We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
31
33
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
33
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat shedgreat cafeperfect locationkoru cafeday tripbeautiful lagoonwalking distanceootu beachlagoon cruisefree kayaksaitutaki villagewonderful hostscook islandseach morningloved every minutelanisteve
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Perfect location! Right on the lagoon, complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Also affiliated with Wet and Wild, a fantastic boat operator for fishing, snorkeling, kiting etc
Steve the owner is very helpful and accommodating, scooters and bikes for hire. You just can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoniA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Ranginui's and would return again. It is in a great location with a couple of restaurants nearby. They have a pool which was always clean, kayaks and stand up boards. It is basic accommodation with pit toilets. The toilets did not smell at all. They provide a electric jug and microwave plus an old hotplate. If you stay down this end of the island you really need transport as there are no shops in the area to buy groceries. Don't forget the insect repellent (i use bushmens) as the island has lots of mosquitoes. Great budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sueandjohn1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Stayed here for a week it was great, the cottage is basic, look out to the lagoon from your verandah. Complimentary kayaks and scooter. local people are great. If you want to go to the footprint island a day trip it's a must see beautiful local lunch is provided included in tour don't forget to take your passport so you can stamp it, a memory for life to say you have been to this place. Island night is a must see as well along with a beautiful local traditional food buffet style, aitutaki island is a slow paced island do not expect things to be done in a flash, relaxing is a type of Island it is, explore the island.
I would not recommend ranginuis retreat for someone who likes luxury accommodation and high standards for comfort.

Room Tip: Good views of lagoon
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murrayNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Fantastic location on the island. Be prepered for some suprises like an eco toilet without a flush or if you happen to switch on air conditioning the owner will shout at you that if you do not turn it off immediately he will charge you extra fifteen dollars (no mention of it whatsoever in the room). No sunbeds at the beach.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank PiotrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed 3 weeks here and loved every moment. Our cabin was right on the lagoon so every morning you could wake up and see the water. The water front cabins are self catering and great to cook up a meal while you are there so you can just relax and enjoy the view. During the day grab a kayak from out the front and paddle out to the bluest water you have ever seen or just jump in the water for a swim. The owner Steve did our airport transfers also and is great to be around. Thanks Steve for a great place to stay and for all the great chats also for directing us to the best trips to take. We had a truly wonderful time and will be back next year for our holidays. It will be our second home (we could be locals). A big thank you also to Lani you beautiful lady. We are going to miss you

Room Tip: Front cabins have the best views, but rooms out the back are great also, we checked them out whilst there
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews