We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird, weird place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ridgway Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ridgway Hostel
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Weird, weird place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Ok, the place is weird....This place made me feel like I was in an AA meeting. Guys in and out all the time. It is a hostel but just had a weird feel.
They are nice the place is clean. They have a cat that comes in your window in the middle of the night.
They have free brakfast and coffee.
Not bad but not good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Hello,

It is important to know that we are an NGO promoting cultures of peace and that the adjacent building is the hostel.

We host and let our partners host meetings. We regularly have central american indiginous movements, costa rica human rights groups, meetings about the honduran refugee situation, the women's internatlonal league for peace...

I am sorry to hear that you have had that impression. We have recently posted documents in the rooms explaining what our NGO is about. We encourage our guests to come talk to the staff about the activities we host so people don't extrapolate or get the wrong idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
15
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stayed here on two separate occasions while I was traveling throughout Costa Rica. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place. I arrived late at night during my first stay, but they had a friendly and accommodating receptionist who told me all I needed to know about the hostel. In the morning I ate the complementary breakfast at the hostel. It was sufficient, but if you would like a larger breakfast I recommend going to one of the small restaurants around the hostel. The staff will happily tell you a good and cheap place to eat. All of the rooms are dedicated to peace makers and revolutionaries, which adds I nice spin to the accommodation. The hostel has free wireless access for its guests, as well as a large free library. Overall, I would recommend this hostel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmac745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Our hosts in Puerto Viejo suggested we stay here. The receptionist was just wonderful - took us around to a cheap, good Tico restaurant, answered all our questions. We selected the Mahatma Gandhi room. It was neat, with an eastern-facing window, quiet and roomy.
I used their ancient but fast internet and Yehudah accessed wi-fi on his laptop. A few blocks away is the Center Democacia with a whole line of arts and crafts shops we shopped at our final morning. We easily caught taxis to go to the bus station and airport. We had stayed at Hostel Pangea, much more for the younger set, but my partner really didn't like the windowless room (like a cell) and the noise and smoke in the restaurant. So this was better for him. My only complaint was that the breakfast was one piece of fruit and three pieces of bread with some refried beans slathered on each - plus a cup of tea of coffee - not particularly appetizing. We were told there might be eggs, so we were disappointed. My advice is to stay there and have breakfast around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hummingbird5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

As we arrived, we were given the key to our room and told its location. The lady behind the desk did not bother to show us bathrooms, shower rooms or offer any advice on services provided.
Reached the room to find it filthy, when we told the lady she came with a broom and swept the floor, leaving everything else. Despite advertising hot showers, all the water was cold. At breakfast, Tea was requested and they said why dont we drink coffee instead, as they had none.
Communication was poor and the people unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyeWeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a good reception experience. Some nights we have volunteers from the NGO help at the front desk and it is possible that was the case.

We have been restructuring Casa Ridgway in order to have a more constant service. We do have tea for breakfast and we have fixed all our shower heads in order to correct the water heating problem.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

What a terrible place! We were late and tired, so we didn't have much choice. The lady from the hostel was very grumpy when we arrived, but the next day she was more helpfull. The rooms did not look very bad at first sight, but after a while there appeared to be many cockroaches and other crawling animals.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsterdamno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Yes Costa Rica the most biodiverse country in the world... The good and the bad. We regularly call the exterminator to get rid of these pesky neighbors. I have mentioned this problem to our comission board and we will double up the efforts to treat the problem where previous exterminators might have failed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.2 km away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#48 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.3 km away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 104 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hostel Shakti
Hostel Shakti
#54 of 79 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 km away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#33 of 79 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 km away
Kaps Place
Kaps Place
#2 of 67 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ridgway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ridgway Hostel

Property: Casa Ridgway Hostel
Address: Calle 15 | between Av . 6 and 8, San Jose 10104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 983 - ₹ 2,489
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ridgway is a small guest house located in San Jose, Costa Rica. It is operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Center of Friends for Peace). We are situated on a quiet street near the center of town, conveniently located near many popular attractions and activities. The guest house offers private rooms and dormitory bedrooms with shared bathrooms, at modest prices. A communal kitchen and patio-dining area are available to all guests. A unique feature of our rooms is that they are each in the process of being dedicated to a peace activist. Some of these activists include: Archbishop Oscar Romero, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Linus Pauling, Anne Frank, Chief Seattle, Aung San Sun Kyi, Leo Tolstoy, and George Bernard Shaw. In addition to supporting the operation of CAP, Casa Ridgway welcomes people from all over the world, and promotes peace through hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ridgway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing