We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful homemade Italian fare.”
Review of Mezza Luna

Mezza Luna
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 18
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Description: The establishment is an exciting combination of an American lounge with a contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine. The style and decor of Mezza Luna maintains a classical theme, combined with a vibrant look to inspire the spirit of fun, friendliness in a comfortable setting and to promote a livelier ambiance then that associated with the more traditional, classical style restaurants. Happy Hour, from 3pm to 7pm, offers specialty martinis, wine, beer, sangria at reduced prices. A large selection of dishes guarantees the variation for the customer to select from. The regional foods will evoke the most attractive qualities of the true eating experience, which varies across the many regions.
Restaurant details
Description: The establishment is an exciting combination of an American lounge with a contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine. The style and decor of Mezza Luna maintains a classical theme, combined with a vibrant look to inspire the spirit of fun, friendliness in a comfortable setting and to promote a livelier ambiance then that associated with the more traditional, classical style restaurants. Happy Hour, from 3pm to 7pm, offers specialty martinis, wine, beer, sangria at reduced prices. A large selection of dishes guarantees the variation for the customer to select from. The regional foods will evoke the most attractive qualities of the true eating experience, which varies across the many regions.
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Absolute wonderful al fresco dining experience. Enjoyed everything from Carpaccio Carne to our entrees, Michael, at the suggestion of our delightful server, had the homemade lasagne. The sauce was great and the pasta was perfect. I chose the Frutti de Mare over linguine, loaded with mussels, clams, baby shrimp and tender calamari. We shared an almond fudge brownie topped with chocolate ice cream and finished with a cafe latte for Michael and I had an espresso to end a perfect evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakelyn C, Public Relations Manager at Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you very much Jay, Your Opinion is Very Important for us. It was great to know you both, and had personally the pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you, your next time in CR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

There are several good restaurants in Plaza Itskatzu, and this is among them. Easy paced, good bar selection, and a menu with a nice variety of dishes. The house salad was quite good and the ham and mushroom pizza was very much to my liking (crisp, thin crust with good cheese). My waiter, Hassan, was exceptionally good--providing great suggestions and service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakelyn C, Public Relations Manager at Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you very much, for your opinion; for us is very important.
We hope to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Sorry, but the food was nothing special, compared to other Italian restaurants, even in the same shopping center.

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Not only is the menu extensive and everything delicious here but our favorite waiter here Alvaro makes a meal
here more than "just a meal" because he literally "knocks himself out" to please. The last time we dined here on
New year's Eve this past December we sat upstairs in the private dining area and it was without a doubt the most
romantic New Year's Eve we have ever spent anywhere in the world before. On this trip back to stay again
at the Marriott Courtyard, we made a quick run through the neighborhood to make certain that Mezza Luna was
still there. Now that evening we had already made a commitment to meet two friends to dine with them at the
Hotel but decided to stop off first to see if our favorite Alvaro was still at Mezza Luna. So we trotted in about
4:30Pm and had a snack of Pizza and I mentioned to Alvaro that when I still lived in the United States my
favorite cocktail was a Vodka Martini "up" with olives but that no one in this new Country of ours, Costa Rica
seems to know how to fix one. So of course Alvaro tells me, "Well you should try one of mine and I promise
you will love it - so I did and he was as usual, absolutely right - in fact it was the best Vodka Martini I have ever
had before - anywhere.... Next evening we of course couldn't wait to go to dinner at Mezza Luna and also to
see Alvaro once again and as usual, the dinner was outstanding. And not that I needed to after all the wine
and Pasta I had enjoyed but couldn't resist having the dessert of the wonderful, delicious, Tiramisu.. which was
indeed better than ever. So we look forward indeed to many more happy and fun dining at Mezza Luna in the future..

Thank Jinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We were doing errands in Escazu and stopped by to have lunch. It made a really nice break from a hectic day. Felt pampered with the excellent service and great food! Would definitely recommend to family and friends!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brendad288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakelyn C, Public Relations Manager at Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you!
It´s our pleasure to serve you! Hope to have you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezza Luna also viewed

San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
 
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
San Antonio De Belen, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Mezza Luna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing