We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I wish every hotel could be this great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I wish every hotel could be this great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica and I've never been so pleased with a hotel. I was hesitant at first, but after some convincing from my boyfriend, we booked it. The clerks were friendly, check in was quick, and the room was completely updated and very clean.

The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and roomy. The pillows and blankets made it feel like sleeping on a cloud. The only thing bad about this hotel is that ever since I have compared other hotels to it--and I've never been quite as pleased.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we could not be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will come back again!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    258
    163
    50
    35
See reviews for
87
220
83
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The rooms were worn. There was mold in multiple spots in the bathroom. Service sucked. And heaven forbid you want to buy a soda!

Room Tip: Another hotel~
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0eyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Management Company at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
We are very sorry your bathroom had mold in several spots. We are meticulous about the cleanliness of our hotel and there should not have been any in your bathroom and for that we are truly sorry. Not sure what was the issue with your soda order, but we sell a lot of them!

We promise to take very good care of the people you recommend to us so they can come back and thank you for your recommendation.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I arrived late on a Saturday night and I was leaving early in the morning. Otherwise, I would have asked for another room. It had a bleach plus something else odor. The windows don't open & the AC didn't help. The bathroom was brand new & nice. The room, nothing special,
Breakfast was $15.00 pp. All I wanted was coffee & it was $2.00. This price in a coffee producing country. Absurd. I told the nice waitress that I didn't want it. She let me keep the coffee without charge.
The customer service was very good & check in was quick. The doormen polite. I would have to say the staff is their strong suite. btw, even the breakfast area in the Lobby had the "odor"
I sat outside on a bench to drink my coffee & wait for my ride. I paid $90. for the room with a United Airlines discount.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Management Company at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We wish we could have done a better job with your experience and are very sorry your room had a strong odor. We would have been happy to have moved you to another room. Unfortunately with a high rise hotel, for safety reasons, the windows do not open but we can appreciate your discomfort with not being able to get any fresh air. We are not sure what odor you noticed in the room and the lobby as we don't get complaints about "bleach odors". As for your coffee, we do offer complimentary BRITT coffee in our guest rooms so our guests can fresh brew their own coffee in the morning. We are glad our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay and we hope you will stay with us again!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed there at the beginning and the end of our trip to Costa Rica. We were impressed with this hotel, our room super clean and with a fantastic view, the staff very polite and helpful. One of the nights we ordered Tipical Costa Rican food from Room Service. Everything Perfect, the food really yummy and the Room Service Attendant was professional and friendly.
The breakfast included a lot of food, buffet style. We booked earlier and we got a good rate for the room. Not Expensive.
If you travel to Costa Rica, and you need to stop at San Jose, keep in mind this Amazing Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent three nights here and was very impressed with this hotel in downtown San Jose. Its facilities are very nice and the service great. We were always greeted by Rinetta and David at the front desk or upstairs on the executive floor, and their hospitality and assistance could not be better! Convenient location to the (limited) sights, good breakfast buffet with the room, and nice snacks/drinks in the executive lounge. Everything works, so just relax and enjoy. The El Mirador restaurant is overpriced, but you get lots of atmosphere with the vista.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22explorer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Driftwood Hospitality Management at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy you had a wonderful stay with us! Our staff at the front desk was very pleased when we read your review to them!

We are working on improving El Mirador. The ambience is wonderful and with our new General Manager, we are improving every day!

Please come visit us again soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
2.8 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,780 - ₹ 10,014
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing