We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Palacio in San Jose”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Barcelo Palacio in San Jose”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was a nice hotel to stay at. Friendly staff and good service. They had very large comfortable, clean rooms. The included breakfast buffet was wonderful--we stayed 5 nights and looked forward to the morning buffet. You could try many local dishes including tamales, different rice dishes, plantains, eggs any way you want them, fresh fruits and juices. The hotel had a large garden through which you could stroll and hear countless parakeets, see plants, flowers and many trees --really nicely done. The pool area was large--but because of San Jose altitude water was brisk. There was a grill by the pool area. Only negatives were that hotel was somewhat far from city and you had to take a cab everywhere. Food was quite expensive. But the hotel offered a free airport shuttle which was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Volcanoes towards the Atlantic side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive a warm Greeting on behalf of all the staff and management at Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel.

Your testimony of satisfied customer is very important to us, we are truly grateful for your comments.

I hope that we can serve you again at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or any other Barcelo Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,



Mónica Arrieta
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    499
    248
    78
    71
See reviews for
228
432
107
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were here our first two nights on a Caravan tour. This was supposed to be a glorious hotel - the grounds are, if you like a long walk to the pool. Bring your own soda as a can of 7-up was $3.00 (no vending machines). The bathroom needed some bleach and better cleaning. Our first nights buffet was great, the second night way too many people and it was very disappointing. As other said, there is nothing you can walk to here, but you don't see some of the poverty of the country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
¡ Greetings from the Barcelo San Jose Palacio!

On behalf of the Staff of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio we thank you for answering the Trip Advisor´s Survey.

The comments from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. We will follow-up on the areas of services that you outlined to us.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Your continued patronage is the utmost importance; we remain at your disposal for any other comments or suggestions you may have.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely



Mónica Arrieta
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

When we opened the door to the room the odor was like a sewer. We opened the window and door and the tropical winds made short work of the staleness, Views from the upper floors are woderful. No further odors. We were part of a Caravan guided tour and recieved the attentive care any other hotel occupant. Food for our tour was buffet style and very good. However dont be on the tail end of the buffet time because the food becomes a little dry and sparse. Main Bar was lacking in service. Server had litle knowledge of english and our spanish carried the eve. Pool bar was great with food amenities in addition to towel service. Needless to say we closed it. Good taxi service to downtown.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel facing the new stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim11502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
¡ Greetings from the Barcelo San Jose Palacio!

On behalf of the Staff of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio we thank you for answering the Trip Advisor´s Survey.

I must express to you my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay and also we also thank for you positive observations.

It is through your comments, that we can enhance our staff training to avoid these incidents in order to maintain our high standards that are synonymous of Barcelo Hotels & Resorts.

Thanks for choosing Barcelo group, your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,



Mónica Arrieta
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The lobby and common areas are nice looking. However, the rooms smell absolutely nasty- they smell stale. I wanted to leave and go somewhere else but we did not know the city at all and therefore we ended up staying. The carpets looked nasty as well.

The restaurant dinner buffet was also subpar looking. We ordered from the menu- the burger was out of a frozen patty and was quite awful.

I would not stay at such a hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasudha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

¡ Greetings from Barcelo San Jose Palacio!

On behalf of all the Staff and Management of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio we’d like thank you for answering the Trip Advisor´s Survey.

We want to thank you for letting us the opportunity to share all your comments with the management team and we are sorry that our Hotel did not fulfill your expectations.

Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards and we will follow-up on the areas of services that you outlined to us.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to get involved to secure your loyalty and regain back your confidence.

I hope that we can serve you again soon at the San Jose Palacio or at any other Barcelo Hotels and Resorts.

Sincerely,



Mónica Arrieta
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Walburg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We started our 10 vacation with 2 nights at this wonderful hotel; the room was large and well appointed. Breakfast was amazing; staff was helpful. Since we were sightseeing most of the day we did not dine at this hotel. We enjoyed a glass of wine with friends in the grand hotel lounge and walked through the hotel park to take in the sights, sounds, scents and colors of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the Staff and Management of the Barcelo San Jose Palacio we’d like thank you for answering the Trip Advisor´s Survey.

Your testimony of satisfaction as a Hotel Guest from San Jose Palacio is very important to us and we are truly grateful for your comments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and I hope that we can serve you again at the Barceló San Jose Palacio or any other Barcelo Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,



Mónica Arrieta
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.5 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,457 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
3.3 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
2.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,640 - ₹ 10,319
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing