We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Top-notch facilities and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top-notch facilities and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent three nights here and was very impressed with this hotel in downtown San Jose. Its facilities are very nice and the service great. We were always greeted by Rinetta and David at the front desk or upstairs on the executive floor, and their hospitality and assistance could not be better! Convenient location to the (limited) sights, good breakfast buffet with the room, and nice snacks/drinks in the executive lounge. Everything works, so just relax and enjoy. The El Mirador restaurant is overpriced, but you get lots of atmosphere with the vista.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22explorer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Driftwood Hospitality Management at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy you had a wonderful stay with us! Our staff at the front desk was very pleased when we read your review to them!

We are working on improving El Mirador. The ambience is wonderful and with our new General Manager, we are improving every day!

Please come visit us again soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    258
    165
    52
    35
See reviews for
89
222
83
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Excellent rooms, views, fitness facilities, great for business and or leisure! In the center of San Jose! I truly enjoyed my stay specially with the awesome internet rates they offer. So if in business in San Jose, I highly recommend! Also walking distance to San Jose landmarks like the National Theater!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrferreras100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Management Company at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for choosing us during your recent stay in San Jose. We appreciate your business and am very happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities and great rates! Please be sure to stay with us again the next time you are in San Jose for business or pleasure!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I was reluctant to book this hotel because I normally stay at one of two other franchise hotels, but the location and reviews sold me, so I took a chance. I was extremely frustrated with this hotel because I tried confirm my reservation twice prior to arrival and got no response. Both emails to the hotel went unanswered and I was not in a part of the world where I could call. Finally I was able to call when I arrived in Tamarindo for the first of two weeks I planned to spend in Costa Rica on vacation and they had no record of my reservation. Go figure. Then they said they found it, but completely disregarded the notes/special requests. Got it all straight upon arrival, but the hotel did not have shuttle service from Tobias Airport for domestic flights. I was just frustrated because it all could have been avoided if they communicated with their customers. Hotel lobby is gorgeous. Rooms are niced, although my room had stained carpet. Other than that, the facility was fine. The breakfast buffet was average. Mostly they served the same food every day. That gets boring and quite honestly the food wasn't that great. I went to buy a bottle of water one day from the restaurant and the lady immediately said they were $3.00 a piece. I half jokingly mentioned that I thought that was a little steep, but it must be some great water. She immediately adjusted he price to $2.00. I didn't appreciate that very much because I didn't expect the to receive the infamous "multi tiered" pricing at the Holiday Inn which is typically found throughout CR and is determined by your nationality? It seems like the rule is always to get whatever and as much as you can from the foreigners. The front desk folks are helpful, but act like they don't want to be. Bit of an attitude. The bell hops (in green uniforms) are very good and always willing to offer help or advice. They actually act like great concierge's. But the best employee at this entire hotel was by far a woman named Yoisi. If you order room service in the evening she will probably be the eager, bright faced, happy, delightful employee who delivers your food with a smile and friendly greeting. Quite refreshing compared to some of the other complacent employees working here. She should be promoted and put in charge of customer relations. She could certainly teach a lot of folks here something about customer service!! Incidentally, the best food I had he was through room service. Great tropical club sandwich!

Overall, my stay wasn't bad... It just wasn't great and was not what I'm accustom to. Too many glum faces looking at you suspiciously, not making the guests feel welcome. Great beds and pillows!

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your reservation before you get here or you may be out of luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Friends and I went a day early before our tour of Costa Rica with Caravan so we could see the attractions in San Jose. The hotel was in walking distance of all the places we wanted to see. The last night of our tour we stayed here also, but returned too late to see much of San Jose so we were glad we went a day early. The hotel staff was wonderful and I had a corner room both times with a great view of the park across the street. The food in the restaurant was good also. I would recommend it because of its location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegeterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Management Company at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We love hosting the Caravan guests and am just sorry you did not have more time to explore our exciting city! Please come see us again!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Although the neighborhood has deteriorared some (especifically after hours), thos hotel continues to provide beauty, comfort and safety. It is an old hotel that maintains very very well. Elegant, clean, and very well habitable. Forget the image of the old Holiday Inn at this place. It is a luxurious and well kept Holiday Inn and a fantastic rates.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongocuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Management Company at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Wow! what a great review! You have made our team very happy today with your kind words! We try so hard to make every guest feel special and when we get it right, we are pleased!

Please come see us again!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.8 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
2.3 km away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,683 - ₹ 10,295
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing