We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home away from home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boruca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Boruca
Ranked #5 of 65 San Jose B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Wauw, where to start?

We stayed in CR for 3 months, hence 43 reviews. Trust us, we have seen CR and we can honestly say this place, these people are more then the possible 5 stars.

We stayed with Kenneth and his family for 4 nights. The garden, the food, the care, the beds, the cleaniness, the prepatory comminication and the stay as a whole are all 5 stars.

However, during these 3 months Kenneth and his family have shown a genuine hospitality that is so typical for the Ticos. Compared to Ticos, Kenneth is an icon. He has helped us numerous times. Whether is car rental, ipad programing, camera purchase, hotel discounts, taxi services, telephone card services, flat tire, recommodations where to stay and where to go, hospital arrangements (unfortunately we had to visit one), Kenneth was there for us.
He was a beacon for us.
We always knew, when we would get into trouble....there's always Kenneth.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
74
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for our first and last nights in Costa Rica. The rooms are lovely with huge beds, nice ensuites and a big shower. Breakfast is very tasty and as accomodation goes we couldn't really fault it.

However we felt there was a complete lack of transparency on pricing and this significantly affected our experience. Kenneth was very helpful, giving us bottled water on arrival and offering to collect a parcel for me from the bus station, but not mentioning that he would charge or how much he'd charge. We didn't find out about either charge until we were given a bill at the end. Similarly, on our last night, we were arriving around 6pm. Kenneth said not to worry about dinner, they'd make it which was great, as the prospect of driving into the heart of San Jose didn't excite us. I stupidly didn't ask about the price and he didn't volunteer it. The meal was fine: a piece of crumbed fish, mashed potato and vegetables. The price we were charged ($14USD p/p) was very steep for the meal and way above what we'd paid for comparable food in Costa Rica. When we got the bill at the end we were gobsmacked at the 'extras' that we'd run up without knowing it and we felt ripped off.

In summary, this lack of transparency ruined what was, for us, an otherwise lovely guesthouse.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

La Boruca was a good first stop on our trip to Costa Rica. We stayed there one night after flying into San Jose. It was a much longer drive than expected from the airport, so what we saved in room fees was swallowed up by taxi fare. However, we were able to see all of San Jose on our taxi drive as well as experience the pretty location of La Boruca. The room was nice and had a great tv with internet access. One problem with the room was the ants. They were all over the room and coming down from the walls into our luggage and we found many on the towels and sink in the bathroom. However, they didn't do us any harm, they were just small ants.
Ken was very helpful. He arranged a prompt pick up from the airport and arranged for us to have dinner there and breakfast. The meals were prepared by his lovely wife, and they were delicious. They were extremely pricey however. My husband and I failed to ask about prices, and we were shocked to get a 200 dollar bill in the morning for a one night stay, 5 bottled drinks, dinner and breakfast for two. Had we asked, we wouldn't have eaten there, as there were much cheaper restaurants in San Jose where the food was equally as good.
Overall, La Boruca was in a pretty location and had great service. If you are looking for a hotel that is off the beaten path, this would be a good one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerby, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

After an awful red-eye flight with lengthy lay-overs, a comfortable but long trip from the airport (caused by unexpected bridge construction) we arrived at this quiet, bucolic, home-stay. After sleeping for most of the day we enjoyed strolling the grounds(lovingly planted and maintained by Ken and Susanna) and conversing with Kenneth before dinner. Very good dinner and quite ample.
We were leaving early the next morning to connect with our daughter in Puerto Viejo via the bus from the Caribbean Terminal, so after another great meal we departed. Unfortunately, although we wanted to leave early to assure a good seat on the bus, we arrived too late to even buy a ticket for the bus as it was already full. Therefore we ended up spending a few hours waiting for the next bus.
Our beds were very comfortable, the internet access was a relief, the shower was hot, the room was clean, the setting was quiet and peaceful although remote. If I had to change anything, I would have reserved an upstairs room for privacy and quiet, but since my husband and I had a lot of luggage and we're older than many travelers, our lives were simpler with a downstairs room. Our neighbors' conversations were clearly audible through the adjoining walls..fortunately they were gone most of the time.
I love that this is a family business, and it's evident that they take pride in making their guests as comfortable as possible, and they go above and beyond in anticipating their needs. Kenneth has lived in the US and knows what is expected by Western travelers, and meets those expectations.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyousKerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I am a 43 year old professor and my wife is a 31 year old lawyer. We stayed at La Boruca for 2 nights to facilitate transferring through San Jose.

The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The food is excellent though the portions could be larger! Breakfast is included, but if you don't have a car, lunch and dinner are extra and not cheap though the food is very good and they are very good about special dietary needs (just ask). Unfortunately, there isn't much around within walking distance in terms of other food options.

The room itself is large and super clean. The internet and entertainment system is first rate. The owners even negotiated a great rate on a rental car for us. Loved the cows next door and the beautiful green scenery around the B&B. Wonderful hot showers. Clean bathrooms.

For $20 the owner will arrange your pick up or drop off at the airport which is located about 20-30 min away.

As a tip, La Boruca is located on the north eastern side of the city, about 1 km from Highway 32 which leads to the Caribbean coast. So if your destination is the Caribbean (e.g. Tortuguera, Cahuita, Limon, etc), this is a superb transit point.

They only accept cash so make sure you have enough US or local currency ($Canada can be difficult for the owner).

It was surprisingly cool (and we're Canadian!!) and damp so make sure you have an umbrella and a warm jacket and long pants or you will be very cold inside or out.

Great for your first visit to Costa Rica. We have already booked our last night in Costa Rica there!

Room Tip: Two rooms have a nice view of a field and two face the garden. Ask for one of the rooms with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
0.0 km away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa 69
Casa 69
#1 of 65 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boruca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boruca

Property: La Boruca
Address: Moravia San Jose, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,906 - ₹ 4,973
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose on the hills heading to the Caribbean. The whole property is surrounded by lush gardens our rooms are modern and large all of them have high speed internet and a computer in the room with a nice flat screen to use our movie or music archive our beds are king size orthopedic, we offer hot water safe box and always free helpful advice on Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Boruca Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing