We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in the heart of San Jose.”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in the heart of San Jose.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent a week at the Hotel Preidente. It is small but very special. Located right on the central avenue pedestrian boulevard. Hotel is upgrading the rooms with wi-fi. They were able to put a router in our room because we have IPads. The staff is friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guffeyman.

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear staff was willing to help. We hope you can come back to visit our city and hopefully be able to use the new WiFi. At your service,

Katherine Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    603
    140
    28
    16
See reviews for
219
685
129
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed here the first three nights of my trip. It is wonderful hotel, very centrally located. For those that may be concerned with safety, both sides of the lobby are guarded. I never felt unsafe, either in the hotel or walking around San Jose (although I didn't do it in the evening other than walking to the retaurant). The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are arriving into San Jose in the evening, have the hotel pick you up. The price they charge is only a little more than a taxi. I had read that it was about $25 for a cab, the hotel charged $30. For the extra $5, the drive was waiting, we didn't have to hassle with the onslaught of cabbies and there was much appreciated bottled water waiting for us. After a long flight & customs - it was the best $5 I'd spent in a while.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IxChel3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear IxChel33,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We had been sending drivers with cold bottles of water to wait for our customers for a long time and this is the first time I hear that was useful so good to know and so, we will continue sending them. San Jose as any capital city must be strolled taking care of all your belongings, but it is not a violent city so great you enjoyed the time in the city. Be welcome any time soon! Cordially,

Katherine Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We didn't plan to get to San-Jose in our trip, but our backpacks got stolen with all of our money and travel documents, so we had to get to the capital. Hotel Presidente was our favorite place in San-Jose. Rooms are nice and clean, very good breakfast to start the day, and free internet. It's one of the few places you can feel safe in San-Jose, and they have secured parking place. To top it all - the staff is very nice and helpful, especially the hotel manager Katherine who helped us arranging our documents and money, so we could continue our trip. When she heard we are on our honeymoon, she immediately upgraded our room to the honeymoon sweet, with no charge. The hotel also have prime location, in the center of city, not far from the national theater, and have good restaurants around.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Hi Adi&Sheyla,

It is nice hearing from you, thanks for the nice review. I hope at the end of all, you keep more good memories of your honey moon that bad ones, it was a real pleasure being of help. Believe me, we enjoyed your smiles, just as you did with the Suite upgrade because it was embarrassing hearing a foreign honeymoon couple on that situation. Hope you a happy and long live together!

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I don't have nothing bad to say about this place, me am my new wife stayed there at the end of our honeymoon the day before departing Costa Rica to the U.S. I thought for the price the room as a bit empty in decore, but other than that everything else was great. We stayed at the Grand Spa King, great bed, great bathroom, the couch no so much. We love the location, right on Avenida Central, so everything you needed was within walking distance...Lots of parks and plazas close. The staff was more than great, free buffet breakfast was great. Free Parking...Like I said, my only problem, but I wouldn't call it a problem was the room decor and the sofas not being comfortable... but this are things we can live with. Another plus for this hotel, the Balconies, they weren't huge but enough to stand out there looking at the beautiful city...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morsisuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Morsisuyo,

Congratulations on your wedding, I am glad our hotel was part of your honeymoon and the experience was good. Your suggestions are really appreciated, décor and more comfortable coaches for sofas are now on my list of “to dos” for next room improvements. My best wishes,

Katherine Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lebanon, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

First of all this was my favorite Hotel in San Jose. The open air restaurant with thousands of people walking by in the morning was a kickstart to the fabulous experience downtown. This restaurant is now gone and will be leased out to a cell phone store (yeah). I was also told that only family members were allowed to my room. I wish this hotel had updated their website about the restaurant. The amount of people there were about half as normally should of been there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Avenida Central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesm779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCarterL, General Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear james m,

I am sorry you liked it more before and I know we have guests that miss the old restaurant, but changes were evaluated to fulfill the needs of a majority, most of our customers are out of the hotel during day time on the adventure or nature tours –maybe that is why you felt there are less customers- and come back at evening willing to know the city so most of them eat out. Under that scenario our food and beverage operation is focused on providing a real good free buffet breakfast that can be enjoyed by all, although lunch and dinner is also available at the new Cafeteria, that was set up close to the lobby to provide people converging. All updated information can be found on our website since May 2011. The same happened with visitors policy, we must establish that only guests can be welcome to room areas as our desire is to provide a family and respectful atmosphere and many of the visitors did not let us run the hotel that way, so the new policy was implemented and posted on Internet channels. Thank you very much sharing our hotel was your favorite and for the continuous patronage during the past years, I hope you can also enjoy our new facilities. At your service,

Katherine Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
2.9 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.1 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,233 reviews
9.4 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 9,172
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing