We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Casa Colon
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at casa colon for one night and i was just awed by the niceness of the staff especially Asayla. The place is clean and rooms are elegant. the only drawback is the room right next to the main road. It quite noisy anytime of the day.
But oveall, a budget stay with exquisite experience.

Room Tip: do not take room 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ercru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    90
    50
    11
    18
See reviews for
20
75
82
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed twice on our recent trip (arriving and departing). Very clean, nice decor and great spaces to hang out with others. Our room for the first night was spacious and clean, but a lot of street noise-ear plugs were a great help. Staff was kind and helpful when asked. Our second night was a small upstairs room. This room was very quiet, but really small which makes the common areas essential. I don't think the other rooms are this small. Close walk to bus. Hot showers with good pressure. Basic free breakfast, with coffee, tea. There is a computer available for Internet if you don't have a laptop and they let us print our boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place is beautiful, I am here as I type waiting for my chicken fingers, will let you know how they are...:) This place is a 3 dollar cab from the bus stations, it is a gorgeous old colononial house, Costa Rica style turned into a hotel....OK the chicken fingers were some of the best I have ever had, I also had my eye on the homemade cheese sticks, the menu looked awesome with good prices... Everybody was really friendly and because there is a gorgeous cafe attached some locals were here enjoying a game of football which made for a really nice environment...I am staying in a back room away from the road so it is very quiet and because this place is new and low season I am in a dorm room alone for 14 dollars...the dorm room is great really homey and beautiful....I think this is my new favorite San Jose hostel.....Huge screen TV, a few actually, lots of couches everywhere, wifi, The place is incredible....:) This secret wont be kept for long....

Room Tip: Back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiffanytiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I believe the hostel is ranked highly due to its decor.
The hostel looks like a hotel and is very nicely decorated. Staff were helpful and friendly. The hostel has it's own taxi service to take you to the airport etc, but you are overcharged for the journeys (which we later discovered)
Stayed in the double room of the hostel for two nights before heading on our travels. The road is extremely noisy with vehicles beeping and revving throughout the night, into the early morning. If there are a bunch of noisy people drinking downstairs, which there was during our stay, the noise carries through the building.
We also had 2 men, electricians supervised by the hostel cleaning lady, doing electrical work and drilling in our room while we were in it!!!
If you want to sleep, don't stay here.
The private double has no A/C but it does have a ceiling fan.
Breakfast was 2 slices of toast with cold coffee and warm juice!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awelshlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is the 5 star hotel of the hostel world, with out the cost. My girlfriend and I stayed in their private room last night for US $50 and it was the perfect way to end the trip. It is a beautiful old home, exceptionally clean, cheap awesome food ( tortilla soup!), cheap drinks. This place retains everything we love about hostels and houses it in an elegant setting without the cost... Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michaelAloysius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.2 km away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.0 km away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
1.3 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Property: Hostel Casa Colon
Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,160 - ₹ 4,980
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing