We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Del Rey
Nearby Hotels
US$ 127
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$ 102
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 115
US$ 95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$ 99
US$ 82
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
US$ 38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 70
US$ 68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Casa Colon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Costa Rica Guesthouse(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$ 25
US$ 24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
37
51
29
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
51
29
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle malebeautiful womenadult entertainmentshapes and sizesstar ratedcosta ricachristmas vacationinteresting peoplemain shoppingcentral americatwo blocksrooms are cleantwo nightslargotaorminasjodowntown
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My reservation Rate was not HONORED, got overcharged for room rate by 300%, there were cocoroaches in room, NO MANAGER has returned my calls to fix problem. New liquor prices are over the top, a 300% mark up, and service still sucks even more. Management has lost its focus, they do not care about the repeat guests anymore.Avoid it.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank preetykool1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Women are the best, especially the tica's and nicaraguan ladies; had a great time, but an average hotel at best; too noisy to stay there. you're better off staying down the street at either the presidente, hotel dunn inn, sportsman, hotel la amistad, etc., since you get free breakfast and arent' charged any guest fees. i find that hanging out at the del rey between 1-3 pm or after 9 pm is the best time to meet the really attractive ladies.

i look forward to coming back again in two months.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
18  Thank dmr4736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I knew what this hotel was about when I returned in San José, but I still decided to book it for two nights.

It's fun to sit in the lobby and watch the 'girls' play their games with the (mainly) 50+ American male tourists. If you are not into this 'game', no one will bother you.

What bugged me most was the fact that there's a lot of cigarette smoke in the hotel, as the ground floor is an open lobby + bar + casino, where a lot of smoking is going on. The problem is that this smoke goes up, so that many rooms (I stayed in 416 and 423) smell like smoke. And there were no windows to open, in the rooms that I had...

The staff is very nice, the rooms were clean and it was good to have a free safe (with PIN code) in there. There is free internet (WiFi as well as a few pc's) but no breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lob999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

What an amazing Hotel. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left, we enjoyed every aspect of this Hotel. Everything about this hotel is fun for men, but STAY AWAY FROM THE TOUR DESK THERE!! !!!!LOOK ON-LINE or AT SOME OF THE OTHER HOTELS IN THE AREA FOR TOURS!!!! !!!!DO A LITTLE RESEARCH AND SAVE BIG!!!! We discovered that the the travel desk at the Del Rey adds huge premiums for tours and ground transport. If you look around on-line or at some of the other hotels in the area, you can find other options for several hundred dollars less and get better service! For example the Del Rey wanted $1200.00 min for a day of offshore fishing plus $200.00 more for transportation to Jaco, totaling $1400.00. I went to another hotel in the area, The Hotel Presidente and the guy at their travel desk hooked us up with a great company called Angry Marlin Sportfishing. The owner Capt. Jose is an American guy from California. He's funny, knows his stuff when it comes to fishing and offers 5 very nice boats. I HIGHLY recommended them! Our total offshore fishing trip only cost $1000.00 INCLUDING free ground transportation and we bagged them! 3 sails, 7 Dorado and two huge roosterfish inshore later in the day. We saved enough money and had such a wonderful time that we went out fishing a second day with him inshore! So look around!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank btucker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Great staff. Wonderfull bartenders. Housekeeping excellent. Oscar saved me a big problem flying back. First rate.
By the way there is an abundance of talent, like you did not already know. Can not wait till my next road trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rampinup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews