We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as advertised, terrible customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as advertised, terrible customer service.”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Silvia at the front desk was blatantly rude and refused to help us. They advertise a free shuttle to and from the airport, when we inquired about our pick up from SJO they sent us a link to the paid taxi service. There was a discrepancy in the level of our room, to try and remedy this they offered a shuttle for us back to the airport (which is supposedly a free service). Silvia gave us the receipt for the shuttle, she booked it 3 hours before we needed it and then refused to change it, saying they needed to know 24hrs in advance when it was only booked 12 hours ago and we were only informed 1 hour before they were to arrive.

The rooms were ok, only a surface clean with a bit of grime on everything. Cheap furniture that was uncomfortable and itchy. The service staff was very pleasant, Sergio who carried out luggage was fantastic, kind and quick. Alma who is a maid and helped with the breakfast was very sweet and genuinely nice.

Our room was near the pool and the breakfast set up, it was noisy and a wake up at 5am wasn't exactly desirable. The breakfast was defiantly lacking, instant coffee, packaged fruit and sugar water juice options. Most items were gone by 8am and almost nothing was restocked.

Myself and my family was very disappointed in our stay at the Apartotel Suites Cristina, even though the price was fair the level of service was unacceptable. The 'free' shuttle service was non existence at least for us, and by the end of our stay Silvia was on verge of being openly hostel. I wouldn't pay $25 a night for another stay at Apartotel Suites Cristina.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
There are several inaccurate affirmations posted that I would like to comment. Mr. “Thedayton” and family free transportation to the airport service was confirmed to him, by mail, the previous day at 4:19 pm. Interbus, the company who serves our free transportation to the airport is 100% carbon offset, so they take special care about waste and CO2 emissions. For this reason they do not offer the typical shuttle service, but a personalized, scheduled service. For this reason the change the customer requested the following morning, one hour before the service, could not be attended. Watching the videos about the conversation, I did not see the “blatantly rude” Silvia’s behavior that Mr. “Thedayton” described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    93
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
63
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
America, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you are new to Costa Rica you will discover that the cost of living (or vacationing) thre is anything but cheap. I found grocery prices in the super market to be substantially more than I pay at home (midwest USA). Anyhow, I recently stayed at Apartotel Suites Cristina for about six nights and was totally pleased with the experience. For approx $70 USD cash per night I had a very nice suite. Nice sized well equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room with tv, couch and chairs. The bedroom was decent sized with one of the most comfortable beds I´ve ever slept in. The bathroom was large with a nice sized shower WITH hot water. Also included a hair dryer and plenty of clean towels and linen every day. Good ventilation meant that I never had to run the AC because there was always a cool breeze to keep me cool. The maids work very hard at keeping the place spotless. A delicious breakfast with made to order omelettes and other goodies is served poolside every morning from 7-10 am and is included in the price. The location is ideal. About 2 blocks from La Sabana Parque along with numerous restaurants very close as well as banks and a supr market. While not a 5 star hotel, for travelers on a tight budget and wanting a very nice comfortable place to stay in a great neighborhood, you can´t miss this one. I know that if I´m ever in San Jose again, this is definetly the place where I will stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunellen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

To All my travelers give this place a try you will not be Disapointed. Just like living in a apartment. this is the best place I have stayed while in Sasn Jose the rates are reasonable and if you pay cash they discount your rate. Its in a very quiet and safe neighborhood. The staff is very helpful they can arrange tours or provide you with information about costa Rica. Breakfast is served Daily and it is very Delicious. The rooms are cleaned daily. Also there is a pool if you like to go swimming or relax and get a suntan. This Hotel has everthing you need including a Electronic safe. The Hotel front desk is gluent In English as well as Spanish. its very close where you need to go there are Taxi everwhere or you can hop on a bus. There is a Subway and a Burger king within walking distance next to Sabana Park

Room Tip: if your traveling solo or as a couple the Standard room is big Enough with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj5627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Four of us stayed here four times during our trip and it was wonderful. We used it as our hub to venture out on tours to six locations around Costa Rica. We left our big suitcases here and they took great care of us. The rooms were very clean and roomy. The food was great and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The location is centralized. Easy to get to good restaurants, San Jose sites, a large grocery store within a few blocks, and a safe neighborhood. Wonderful value!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building (like 222) are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegogoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I booked blind based on reviews here and it was our best accommodation in Costa Rica (from 5 places we stayed in during our visit to CR). We (2 couples) stayed in a standard 2 bedroom suite. The kitchen is adequately stocked and the fridge is big. The beds are pretty comfortable and there is lots of room for hanging up clothes if staying a while. There are places to eat nearby like the trusty Rosti Pollos. The supermarket is 15-20 mins walk away. Staff are friendly and speak good English. The breakfast is fresh and varied. You can have gallo pinto, fruit, cereal, drinking yoghurt, bread, tea, juice, coffee, etc. I would have tried out the pool (cleaned daily) but December is a little colder in San Jose. The Plaza de la Cultura is 2,500 (or $5) by taxi. Recommended.

Room Tip: Not on a busy road and don't expect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
2.9 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.9 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Property: Apartotel Suites Cristina
Address: Norte del Ice 300 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,041 - ₹ 6,721
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel Suites Cristina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport(SJO) to hotel transportation, and we charge US$5 from hotel to the Airport, both services must be booked with us. Free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartotel Suites Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing