We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tahiti
from US$ 24.06
More Info
from US$ 64.83
More Info
from US$ 115.00
More Info
from US$ 145.00
More Info
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
40
72
40
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
72
40
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain cook black sand lots of history nice beach historical monuments historic location gift shop history buff site including lighthouse transit bounty locals plaques mutiny waves island
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

The name comes from Capt Cook's visit to witness the Transit of Venus for the Geographical Society, which was a failure due to faulty instruments! Great lighthouse, various monuments, and the famous black sand beach. A lovely spot and part of Tahiti's history so a place you really should visit when on the island.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank A R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

This area is where Captain Cook anchored in 1769, it is a tranquil place with Black sandy beaches and canoes moored along it. A lovely little village with local crafts is t among some of the things to see while you're wandering around. There's also the lighthouse and the Bounty monument.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank sm05060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Point Venus is a major site in the history of Tahiti and the location where the Europeans and Tahitians first met at the end of the 18 century. Point Venus received its name from Captain. James Cook who arrived to observe the transit of Venus across the sun. Several monuments are on the site including one from the Bounty. This is a popular place for the locals.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

This was one of our stops on our tour and it was very interesting it was where capt cook landed. If I had more time I would have gone for a swim beautiful and it was a black sand beach, there is a market here as well.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank woebetide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We are beach goers...love to explore in the morning then find a great beach to relax on for the afternoon. We made stops at several beaches on the island and this was our favorite. Beautiful black sand, very few rocks, occasional waves but nothing crazy. We made the 45 minute drive here from our rental house several times to enjoy the location.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank BrianW21720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews