We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
31
33
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
33
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat shed great cafe perfect location koru cafe day trip beautiful lagoon walking distance ootu beach lagoon cruise free kayaks aitutaki village wonderful hosts cook islands each morning loved every minute lani steve
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We've stayed here on 2 occasions and both have been pleasant.
The accommodation is simple and clean. Small kitchen with most things you need. Comfortable bed, table and chairs, spare bed, composting toilet, shower ran hot and cold but mostly showered cold anyway. Air con was available at an extra cost but we didn't use it, had a ceiling fan and that was enough for us. Small deck out front where we spent a lot of time relaxing and enjoying the amazing view of the lagoon just steps away. Kayaks free to use, but you have to pay for paddle boards. Scooters available for hire. Boatshed Bar & Grill, Aitutaki Village Restaurant/Bar and Koru Cafe all within walking distance. Ootu beach also within walking distance. Swimming out front is still lovely. Small pool also here which we used and was always clean.
No frills accommodation, great for the budget traveller

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aishal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

We had been staying at another place on Aitutaki on the outside of the lagoon and had a great experience and we were so looking forward to our inside lagoon stay. However, it was such a disappointment. We had booked back in March (staying in November). When we were finally picked up (waiting 1 hour 10 mins) we were shown to a room which was obviously not a 'proper' room, completely run down and musty smelling and didn't even have a room number. We were told just to leave our bags there whilst our room was being cleaned. We went for a brief walk and when we came back I asked which was our cabin and was then told that the room we had left our bags in was it. Clear deceit. I expressed that this was unacceptable (in a nice way) so we went to the office and explained that that room in no way resembled what we had booked back in March. The owners response was 'well go somewhere else'!! He then looked at his book and said come back in an hour. When we came back we were shown to another cabin. It really left a bad taste in our mouths, a horrible way to start the second part of our Aitutaki experience.

The room was OK, but very limited kitchen supplies as in not even a sharp knife. The bed was pushed up against a wall which makes things awkward. The shower was hot but the shower head would not stay up so you had to hold it. There is a pit toilet. I felt disinclined to ask for a knife or the shower to be fixed after the owners attitude.

The view is lovely and there are a number of restaurants nearby. Get the ferry over to Aitutaki Lagoon resort and have a beautiful meal for only a couple of $$ more. Their glasses of wine were HUGE! Karu cafe is great also. If you have a bike head down to Tupuna's in the south middle of the island. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paulandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We spent 6 lovely leisurely days here. Our simple chalet was a few steps from the lagoon edge and beside the pool. While the facilities were simple they were clean and adequate, We had breakfast & occasionally a lunch at our chalet but there were other lovely choices within walking distance. Highly recommend the Koru Café for lovely homemade baking & meals. Aitutaki Village Resort was a favourite dinner choice. Moonlight over the Palm fringed lagoon lulled us to sleep.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Flyingkiwis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Perfect location! Right on the lagoon, complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Also affiliated with Wet and Wild, a fantastic boat operator for fishing, snorkeling, kiting etc
Steve the owner is very helpful and accommodating, scooters and bikes for hire. You just can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoniA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Ranginui's and would return again. It is in a great location with a couple of restaurants nearby. They have a pool which was always clean, kayaks and stand up boards. It is basic accommodation with pit toilets. The toilets did not smell at all. They provide a electric jug and microwave plus an old hotplate. If you stay down this end of the island you really need transport as there are no shops in the area to buy groceries. Don't forget the insect repellent (i use bushmens) as the island has lots of mosquitoes. Great budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sueandjohn1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews