We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
23
13
10
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
13
10
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk one night costa rica bw refrigerator iguazu sangria facilities shuttle lobby airport
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Roaches ever where. My son pulled back the sheets and roaches ran out. The carpet smelled as if someone had barfed on it and it was never cleaned. The hotel was dirty and the front desk was no help at all. No Gym. No Sauna. Both were not available at this hotel. The rooms are really bad. The wifi is super old and slow. The computers in the "Business Center" were from the 1930's.

Room tip: Renovate / Update / Upgrade your hotel.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Extraordinary730892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are truly sorry to learn about what happen and that it was not up to your expectations so we ask you to please accept our most sincere apologies for it. We really thrive on our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well-being so it is very distressing knowing about the inconveniences you experienced. We are very surprised that you mentioned that we do not have a gym because there is one and it has not been either closed or blocked recent days so we are surprised you did not see it. We assure you that if you had asked our front desk staff where it was located, they would have been more than happy to show you.

Our hotel and brand have very high and strict quality standards regarding everything, especially our premises cleanliness which are always very carefully followed and observed. Housekeeping even has a monthly control log about all the hotel's rugs. Regarding roaches and any other pests, we are also very surprised that there were there in your room because the hotel is fumigated every 2 weeks by a very reputable outside fumigating company which guarantees its effectivity. We are going to inform said company immediately about what happened but first, our Management is going to check the entire hotel. We assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know about it as soon as it happened, they would have immediately changed you to another room because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well-being. Unfortunately, our hotel does not have a sauna so we apologize to have disappointed you about that. We really appreciate your kind advice regarding the computers in the Business Center; we assure you that they are not that old. We would also, really appreciate if you could tell us your room number (so we can check it thoroughly) and the dates you stayed with us to check if there were any reports made about the bugs and we will proceed following your case.

Once again, we apologize about the inconveniences you experienced and we will be looking forward hearing from you soon.
It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for your stay.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The room was not well insulated, we heard loud guests very late and very early. Beds were comfy, breakfast was really good with variety. Location was convenient off of San Jose with parking spots outside.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear AGeneve, thank you so much for sharing your charming comments about your stay with us.

We are very glad that it was so pleasant and that you found our complimentary breakfast so good and varied and our beds so comfortable because nothing makes us happier nor is more important than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience you experienced with the noise coming into your room; please accept our most sincere apologies for it. We are going to share your comments about this with our Management so that they can take them into account as soon as possible. Last but not least, we are glad that you found our location so convenient since we are just about 10 minutes away from downtown and that we have plenty of parking spots outside the hotel.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you again very soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

The hotel is a beautiful 3 star (Costa Rica rating) hotel, the landscaping is amazing for in San Jose itself. The free breakfast is served in a semi-enclosed garden area and is excellent, the pool is huge and a heated Jacuzzi can hold about 12 people at a time, very nice. The rooms are clean and attractive. Top that off with an attentive and helpful staff you would think it was practically perfect.

But a couple of minor drawbacks, the formerly free shuttle service to and from the airport is now got a modest $8 charge (taxi cost about $25), but is not as reliable as it should be. It didn't run when we needed to pick up our son at the airport (they missed their schedule) and we had to get an alternate service on very short notice, we were late picking up our son. Their bar and grill called

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nevillem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear nevillem2, thank you so much for sharing your nice comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is always truly important for us to ensure that our guests have a successful hotel experience, one which is very comfortable and which they feel more than pleased with everything the hotel has to offer because we really do thrive on our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you and your son experienced with our shuttle service to the airport, we assure you that our Management is going to look into it because that is something that should not happen, especially when our guests have require the service beforehand (12 hours before the time needed). Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. Yes, the shuttle service to and from the airport has for some years now a charge of $8 per person.

On the other hand, we are delighted that you found our premises (including the landscaping) so beautiful, we very clean and comfortable rooms and public area, our complimentary daily breakfast so good and our staff so attentive and helpful because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction.

It was a pleasure being at your and your family's service. Thank you for staying with us, we will be looking forward seeing you all back again soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

This is the best Best Western I have stayed in. The public areas are clean and comfortable; the gardens are beautifully landscaped; the breakfast was delicious; staff members are courteous and very diligent; and the rooms are spotless, with many amenities.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alllefeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear alllefeb, thank you for posting your spectacular review.

We are more than thrilled and very very proud to learn that your stay with us was nothing less than excellent and that our hotel is the best Best Western you have every stayed in because nothing is more important than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. We are constantly striving to provide our guests with the best services and accommodations in order for them to have a wonderful hotel experience so we are elated that we have indeed accomplished our goal with you.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us. We really hope to see you back again soon.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The best things about this hotel are the price and location. I don't gamble but there is a Casino next door. Near the heart of San Jose, you can catch an Uber (don't get me started!) to most points in the city. Rooms are average but the pool was clean. My room was literately a football field away from the elevator. Restaurant in the Hotel with a Dennys next door. Free parking. Business district. Everyone was nice.

Room tip: Ask for a room near the elevator.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DuncanBattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear DuncanBattle, thank you for sharing your very nice comments about your stay with us.

It makes us very happy that it was so pleasant and that you found our location so convenient (we are 15 minutes from the airport and just 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment areas) because we really do thrive on our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being. We are very proud to have a very attentive and friendly staff who are always one step ahead, complying with our guests' needs and requests and making them feel more than welcome and right at home.

It has been a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us, we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews