We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
31
33
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
33
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat shedgreat cafeperfect locationkoru cafeday tripbeautiful lagoonwalking distanceootu beachlagoon cruisefree kayaksaitutaki villagewonderful hostscook islandseach morningloved every minutelanisteve
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

3 of us stayed here last weekend (4th - 6th March)

Unfortunately we arrived later then expected due to us doing the vaka cruise. When we did arrive nobody was there all the numbers that we tried to contact that were on the reception door were going to answering machines.

The lady then arrived she was annoyed that we were there late which I would understand if I didn't inform her that we were doing the vaka cruise. But I did email her.

Anyway long story short it was a nice stay I wish I had realised that she had rooms available with air conditioning as the room we stayed in only had a fan that blew hot air around lol.

The lady from Ranginui's Retreat also didn't let us know where things were or if hiring a scooter was available from there etc.

Other then this you cannot complain for views or waking up to the lagoon every morning.

There is no eating facilities on site but there are a few places in walking distance.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank CourtneyW1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stayed 5 nights and had a lovely experience. The accommodation was relatively budget but clean, well equipped for the basics, had A/C in the bedroom. The pool was a nice refresher from the lagoon. It was in walking distance to the Boat Shed Restaurant, Poporoa Car Rental and Koru Cafe. Next door was also a restaurant. The mangers will provide airport transfers if given notice. The managers: Steve, Lani, Malo were very helpful and were able to call for bookings f various activities, including a snorkel trip.

On Aitutaki, there are no real concentrated towns, so recommend gettin a scooter (most common) or a car to see the island. On the other hand, it is easy enough to just completely relax & digitally detox, which s what we needed. The most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

Room Tip: Try to book the larger unti #1.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Awesome place to get away and unwind. Steve and Quinton the owner/operators were awesome and very friendly. Quinton also runs the 'Wet 'n' Wild boat charters and has separate bungalows on his property. Steve manages Ranginui's retreat which is down the road from Quinton,

Whether you're looking to go kite surfing, deep sea fishing, snorkeling or spearfishing then Steve and Quinton are the guys to see! Also i hear they are about to start shark diving from cages very soon out in the open water for a new and exciting thrill! Was also a bonus to meet Quintons family who came along on day trips who made it more enjoyable with all the laughs and comedy they bring (young entertainers) Can't wait for next time!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Ranginui's are basic bungalows right on the water. The rooms are clean and tidy which a double bed, kitchenette and shower with eco drop toilet. We didn't experience any hassles or smells with the toilet - just remember to keep the lid closed. We were picked up and dropped back to the airport by Lani which made things easy for us. The retreat also has a pool and a bbq for the use of guests. There are kayaks - both single and double that you can use. There are a couple of places to eat nearby but I would recommend bringing your own food and drinks with you from the mainland - everything on the island is quite expensive. Koru for coffee, breakfast and lunch and Boatshed for lunch and dinner. You are best to hire a bike to get around the rest of the island. There is a market each morning in town you can buy from as well. The beach out the front is quite rough with coral so bring some reef shoes. It is a short walk to where the Vaka Cruise leaves from - a must do on your stay. A relaxing stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrandmrsbeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Not a five star but it has everything you need. If you don't spend alot of time sitting in your room then this provides a good place to sleep, cheap, clean, good service. Steve helped us get lagoon tours when our regular tour cancelled. He provided a place to shower when our tour ended up on the day of our departure.

Room Tip: You will need a scooter. Best ones are in town. Limited eating places nearby.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank riwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews