We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Grano de Oro Hotel is an amazing place to stay. Although the location isn't the greatest in San Jose - it certainly is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in - I would definitely recommend it and come back.

The hotel looks like an old victorian home - and had a nice, European feel to it.
The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. I would also highly recommend eating at the restaurant here, the food was absolutely awesome. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner here and were impressed with all of them. It rained most of the time we were there, but we were still able to sit outside under cover in the courtyard for our meals.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,245 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I spent a few days at Grano de Oro. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room (least expensive) was a decent size and very clean. The restaurant was excellent. My only complaint was that there weren't many other restaurants in the area, but once we discovered how cheap it is to take a taxi in San Jose, we were fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We chose this hotel after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed there on our last night before flying out very early the next morning to the USA. I thought the hotel was a lot closer to the airport, but it was a $20- $25 cab ride! We got to the hotel late, after taking the public bus from Manuel Antonio to the San Jose Airport (we were advised to get off there because the Coke bus station was too dangerous for two women at night). I was disappointed that the hotel wasn't as close to the airport as I thought. The restaurant was very, very nice-- but way too overpriced for what we wanted. there wasn't anything nearby we could go to. If you have an early flight out I'd recommend staying at the Hampton Inn right by the airport-- it is a little cheaper and has a free shuttle to the airport. I stayed there on my way into the country and it was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weez173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We had a very, very early flight out the next morning (7:30 am) so we stayed at the Grano de Oro so that we would be close to the airport. Initially, we thought we would also like to check out San Jose itself, after spending 5 days in Jaco and 2 days at Arenal. Seriously, don't bother with San Jose, BUT if you need to be close to the airport, I would highly recommend Grano de Oro as a really nice oasis in the middle of a slum-ish city.

As for the hotel itself, its just fine. We got there at about 2:00 and immediately went to lunch at a nice little Soda around the corner which was delicious (Soda Tilapa, or something. Ask the hotel). Not wanting to leave the safe confines of the hotel again, we booked dinner at the hotel at 8:00, and went to our room to relax. There is free internet in all the rooms, which is a plus, but soon we were bored so we went to the roof deck to enjoy the hot tubs. These were really nice. But to be honest, there isn't anything more to do here.

There is a spa, but it is so small that it can only accomodate one person at a time so either you and your partner have to go separately, or no one goes. We went for the latter option. The hotel doesn't have any other entertainment (ie no pool table, ping pong, etc). So we ended up buying a pack of cards in the gift shop and playing cards and drinking in the restaurant for a few hours before dinner time. It was fine. Knowing the surroundings of the hotel though, I would have appreciated some additional in-hotel entertainment.

As for the room, it was fine. We got the standard room, which was a little small but as we were only staying there one night it was good for us. One pet peeve of mine though was that the hotel did not give you your own soap, shampoo, or lotion. Instead, they had gym-style dispensers on the wall of the shower. I mean really? I know this is a way to cut costs, but it just comes off as tacky in a hotel set inside a victorian style mansion.

Lastly, the dinner. Oy. I wonder if people rating this food have ever eaten anywhere else. The food is okay. We ordered the tasting menu ($65/person) and it was certainly nothing to rave about. My dishes were fine, but my partners were pretty close to terrible. The wine list was also extremely overpriced, and it was $7 per small bottle for bottled water. We remarked during dinner that we should have gone back to the Soda.

One extreme possitive, was that the staff was very friendly and overly helpful. Their front desk is staffed 24/7 and they really do everything possible to look after your every need (including pulling your car around front, greeting you with umbrellas at your car, etc).

Overall, it was a fine experience. This hotel I'm sure is 5 star for San Jose, but for real life, it doesn't meet that high of a mark.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenasurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed at the Grano de Oro due to having an early flight out. What an unbelievable, unexpected treat! The hotel is beautiful and quaint. The surrounding city is sketchy but the hotel is a nice little oasis, we felt completely safe and we loved the charm of the hotel.

You absolutely MUST try the restaurant. It is advertised as one of the best in San Jose and it lives up to its reputation. I'm not one to be overly impressed by food, but the service was impeccable, the dishes were creative and flavorful, and the restaurant, like the hotel it is in, is exquisite.

We tried out the roof top spa/hot tub which was a nice way to relax at the end of our trip. If you are looking for a place to stay the night you arrive or the night before you leave Costa Rica, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o2bapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,561 reviews
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
944 reviews
7.8 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.9 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 10,701 - ₹ 22,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing