We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Good stay on The Real Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 September 2017

almost perfect, just the Valet charges at the check out, was a non pleasant situation, for 20 hours they wanted to charge 2 days of service. At the end they fixed the bill.
The room looks great, the amount of water on the shower is fantastic. Breakfast was awsome, great fresh fruits, French toast and good coffee. Hotel Restaurants are very clean and convenient.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beatrizqqp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Beatrizqqp A,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your last stay in our hotel. We feel very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and found all our facilities of your satisfaction. We feel sorry for the inconvenience of the valet parking, but happy to hear we solve the problem at the moment.
We hope you come visit us very soon.
best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

1) If your room is near the elevators, the daily live music from the lobby will be a problem. Management: turn down the volume a bit. You can provide entertainment at a reasonable volume to those in the lobby without disturbing this much the guests trying to rest or work in their rooms.

2) Filthy and blood-stained towels. Management: train your staff not to re-use those.

3) The drain from the shower was clogged. I asked for someone to fix it. The issue remained unsolved for 5 days.

This hotel ia not worth $200/night.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank luis_turrialba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear luis_turrialba,
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us. We feel very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay; to make sure we solve this issues, since our only purpose is our clients satisfaction.
We hope you come visit us again, to show you this was an isolated event.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I've been here plenty of times before so my expectations were high to begin with. Some remarks about my stay:
First - front desk confuses the room in my booking and still give me the wrong one after I clarify, second - Housekeeping does not empty rubbish bins when cleaning the room, third - front desk messes up my bill and overcharges at checkout (which I had to bark about but was fixed), and finally - I got attitude from front desk when requesting validation for my car park ticket (granted they were dealing with someone at the time, but no need to be rude about it).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tharos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi tharos13,

Thanks for choosing InterContinental Costa Rica at Mulitplaza Mall and leaving your honest feedback.

I am sorry to read that your stay was not exceptional because of some issues, particularly with the of service received from front staff to housekeeping. I am sorry for the letdown. The issues you have raised are shared with hotel management to address accordingly.

I know that this stay may not have been the best but I am hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience.

Many thanks,

Ronald R.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We received inconsistent service at this location. Being a Gold Elite member we are familiar with the standard of service at Intercontinental hotels.

Our check-in experience was sub par. We requested a feather free room at the time of our reservation. We produced our reservation but the clerk seemed completely clueless as to how to proceed. He placed us in a room that was stocked with down-filled pillows and mattress cover. We called down to the desk and the young man that arrived to resolve the situation spoke ZERO english and had no idea why he was there. Chaos ensued and after an overnight flight, it was particularly not appreciated.

The most irritating thing about the hotel is the noise from the nightly "entertainment" echoes up through the open center of the hotel and echoes down the hallways. There was literally a one inch gap under the door to the room, making it seem like "The Girl from Ipanema" was being performed right in our own room. I can appreciate the effort put in to providing entertainment, however the hour and volume that it is provided at given the reality of running a hotel should probably be reviewed. Not everyone is there for leisure. Some people have to get up and work in the morning.

We did receive excellent service at the excursion desk as well as in the onsite restaurant, Pimento.

Room Tip: We had an excellent view of a roof and freeway (sarcasm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Luke A,

Thank you for your stay and for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold Elite member. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us to improve wherever possible. I am sorry for not meeting your expectations of the IHG brand when it comes to the customer service delivered. It is also saddening to know that you perceived the noise level in the property too high. Our guest's comfort remains a priority and I apologize for letting you feel otherwise.

Your comments are noted and will be shared with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements accordingly.

Again, thank you for your comments and for choosing us for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Ingrid V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Here for a conference ; what a beautiful hotel . The room was clean ,beautifully appointed , with espresso machine , great free WiFi , and gorgeous bathroom with soaker tub and shower .
I found the air very stale and the king sized bed way to soft ; the combination of which contributed to the worst sleeps I had while in Costa Rica.
The restaurants were great although pricey . Breakfast buffet was to die for with huge selection of dishes to choice from .
Right across the street from the Multi Plaza I didn't use my car for four days .
Overall if you wish for the best it's the right place to come .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear David R,
Thank you very much for sharing your last experience in our hotel. We feel happy hearing we did meet all your expectations during your visit, from beginning to end. I was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope next time you come to Costa Rica, you visit us, maybe next time for leisure.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.3 km away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
0.9 km away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
5.1 km away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
5.3 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
2.7 km away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Escazu
#3 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: ₹ 11,918 - ₹ 20,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated outdoor pools. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a new Corporate Center with thirteen modern event rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 3,000 people. All guestrooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler, with streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, total blackout curtains, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. On the second floor of our Club Tower guests will find the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge, where they can enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is just 9 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport. On your next visit to San Jose, stay at the place to be in Escazu, where work and play blend perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing