We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day trip with something for everyone ”
Review of Bishops Cruises

Bishops Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Aitutaki lagoon is undeniably one of the most beautiful in the world and a visit to our Paradise would not be complete without joining us for a fun filled day cruising this spectacular natural wonder. We offer a range of tours and lagoon taxi services, snorkeling gear, beach towels and food and beverage options on the famous One Foot Island. Bring along your passport and get our famous 'One Foot stamp' in it.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

This is the second lagoon tour we have taken, the first by TeKing which was great for the snorkeling but this tour with Bishops was really good to do the second day to visit different places. I loved the boat, comfortable and spacious and you could take any aged child, even a baby compared to going on a speed boat which is pretty rough. They sold drinks on board-beer, fizzy. We visited the island where planes used to land on the sea, beautiful swimming beach here, great photos, then we visited another Island used by Survivor when they filmed here. We learnt a little about the trees and got to walk through the trees across the island (5 mins at most) but cool to do and imagine being on survivor! We did some snorkeling Erth the giant trevally and saw giant clams-take your jewellery off before you come, wedding rings, watches etc or you might get your fingers chomped on by giant trevally! The walk across the sandbar was something I will never forget, so beautiful it's thigh deep, I took camera across with me, wear reef shoes there are some sharp shells, kids found it easier to swim or hold our hands and get dragged along, it's quite a way. You end up on one foot island which is just stunning and you have time to swim here, there is a black buoy in the middle of the channel - a few giant clams here and some purple coral being grown, giant trevally around the boats. Amazing delicious lunch of bbq tuna and sausages, lots of salad and beautiful fried bread, yum! You eat under cover for shade and you can get your passport stamped here. Trip is from 10am til around 3pm. Bishops provide towels. Awesome trip so glad we did it, great staff too. Thankyou Bishops!

Thank noushymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops_Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Bishops Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Kia Orana Noushymoo

Meitaki Atupaka for your very informative review of Bishops Cruises, we very much appreciate you taking the time to write this for others to share your experience and take tips from.

With regard to the Giant Trevally, it is worth mentioning to remove jewelry, as, of course in their natural habitat, they can be attracted to quick moving, sparkly items underwater, mistaking them as fish. However, as thankfully, they are not meat eaters it is safe to swim amongst them and marvel at their size and speed.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much and hope to see you back onboard again one day.
Enjoy the rest of your vacation in Aitutaki and safe travels going forward.

Kia Manuia
The Team at Bishops Cruises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"one foot island"
in 54 reviews
"private boat"
in 4 reviews
"giant clams"
in 14 reviews
"aitutaki lagoon"
in 15 reviews
"sand bar"
in 7 reviews
"day cruise"
in 7 reviews
"fruit"
in 10 reviews
"salad"
in 13 reviews
"cook islands"
in 9 reviews
"fish"
in 15 reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 7 reviews
"excellent cruise"
in 2 reviews
"dropped off"
in 3 reviews
"gorgeous island"
in 2 reviews
"bread"
in 4 reviews
"plenty of food"
in 2 reviews
"full day tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Bishops Cruises for the fantastic donation of a cruise for our Volunteer Veterinary Outreach we did from 25 Feb to 5 March. The day we spent on the lagoon was incredible. The water was so clear, crew was fun and helpful, One Foot Island experience was amazing. To see the fish and clams was a once in a lifetime experience and the cruise made it all possible. THANK YOU so very much to give us a much needed break from the hard work.

Hope to see you all next year for another Outreach to help the cats and community of Aitutaki!

Meitaki atupaka

The Veterinary Team from Oregon

Dr. Sharon
Dr. Rochelle
Nurse Sheri
Assistant John
Assistant & organizer Tomie
The Fantastic Steph Joseph of Aitutaki

Thank Tomie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops_Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Bishops Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Meitaki Atupaka (Thank you very much) for your lovely review of Bishops Cruises.
We had a wonderful, full filled day out on the lagoon with you all that day!
Hope to see you back in Paradise again soon.

Kia Manuia
The Bishops Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We regretted taking the Bishops Cruise almost from the minute we boarded. Zero personality guides who only talked amongst themselves. They acted boarded to be there and did not interact with the group. The worst part of the trip was that they literally dropped off the whole group at a sandbar, nearly 1/4 mile from One Foot Island and instructed us to walk through, sometimes, chest deep water to get to the island. This was a stall tactic to give them time to prepare food on One Foot Island. Problem - every third step was on a sharp clam shell or ? The VACA boat dropped their guests directly on the island, and the VACA guests definitely seemed to be having a more enjoyable experience.

Thank sdouglas2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops_Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Bishops Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Kia Orana sdouglas2017 and thank you for your review of Bishops Cruises,

Apologies for the delay in responding; I have only recently incorporated Trip Advisor reviews into my role within Bishops Cruises.

We were very sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your experience with us and have addressed with our Team to ensure our visitors don't leave disappointed in future.

The crew aboard provide a thorough safety briefing, once everyone is settled onboard and then go on to explain the day's activities, advising of the facilities/amenities on board the boat(s). After this induction is carried out, they suggest you settle in to enjoy the stunning views and to keep a look out for Turtles or Rays in the lagoon as our first stop is some 35/40 minute journey into the lagoon. If marine life is spotted, Captain will often determine to try to get closer for visitors to take photos, videos etc.

At each destination throughout the day, they provide a brief story about the history of the spot and answer any questions. Therefore, I apologise if you felt our team did not interact well.

I feel I must address your comment regarding dropping our guests off "1/4 mile from Onefoot Island, instructing you to walk through chest deep water, stepping on sharp clam shells''. In fact, this 15 minute walk, through (often ankle deep or at most waist deep), warm, crystal clear water in the lagoon from the white sandbar, aptly named Heaven, is often commented upon as one of the highlights of the many visitors to the islands, and on most of the other tours, including Bishops as the smaller boats are fortunate enough to be able to dock directly in the shallow water there to drop off. After all, there are few places in the world which can offer such an opportunity. In saying this; of course, guests are welcome to stay aboard the boat and not experience this once in a lifetime walk through the soft white sands and shallow waters and can be dropped directly on Onefoot Island.

It is worth mentioning, the Captains are always aware of the tide and advise how deep the water will be and always make the final call on the weather/water conditions, It would have been very unfortunate for you to step on shells through the walk, let alone sharp clam shells or coral in the sandbar area, so I am sorry to read that. I can only assume our crew attended to any first aid situation you encountered satisfactorily.

As Lunch at OneFoot Island is generally served between 12.30pm-1pm, dependent on how much time our guests chose to snorkel, or spend at the Sandbar, then yes you are right in saying that the crew utilize that time to prepare a fresh BBQ lunch and open up the famous Post Office. For those who remained on the boat, they are free to explore the island until lunch is ready.

We trust that you will return to our paradise again one day and hopefully we can rectify your experience with us.

Kia Manuia
from the Bishops Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Took The Bishop's Lagoon tour and enjoyed my time with them visiting aitutaki without participating in a lagoon tour would be a complete shame and waste of time. Getting out on the water gives you a completely different perspective and takes you to some really gorgeous sites offshore.

The highlight of the tour was visiting one foot Island. The crew made a very nice lunch for us in a nicely protected area where we could sit out of the intermittent rain. While the crew prepared the lunch of Yellowfin tuna, hot dogs, fresh delicious salads and fruit, participants were welcome to snorkel and visit a small site with enormous giant clams. At over 4 ft long they were a sight to behold.

The walk out from this Locale too the little sandbar called Heavenly Island was absolutely delightful. The walk was so scenic through Waters that were only 6 inch to 12 inch deep. It was one of the most memorable parts of all our time on Aitutaki.

The modern aluminum pontoon boat seem very seaworthy and very comfortable. We got caught in the rain but the crew probably dropped clear plastic tarps so we could still have views while being protected and staying warm.

Regular price for the tour is NZ $95 per person but 10% discount coupons can be found on maps available at the airport. This rate includes Hotel pick-up and drop-off and the very nice lunch as well as a tour stop at another motu.

1  Thank Crpl_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops_Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Bishops Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Kia Orana Crpl_D

Meitaki Atupaka (Thank you very much) for your lovely and informative review.

We are delighted you had such a great day aboard Bishops Cruises and especially enjoyed the walk through water from 'Heaven to Onefoot Island'- indeed, it's a very unique once in a lifetime experience that shouldn't be missed.

Be sure to look us up next time you return to Paradise! The Captains are great at remembering returning guests.

Please note: we are now running Instagram and Facebook pages if you would like to tag/share any of your own Aitutaki photos, or simply follow us to keep the experience in your heart.

In the meantime,
Kia Manuia

From our Team at Bishops Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We did the snorkling trip to the Lagoon with them as well as the cruise to One foot Island, both stunning places. Great fish and turtle spotting, friendly staff, they provide good gear if you happen not to bring your own. Highly recommendable!

Thank Onlineli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops_Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Bishops Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Kia Orana Onlineli

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely descriptive review of Bishops Cruises. We very much appreciate your words and hope to see you again in Paradise one day.

Kia Manuia

The Bishops Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bishops Cruises also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Bishops Cruises? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing