We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and real italian pizza and dishes!”
Review of Il Padrino

Il Padrino
Ranked #36 of 842 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recognized among the best Italian restaurants in the world through the title OSPITALITA ITALIANA awarded by the Italian Chamber of Commerce.
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Luca the owner is always there providing a smile and personalise service with the best prossiuto and Mozzarella plates that you can eat in downtown San Jose!

Thank Jorge506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017
Google Translation

Buenas tardes Don Jorge!!!
Gracias por escribir su opinión acerca del Padrino y alagar nuestro servicio y cuchara!
Muy felices , esperamos servirle pronto!

Saludos Cordiales!!

Luca Navarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016

We stayed in Urucu and, because it was pouring rain, we didn't feel like eating out. The concierge suggested delivery fro Il Padrio. We tried the pizza, orange chicken, pasta carbonara, lasagna and grilled vegetables. Everything was delicious and it arrived HOT. Budget friendly. Cannot say enough good things about this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016
Google Translation


Good Morning Rachel B,
Indeed all our menu is open for express service and over the years always more customers have considered us a healthy gourmet option for this type of service.

Thank you for your testimony

Efectivamente todo nuestro menu esta abierto para el servicio express y en trascurso de los años siempre mas clientes nos han considerado una opcion gourmet saludable para este tipo de servicio.

Gracias por su testimonio

Saludos Cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

The grilled tuna is awesome. Price is a little too high, still payable if it had better parking (pretty much leave it on the street) and a decent restroom (that is a disappointment). For what they bill for food, certainly can afford a cleaner and way better men's room. It's a classy place, not a biker's bar..

Thank And506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Good morning sir And506,

Thank you for dedicating your valuable time to help us improve.

We are in the process of improving our facilities, among plans to remodel the bathrooms. What is strange is that we give them daily follow-up to the cleaning of the same ones, who knows in what occasion it was found with lack of cleanliness. In such cases it would be fantastic that our clients inform us immediately. Respect to the 10 parking that we have available we have not been able to find a solution since there is no public parking around.

I hope that on your next visit you can find the improvements that you and all our clients deserve!

Grateful for his constructive comment I say goodbye cordially,

Luca Navarra


Buenos dias señor

gracias por dedicar su valioso tiempo para ayudarnos a mejorar.

Estamos en un proceso de mejora de nuestras instalaciones, entre los planes re-modelar los baños . Lo que me extraña es que les damos seguimiento diario a la limpieza de los mismos ,quien sabe en que ocasión lo encontró con falta de aseo. En esos casos seria fantástico que nuestro clientes nos informaran de inmediato. Respeto a los 10 estacionamientos que tenemos disponible no hemos logrado encontrar una solución ya que al rededor no se encuentra ningún paqueo publico.

Espero que en su próxima visita pueda encontrar las mejoras que usted y todos nuestros clientes se merecen!

Agradecido por su comentario constructivo me despido cordialmente,

Luca Navarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is a place that has lost its shine... they used to have great service, great dishes, in the last year they has lost their shine..

Thank ZGastroBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Good morning sir ZGastroBar,

I have read all your previous opinions and in 11 years I did not find the one that speaks of our brilliance, very curious!

Equally grateful for your comment Cantinflas style.

Best regards,

Luca Navarra

Buenos días señor ZGastroBar,

he leído todas sus opiniones anteriores y en 11 años no encontré la que habla de nuestro brillo , muy curioso!

Igualmente agradecido por su comentario estilo Cantinflas.

Saludos cordiales,

Luca Navarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We had been told about Il Padrino many times by some friends who are regulars, but hadn't had the opportunity to go. We finally accompanied them for lunch and it was everything they had been telling us and more! We were greeted by Luca as if we were old friends, and our server, Jesse, was delightful.
The menu is huge, with everything you could hope for...pages of pastas, main courses, specials, and pizzas. The hardest part was deciding what to try. The portions are huge. I ordered the grilled tuna and opted for pappardelle with butter and sage instead of potatoes, along with the grilled vegetables. The tuna was perfectly cooked, pink on the inside, the vegetables nicely charred without being burned, and the pasta was fabulous, again cooked perfectly and dressed with butter and fresh sage leaves.
Service was prompt and friendly.
Pricing is not cheap, but for what you get, is not unreasonable, and well in line with comparable restaurants in the San Jose area. This is one of, if not the, best restaurants I have eaten in in Costa Rica. We will be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca n, Director General at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you very much, what an excellent description! Alagados of his compliments we can not wait to try another of our special recipes!
On the part of all the Padrino's team a warm greeting.


Muchas gracias, que excelente descripcion ! Alagados de sus cumplidos no vemos la hora de hacerle probar otra de nuestras recetas especiales!
De parte de todo el equipo del Padrino un caluroso saludo .

Luca Navarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Padrino also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Il Padrino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing