We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good enough for a night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palm House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palm House Inn
Ranked #30 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good enough for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

1 star for the polite service who was even able to call our tour company for us when they were running late to pick us up.

1 star for relatively modern rooms complete with an updated bathroom and crown molding. However there were two beds crammed into a tiny room leaving minimal room to maneuver around our suitcases. Also like another reviewer mentioned, we had "stains" on our sheets. And worse part of it all, there was NO HOT WATER even after letting the water run for several minutes. After a long flight, taking a cold shower was not very pleasant.

And finally 1 point for location - well kinda. We had a quiet night's sleep and were in walking distance to a supermarket and restaurants. However we were extremely nervous walking around at night as the area is a bit grungy with no tourists in sight but plenty of locals staring at us.

Overall, I think the hotel was totally sufficient for a night's stay after flying into San Jose. You can start the real trip bright and early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachsuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The rooms at the Palm House Inn, were not too big but modern, very clean and had everything which was needed. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we could use the internet for free. As we did not have time to eat breakfast, our bus left very early, we can not give a comment about this point.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi und Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel was in the best spot in town for walking around and exploring. It was right next to the National Museum and across the street was a souvenir market with great shopping. The beds were a bit of a joke. They were on wheels or something and kept moving around. But everything was clean and of good quality. The staff was excellent, especially Juan Carlos who gave us great ideas for places to visit. I would stay there again, just for the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai_Gyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed two nights at the Palm House Inn for our flights in/out of San Jose. Got in late both nights and noticed the neighborhood seemed a little rough / scary (forget a night stroll for some fresh air).
The rooms are very small. The bathrooms seemed to have been recently updated. However, the walls / bedspread were spotted up with stains. We have some guesses of the source of those stains, but I won't get into that for my review. However, the floors and bathroom were clean.
Our room had a tiny window which I don't think opened, there was a ceiling fan so the room was stuffy. The hotel has 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. The front desk guy was kind enough to carry our heavy suitcases up the stairs for us, so service was friendly.
Breakfast was included.
We didn't spend anytime in San Jose, so I cannot comment on the hotels location to any attractions. If you only need a place for a quick night, this place will do the trick.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Our room was tiny and there was a horrible smell which we believe was coming from the drains. However as we were only booked in for two nights we decided to put up with it but on the second day we had to move as water started to pour down the wall. The second room was on the ground floor and was much bigger and quieter and didn't smell! The receptionist spoke excellent English and was very helpful. Breakfast was included but was not worth having as it was so meager.
Free Internet available at reception and free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#31 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 km away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#45 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm House Inn

Property: The Palm House Inn
Address: Calle 13 Ave 2 y 6, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,474 - ₹ 4,700
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Palm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm House Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing