We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Friendly staff and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ridgway Hostel
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great value and staff is friendly the location is safe and near to the fun Places in San Jose. A quiet place with a clean kitchen for client use.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpzml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

It’s a good thing our shuttle bus driver knew where Casa Ridgway is located, because neither the address nor this hostel’s online map would have brought us to its front door. We were dismayed our reservation had been recorded incorrectly and a private room was not available for our first night, despite e-mail confirmation; fortunately a dorm room was empty and made available to us. The error was blamed on the fact much of the front desk work is done by volunteers. We stayed three nights, and over that time, despite signage that indicates the laundry is available for use for a fee, it was either being used by staff, or there was no water, or we were simply told to ask someone else – not all of the volunteers coming and going were able to answer questions or “authorize” use of the washing machine, so we ended up taking it with us to our next destination. We were also never sure who was a volunteer, staff member, or fellow traveller – name tags would be a good idea. WiFi signal only in the front entrance area. But these are minor although important observations; the morning breakfast was satisfying, we were happy with the private room we had for night two and three, and we appreciate the good work being done by the Quaker group running the hostel. There is an extensive although dated peace and justice-themed library, computers for traveller use, and the volunteers are friendly if not always completely helpful. The hostel is close to the national museum and not far from the downtown core and other museums and attractions.

Room Tip: Double check your reservations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Staying at a cheap place does not necessarily mean that you cannot expect quality. One of my previous reviews (like Luz en el Cielo) shows that you can have a great stay for a low cost. But Casa Ridgway is not about quality. Yes they have a nice library, internetcomputers and very friendly staff. But the dorm-room smelled like a moisty refridgerator. The beds were not stable, though sort of comfortable.

There is a silence-policy between 10 pm and 6 am. But as a mom with a baby stayed here while I was there, silence was a relative word. Also the men that woke up during the night, wanted to talk (maybe about their prostate-troubles) without remembering the silence-request.

So 1 night is a max for a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I spent several days at Casa Ridgway in June 2011. Casa Ridgway is a small guest house operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Quaker Peace Center). It's not fancy, but it's cosy and situated on a quiet street near the center of town. It you are traveling on a budget and love to meet people from all over the world that's the place to go . The rooms are simple and you need to share bathrooms, but the staff is wonderful, and there is a communal kitchen where you can cook. We have wonderful memories of the place and the people we met there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Casa Ridgway is a humble but VERY hospitable and affordable residence for visitors to San Jose, Costa Rica. I recommend it highly for its knowledgeable and accommodating staff, casual atmosphere, and outstanding location in the heart of San Jose. Guests are within walking distance of museums, shopping, government buildings, banks, and restaurants. Casa Ridgway serves wonderful Costa Rican coffee with its Continental breakfast. Be sure to take a few bags of coffee home to please your family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms before settling in to be sure you have the one that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 km away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#46 of 78 in San Jose
91 reviews
2.0 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
295 reviews
0.4 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa Leon
Hotel Casa Leon
#29 of 78 in San Jose
127 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostel Shakti
Hostel Shakti
#52 of 79 in San Jose
38 reviews
0.1 km away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#9 of 79 in San Jose
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ridgway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ridgway Hostel

Address: Calle 15 | between Av . 6 and 8, San Jose 10104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 1,042 - ₹ 3,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ridgway is a small guest house located in San Jose, Costa Rica. It is operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Center of Friends for Peace). We are situated on a quiet street near the center of town, conveniently located near many popular attractions and activities. The guest house offers private rooms and dormitory bedrooms with shared bathrooms, at modest prices. A communal kitchen and patio-dining area are available to all guests. A unique feature of our rooms is that they are each in the process of being dedicated to a peace activist. Some of these activists include: Archbishop Oscar Romero, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Linus Pauling, Anne Frank, Chief Seattle, Aung San Sun Kyi, Leo Tolstoy, and George Bernard Shaw. In addition to supporting the operation of CAP, Casa Ridgway welcomes people from all over the world, and promotes peace through hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ridgway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ridgway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing