do apologise that the coconut cake (which incidentally is becoming quite famous!) didn't quite make it to the table... although of course there's always next January... Thanks for being such a great guest Richard, we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Ahhhh Matriki what a wonderful place to spend our two-week Aitutaki adventure. My husband and I stayed in the Reef Hut and loved every second of it. Matriki’s beachfront location is one of the best on the entire island. The beautiful white sand beach and gorgeous reef are just steps from your door.
The beach huts have everything you need for a comfortable stay. They are basic accommodations, however we found that it added to the charm of our stay. Each hut is equipped with a stovetop, mini fridge, ample cooking supplies, and running water. We found our bed to be very comfy. The huts have been thoughtfully designed to keep them small while providing you with everything you need to enjoy your stay. Before we arrived I was a bit put off that the bathrooms are not connected, but honestly it never bothered us for a second once we arrived. The outdoor showers are charming and wonderful after long day swimming in the ocean.
One of the highlights of our trip was getting to meet all of the other guests who we got to share our vacation with. No Wi-Fi, cell phones, or TV to distract you making for a wonderful environment to enjoy the company of the other guests. Some of our favorite nights were shared with other guests during our potluck dinners.
Most of all we are so grateful to have stayed at Matriki shortly after Lisa and Paul took over as Matriki’s managers. They were incredibly welcoming and went above and beyond to help us have one of the best vacations of our lives. The One Foot Island and Snorkeling tours are absolute perfection! Lisa and Paul really tailor the tours to guests on the boat to ensure that everyone has an incredible time. The tours are packed with snorkeling, beach time, paddleboards, floating in the lagoon, and education on the island’s history and sea life. Not to mention the delicious lunch is a welcomed treat after a morning of swimming and snorkeling. Lisa and Paul’s hospitality is not to be missed and is an added bonus to an incredible stay at Matriki Beach Huts. We are already looking forward to our next relaxing stay.

Room tip: Reef Hut, Beach Hut, Upper and Lower Tree House are beach front with shared bathrooms. The Garden Hut has private indoor shower and toilet.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsvdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Kia Orana Guys!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Very honoured how much detail you have provided and love how well you have encapsulated everything that Matriki is about; especially highlighting what we genuinely feel is the most important aspect of our facilities and lagoon tours - that we are able to capture a real 'family gathering' kind of experience! You soon find yourself smiling, opening up and becoming friendly with the few other people around you, and before long everyone is sitting down showcasing their 'pot luck' dinner skills sharing plates, stories and laughter, watching glorious sunsets together. With regard to the lagoon tours, having visited Aitutaki several times ourselves, Paul and I have been fortunate to try most of the tours on offer, including those skippered by Matriki and with this knowledge, as you say, we have been able to tailor them to suit our guests and having a smaller more 'intimate' group is not having to follow a strict time schedule so we can just enjoy the day together. Our roles as Managers at Matriki are made so much easier of course, when we have wonderful guests like yourselves, and both Paul and I would love to thank you, and the 'other family members' that made our first few weeks transition so much easier and enjoyable! We very much look forward to your return. Kia Manuia x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Traveling to the island of Aitutaki ...and staying at Matriki was a perfect vacation.
The reef side is magnificent ...the new management team of Paul and Lisa ...their hospitality and knowledge of the island ...made it a great time...I have no words but
Thank you so much ...hope to make the trek in the near future
Best wishes
Karen

Room tip: Choose any hut that faces the lagoon...... it's perfect
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoccoJupiter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Kia Orana Karen - thank you so much for our very first review as Managers of Matriki! There is no doubt that we all had an absolutely amazing time getting to know each other as Paul and I settled into our new roles here. We feel extremely fortunate to have had such a wonderful group of first guests who made it an absolutely enjoyable experience taking our first lagoon and snorkel trips together as well as hosting Pot Luck Dinners on the beach, watching sunsets and sharing our stories. Lots of laughter and fun. We were very aware that we had 'big boots' to fill coming into Matriki. Luckily our passion and knowledge of the island, already being travellers here several times ourselves and former guests of Matriki really helped make the transition easier and again, without great guests like you, it wouldn't have been quite so easy. We hope as discussed, that we can all get together down the track to share yet another wonderful adventure here on this Paradise Island! Kia Manuia xxx Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Martriki was good, comfortable and have stoves and sink in room, quiet but bathrooms and even the private showers were outside. Tracey and Trevor were very helpful. But Auitaki is good for family and couples. Easy access to the best spot on the beach which it was great for snorkelling.

Room tip: All the rooms are good....view, cleanliness, easy access to beach
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pockets26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Kia Orana pockets26

Thank you for your review of Matriki Beach Huts. Unfortunately you arrived before we became the managers, however, we are very grateful that you took the time to review Matriki and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Aitutaki.
Kia Manuia Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Umm.. Well not really but an incredible experience none the less. This was our first stop on a 13 month tour of the South Pacific. It was also our favorite one. We also made it our last one on our way back to California. Trevor and Tracey do an excellent job managing Matriki. Managed by the strong but silent Ted and assisted by Bubbles, Marmalade, and the ever present Tiger. They create a camaraderie among the guests that really adds to the enjoyment. They provide day trips to the lagoon, potluck dinners, have a perfect beach. There is a weekly Island Night held right next door. Just staying at Matriki is an expierence itself.

Room tip: Love the treehouse best
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Kia Orana dhay
Thank you for your great review of Matriki Beach Huts. Unfortunately for us, you visited prior to Paul and I becoming the new managers, however we really appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and hope that one day we may get to host you in this amazing paradise too :)

Kia Manuia
Lisa and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews