We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay in Barrio Amon”
Review of Hotel Castillo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Castillo
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place to stay in Barrio Amon”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel Castillo is a nice little hotel in the Barrio Amon district. Clean well appointed rooms in a peaceful setting, coupled with great service make this hotel an excellent choice for those who want to stay in this area and get a good deal at the same time. Perhaps more geared towards the single male adventure traveller than for families, as it is within easy walking distance to many of the cities' more exotic pursuits.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakemogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

From the moment I made my reservation to the day I left the service was just outstanding.The staff will make you feel right at home making sure all your needs are met. I had a very pleasant stay and would book again on my next trip. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddie-pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio de Pereira, Colombia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel Castillo has been a favorite of mine since 2005. The hotel is nothing fancy, just plain and comfortable. The rooms are clean, and the manager and staff treat guests like family. For the room rates I pay, it is one of the best bargains in San Jose. I particularly enjoy the camaraderie of the other guests over breakfast and at the adjacent bar. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eulenspeegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Arenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Despite the previous reviewers thoughts, I decided to stay at the Castillo.
And if a Hilton style experience is what ur after, then skip this hotel and many others in the San Jose area, unless you have a lot of room on your credit cards...this one was great value.
I had a room in the rear motel style unit last weekend (#17) then this weekend, (#4 and #3), and in each case the bed was comfortable, supportive, and clean...the showers were large, and with ample hot water, free shampoo too was a nice touch, the tvs, phone (free local calls) and security all functioned great. The front desk staff were very helpful, and I did enjoy the included breakfast of hard boiled eggs (huevos duro) gallo pinto, toast, fruits, and hot coffee. The best part was meeting and chatting with other visitors who had traveled throughout the country and trusted the Castillo to be their beginning and end points. There is free wifi throughout, and computer access in the reading lounge, as well, the hotel is very central and taxi rides were between $2 and $5 most times.
I will be very happy to return, and as the price was about $45US per nite..it was a great value. As to the lack of bottled water, the front desk will arrange to get some in (for a small fee) or you do have a small fridge in most rooms, and the mercado (grocery store) isn't far.There is a friendly bar at the back and a very good thai themed restaurant providing lunch and dinners. I tried the pad thai and terriyaki chicken..both good and not dried out.
3 cheers for the Castillo Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exbeachers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Well, it was an okay stay ... but only that.

The staff are very good and helpfu with loal knowledge of where to go and what to do etc.

But the rooms lack certain features that I take as necessary. Yes, there is free wifi, TV and a double bed. But there is no drinking water, no tea/coffee, no fridge. Also the hotel has no restaurant so you need to go out to eat all the time. If you miss the free buffet breakfast then it is not possible to even get a cup of coffee on the premises!

I had a quick look around the region and it seems that there are plenty of other places to stay at a small extra cost that would be better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 km away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
0.5 km away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#43 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 km away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#49 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#33 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo

Property: Hotel Castillo
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,971 - ₹ 5,232
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who check-in starting January 15th at the Castillo Hotel will notice many changes from the previous hotel property. Along with a new third floor, the fully remodeled Castillo is equipped with balcony suites offering an outstanding view of the upscale Barrio Amon neighborhood. Three of the penthouse suites open onto 4th floor rooftop decks. Additions to the property bring the number of rooms to 29, of which at least 15 rooms will be open by January 15th. Consistent with the design of the original Castillo, the remodeling reflects the 19th century style of the privileged Costa Rica coffee barons, complete with wood paneled floors in the bedrooms and tiled common areas. Each room has been fully refurnished with Ashley Furniture, including a Simmons Beautyrest pillow-top mattress. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing