We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An artsy hole...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cinco Hormigas Rojas
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Orford, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An artsy hole...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

When we arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by the owner, who was described by the Lonely Planet guide as a bit of an excentric. Wait a minute! This woman has a full blown bordeline personality disorder!! The place is popular for its in-town jungle/ecosystem that is visited by many birds. When she opened the door to our room, a strong smell of closed-for-the-winter-chalet jumped to my nose (a mix of dust and mold) and we soon found out that the smell was not to be overpowered by essential oils... There was a train going by every 15 minutes or so and dogs barking, of course... The room is plain dirty, there is not even a pillow case on the pillows and the sheets are so worn out, you can see through them... There was a dirty bowl soaking in our sink (??)...

Let's be clear here: I am not a princess and I have camped and traveled and slept in many uncomfortable places, but this is plain gross. Even the girls are grossed out and bothered by the smell... We are still weighting our options here... We are here 4 nights. We can bite the bullet and try to enjoy ourselves or we can try to negociate with the hysterical artist...

This place might have been super nice when it opened in 1995, but it has been taken care of (nor properly cleaned in a long time). If you like sleeping in mold and dust, this place is for you! Not a great way to start a trip! Look into Hotel Aranjuez instead, for 5 box more, you'll get much much more than this crappy place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
31
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I arrived late in the evening, but Mayra had fresh coffee and tea made for me. Had the entire upstairs BB to myself. The artwork and "jungle garden" are amazing, and a boxed breakfast was waiting for me in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia_Anna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you read the reviews, go to the website, this is exactly as it is described. It is a city "jungle" in the middle of San Jose. It is a bed and breakfast. You will be greeted after honking the horn in the trees, by a very vibrant and artist home owner. She will share her home with you and share her birds and dogs.

This place is not for everyone, but it is an experience to be had for sure. It was rainy while we visited so we were unable to enjoy the backyard birds, and the "fresh" air. I am sure on a sunny day the city rain forest would be very nice and relaxing.

But as I mentioned before, if you visit the Bed and Breakfast's website, you will not go wrong, or be mislead. This place is eccentric, it is a story to be told, and you will always remember your stay here.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are shared, or in a hall, not in the bedrooms. This is fine, as long as you know this is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daynadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

My first experince in Costa Rica with my wife and 7 year old daughter was shocking to encounter this so called hotel with a nut case of a proprieitor. Made a reservation and commumicated directly with her in advance concerning our late arrival being early morning around 2 am from Florida on Spirit Airlines. Which she exchanged through email to me that was fine. Our flight was late and when we arrived by taxi at 3 am and rang the horn of a bell, no one answered until we woke up the only other guests staying there who came out to see who was honking the horn of a bell. After several attempts by the staying guests to even wake up the proprietor who told us through the door they arrived @ 4 in the afternoon and they encountered the same no answer to the horn bell...Umm. When she finally did come out of her room and to the door, she acted like she had no idea who we were or that we even had a reservation and even with our printed email exchanges in hand she claimed she doesn't open her door at that hour for anyone. Anyone who has an establishment of this nature should know flights arrive late and you should be prepared to except arriving guests late night especially since we previously communicated cornerning the late hour.....Then she begins to rant at us telling us we are bothering her at this hour and we need to go away. My wife and 7 year old daughter with luggage on the curb are now faced with a closing door @ 3am on the streets of San Jose. She had no concern what so ever about our safety. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone. Luckily the taxi driver did not leave us because he said to us this is not a safe area and can't leave you here without knowing you are in a hotel. He drove us to several other hotels who all I might add had staff immediately on hand to answer the door on first ring until we found one that had a available room. Beware.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

If you are looking for luxury, this place is not for you, but if you are looking to stay at a place you will never find anywhere else, check it out! This little "rainforest amidst San Jose" is run by the owner, Mayra. It is a decorated by her in a very eclectic bizarre way, displaying a lot of her own artwork and gypsy-type personal touches. While we were there she fed some bats so that we could see them in the courtyard and talked about her dog that was bred by a coyote. Very interesting and unique individual. The hotel itself is very basic but for $30 a night for a double room (a brown bag breakfast is included). Don't book this if you are looking for really nice accomodations but I would highly recommend it to someone who is willing to try things outside of the norm!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandih21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#45 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#36 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
#41 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#20 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
0.6 km away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#49 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Hormigas Rojas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Hormigas Rojas

Property: Cinco Hormigas Rojas
Address: Calle 15 entre avenidas 9 y 11bis | Barrio Otoya, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,621 - ₹ 2,528
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cinco Hormigas Rojas San Jose
Cinco Hormigas Rojas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing