We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in paradise”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oasis in paradise”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Everything about this hotel was receptive to guests. Very friendly atmosphere with excellent, personal and professional service. My room was clean , quiet and I especially appreciated the raised jacuzzi with a slide into the cool pool. good gym beside pool also. and the front desk staff were very helpful with info about the city. A really great place to arrive in Costa Rica or to wait for a plane to depart. very good location.

Room Tip: i personally like the balcony, sounds of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    330
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
157
392
171
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed in some very expensive hotels. In most cases their staff act like snobs and stock holders. I could not afford them anyway. Santo Tomas is in my price range and, in my opinion, one of the friendliest and with all the things I like. Clean, great food, lots of coffee, and a chef and staff with a lot of pride. They have the local knowlege and can arrange any tours. There are banks, pharmacies, and other merchants within walking distance. There are no hookers hanging around but If you are into the wild side there are nightclubs within 6 or 8 blocks. The Hotel Santo Tomas is my second home in Costa Rica and you can find me there on my next visit. EM

Room Tip: Newer rooms on upper floor, some with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieSalem-OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Situated in an old house, it has some colonial charm.
Our bed sheet were extremely dirty at arrival

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Bonjouir LeClyde, thanks for your review of the hotel. I have traced your one nights stay in the hotel and have had meetings with the cleaning and maintenance staff to reenforce our procedures and policies. The cleaning staff member has been been reprimanded by writing and this is now in his employee file. He states his innocence , but that is not acceptable. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please rest assured that I will beef up my room inspections. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Santo Tomas. The staff and the owner Thomas were great to help us with arranging for a rental car to be delivered to the hotel, exchanging money for us and storing our extra luggage while we travelled to Tortuguero. The dinner and breakfast was decent, as was the bar. Had fun sitting in the jacuzzi. The rooms were clean and roomy. The hotel is very close to the museums and the pedestrian only shopping district in the center of town. The onyl negative was that they lost our reservation for our second night and had to give us a less expensive room. I would recommend this hotel as a a great place to stay if you want to be near downtown. Keep in mind, you will hear street noise, traffic, horns, sirens, but it was largely ignorable. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Stayed in both a balcony room and a regular room. The balcony was better, we had a view of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I found the hotel to be clean and the staff courteous. I really enjoyed the architectural details and the beautiful wood furniture and flooring. The only issue that we seemed to encounter was a car alarm that kept going off at odd hours of the night/early morning, but that is probably a one off event and is something outside of the hotels control. Thus, I will plan on coming back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
2.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
875 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
9.2 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,070 - ₹ 7,041
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing