We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
537
446
96
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
446
96
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing breakfast costa rica the main hotel made to order omelets breakfast buffet superior room tropical garden quiet neighborhood common areas only stayed one night hotel in san jose pollo nooks annex downtown neighborhoods barrio
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

I've lived in Costa Rica for over a dozen years. When I need a recommendation I trust other expats to share the skinny. Recently, I had to stay overnight in the downtown area and 6 people recommended this little hotel. The hotel is funky and unique. It's charming with its cultural sculptures, photos, and even architecture. If you're looking for modern, sterile, expensive, and elitist don't choose this hotel. The hotel staff is friendly, accommodating, and happy. They have the best breakfast in town in a garden setting. The rooms are likely all different but ours was small, quiet, clean and comfy. This isn't the Ritz but it is genuinely Costa Rican. The best thing about Costa Rica is her people. Let the staff charm you. Good value all around.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Manager at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's an honor for us to read that at Hotel Aranjuez you felt the joy of Costa Rica and its culture. Our hotel is decorated with sculptures, photos, "mascaradas" and different types of art made by Costa Rican people because our idea is to support . Also, our gardens are a true example of the nature we have in the country and how important it is to preserve it. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Unique hotel made out of 5 old houses and full of wooden masks, giant puppets and jungle plants everywhere. San Jose hotels never seem to have bottled water, so that was a disappointment to me, but I just kept buying bottles from the little shop. (The tap water doesn't agree with me.)
Staff was great, if overworked.
The breakfast was gorgeous, the best I've ever seen and atmosphere was beautiful with jungle vegetation growing tall and wild over the deck.
I paid $54 plus tax for a clean, comfortable room with a huge bathroom and lovely big shower.

Room Tip: The wooden masks and huge puppets started to give me a creepy vibe.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank austin2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you very much for your comment! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in our eco-friendly Hotel. The Hotel Aranjuez is a fusion of 5 old houses and is decorated with paintings and sculptures made by Costa Rican artists. In this way, we try to offer our guests an authentic Costa Rican home experience, that we hope, they'll never forget. We care much for cleanliness, that's why we work with the best Eco-friendly cleaning products. Guests can rest assure that the room was cleaned following the strictest cleaning processes. Our buffet breakfast, is served, as you mention, in our relaxing terrace, sorrounded by tropical vegetation. In the terrace located near the Reception, we offer cold water. We hope that you'll visit us again in the very near future. ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We stayed at Hotel Aranjuez for our first night in Costa Rica. It situated right in the middle of San Jose, but you feel like you are in the jungle. The hotel is clean and well kept, with beautiful gardens. Our room was clean and well-kept. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was absolutely incredible - a massive spread in a courtyard filled with plants and trees.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shealyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Shealyn:
Thank you very much for considering Hotel Aranjuez "a confortable escape in the heart of San José". Like you mentioned, Hotel Aranjuez is located near historical landmarks as National and Jade Musseum among others. Near the hotel, our clients can enjoy the variety and quality of the Paseo Gastronómico La Luz, a neighbourhood full of restaurants and bars. We invite our guests to check the map of the city that we offer by free or downloud the 3 maps from our website. The buffet breakfast is one of our strengths. All the food is prepared in artisanal way. We hope that the cozy atmosphere of Hotel Aranjuez and our breakfast will remain in your memory as "an authentic Costa Rican lodging experience". We hope you visit us once again in the very short future! ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Was recommended in our guidebook. Unfortunately it's not particularly central and, as a result, we had to get taxis everywhere which was expensive. The room itself was quite basic (budget double room), and the bathroom door didn't close properly which wasn't ideal.

The hotel restaurant was the only one recommended by the receptionist when asked and we, along with several other diners, waited for about an hour before being served what was expensive but basic food, not ideal for allergy sufferers (fiancee is gluten free). We asked several times about how long our food would take and were told 5 minutes on each occasion .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jberringer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear jberringer1: At Hotel Aranjuez we have offer types of rooms at the main building and at the anex. With a little bathroom, the Budget rooms are the best option for those who seeks a beautiful place at a very good price. If your searching for bigger rooms, we have the Standard, Superior and Superior Plus and Deluxe rooms, each with characteristics that will make your stay at Hotel Aranjuez, unique. About our location, we are centraly located between National and Jade Musseum (7 blocks ahead) and the Gastronomical Center La Luz (more than 22 food options between coffee places, al type of restaurants, bars and entertainment spots). Guest can check all the informations in the map we provide by free or downlaud the maps from our website. Make sure that we are improving the serving time in the Café. ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived in San José, with jetlag and a 3 and 5 year old. Perfect hotel, locatie and excellent breakfast with view! The setup of the hotel is a very nice integration of traditional middleclass houses.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Gerhard: We much appreciate your review. As you mention,we have a great location that sits back off San José Downtown (we're at just 10 minutes walking from the center) so there is no outside noise coming from the city. Also, we work with much care for offering to our clients a surprising morning start. For that reason,we serve a memorable breakfast, plenty of fresh and natural options, all bought to local producers and prepared in artisanal way. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews