We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartotel Suites Cristina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in Room 102 of Suites Cristina during a recent visit to San Jose. The suite was roomy, very clean, with ample closet space. Breakfast by the pool was good - and filling. By the way, the restaurant attached to the hotel, L Olivo, while a bit pricy is as good of an Italian restaurant as I've found outside of Rome!

Now, the downside - the rooms have very little carpet, making them "hard" - noise carries. This would not have been as much of an issue, except Room 102 faces the street and is over the garage entryway. There was quite a bit f noise in the early morning that prevented us from sleeping with the windows open. The other "downside" was the mattress was more firm than my wife and I prefer - combined with the noise, couldn't quite get comfortable.

The staff of Suites Cristina were always very pleasant and helpful. Location was convenient to several places to eat and to Sabana Park.

Had our stay been longer, I would have requested a move to a different room to get away from the noise from the street and employees of ICE (coming to work at 630AM). The noise (something management had little control over) was the biggest drawback, and I don;t think other rooms not facing the street would have had the same issue.

For the price, you get a very clean room, with ample storage, good Internet connections, ample space (bathroom, bedroom, and sitting area/kitchen). and a hearty breakfast (omelets, fruit, juices, coffee, toast, and a few sides) to get you started of a morning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street, spend a little more for rooms on second/third floors to avoid co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    90
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
63
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I do not reccommend staying here at all. We left luggage in a locked luggage store that was only accessible by staff members. Whilst we were away our luggage was rifled through and over $3000 of gear was taken. As this was a locked store this was done by a staff member. Management did not care one bit and were extremely unsympathetic. They basically blamed us. Very horrible place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
The customer's lap top, a Toshiba Protege R830 and its case, was found the following days and sent to him by FedEx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

We have now stayed at the Apartotel Suites Cristina twice in 2 weeks. Each time has been delightful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We are not looking for lush and fancy, so did not expect it, however the rooms and the beds are surprisingly comfortable. Uncomfortable, rock hard beds can be a problem in Costa Rica.

We live elsewhere in the Costa Rica and drive to San Jose to conduct business, and are very glad that this hotel has a garage as well as guarded outdoor parking. We can safely leave our car at the hotel and take the taxis into town, without driving headaches. The hotel has arrangements for a private taxi service that is very quick and dependable.

Since the rooms are small apartments, we brought or bought food and drinks and were quite happy. We also ate in the Italian-food restaurant which was very good, even if a bit expensive.

The neighborhood is quiet and safe. The staff have been helpful and friendly. We actually plan to return to the Apartotel Suites Cristina in the future when we need to stay in San Jose.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarchasmHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin, Pa, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

we always stay here as a central hub in costa rica. it is a clean and comforble place to stay. the staff is very friendly and will get you what they can. the resteraunt (italian) is excellent!! and will deliver to your room too! i have been to costa rica three times and i had to spend one night in another hotel in san jose due to overbooking, and i was very, very happy to return to the cristina the very next morning. you also can not beat the value. just a tip, pay cash and you save. a great breakfast included with fresh fruit, made to order omlettes, juice, and of course rice and beans from 7am to 10 am with coffee all day if you want it. which is great because there is none in the room. that is my only dissapointment, and i can live with that for the value. this is the place i will continue to stay at in central san jose.

Room Tip: do not stay on the first floor next to the office unless you have to! the water is cold, and every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Barbra S.

We really appreciate your comments; they are the best motivators to push forward the Cristina employee’s family.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Silvia at the front desk was blatantly rude and refused to help us. They advertise a free shuttle to and from the airport, when we inquired about our pick up from SJO they sent us a link to the paid taxi service. There was a discrepancy in the level of our room, to try and remedy this they offered a shuttle for us back to the airport (which is supposedly a free service). Silvia gave us the receipt for the shuttle, she booked it 3 hours before we needed it and then refused to change it, saying they needed to know 24hrs in advance when it was only booked 12 hours ago and we were only informed 1 hour before they were to arrive.

The rooms were ok, only a surface clean with a bit of grime on everything. Cheap furniture that was uncomfortable and itchy. The service staff was very pleasant, Sergio who carried out luggage was fantastic, kind and quick. Alma who is a maid and helped with the breakfast was very sweet and genuinely nice.

Our room was near the pool and the breakfast set up, it was noisy and a wake up at 5am wasn't exactly desirable. The breakfast was defiantly lacking, instant coffee, packaged fruit and sugar water juice options. Most items were gone by 8am and almost nothing was restocked.

Myself and my family was very disappointed in our stay at the Apartotel Suites Cristina, even though the price was fair the level of service was unacceptable. The 'free' shuttle service was non existence at least for us, and by the end of our stay Silvia was on verge of being openly hostel. I wouldn't pay $25 a night for another stay at Apartotel Suites Cristina.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
There are several inaccurate affirmations posted that I would like to comment. Mr. “Thedayton” and family free transportation to the airport service was confirmed to him, by mail, the previous day at 4:19 pm. Interbus, the company who serves our free transportation to the airport is 100% carbon offset, so they take special care about waste and CO2 emissions. For this reason they do not offer the typical shuttle service, but a personalized, scheduled service. For this reason the change the customer requested the following morning, one hour before the service, could not be attended. Watching the videos about the conversation, I did not see the “blatantly rude” Silvia’s behavior that Mr. “Thedayton” described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.6 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.5 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Property: Apartotel Suites Cristina
Address: Norte del Ice 300 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,085 - ₹ 6,389
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel Suites Cristina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport(SJO) to hotel transportation, and we charge US$5 from hotel to the Airport, both services must be booked with us. Free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartotel Suites Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing