We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas in the San Antonio Hills”

Restaurante Plaza Espana
Ranked #16 of 174 Restaurants in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with authentic Spanish cuisine, tapas and entrees, a wide selection of Spanish wines and, terrace overlooking the valley and tapas-bar very affordable prices and exclusive audience.
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My friend and I ate here 5/25/12. The restaurant opens at 6pm. If it was not raining so hard, we would have had a great view of the San Jose valley. This restaurant makes one feel like you are eating in small restaurant in Spain. The sangria is highly recommend and there is a good variety of tapas and entrees available. Both owners are from Spain and food is authentic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank feldafing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Owner at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear customer, we are glad that your visit greatly in our restaurant has been satisfactory and spend a nice evening in the company of your friends to like and appreciate our sangria and especially recommend it to feel like you are in Spain, because that is our goal, to create a place in which they feel like they were in our beloved Spain.
See you soon around here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Restaurante Plaza Espana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a place worth to go. The cuisine is a full experience of what i get at Spain. A must go

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jlccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Owner at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear customer that joy for us to know that our kitchen was to your liking, we are continually doing "Tapas" new hope which come to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

During a holiday in Costa Rica visited this place together with my family, in the beginning we were not very impressed by the location since it's not the nicest part of Escazu and one wouldn't expect one of the best restaurants in the area ( according to the reviews ) to be there. Nevertheless when you go in, you could see a very old house very well decorated with a nice view to San Jose. The service is good and people are friendly, one feels welcome to be there. After eating in so many places in Europe, I'd say the food is average. Based on the reviews, one would expect a better presentation but the taste was good (very close to what you would get in Spain), if you order a paella, you would expect to get more seafood in it other than two or three gambas. Prices are reasonable which is very positive in a expensive country as Costa Rica. The place has future, they just need to work a bit more on their plates and invest some money in the surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ctgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Owner at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thanks for making us your comments about your experience in our restaurant, we greatly appreciate your comments which we discussed in a meeting and we will enhance the decor of the place and surroundings, we've made ​​some improvements and we are also making changes to the presentations of the plates, we're glad you like the taste and we will improve our quality even more so on your next visit we hope you see the improvements discussed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Dany, my wife, and I were going to go to the oxcart parade in San Antonio de Escazu around lunchtime and I had seen this place that just opened about a month ago: "Plaza España". Both Dany and I both enjoy the Spanish sausages and other Spanish food, so we decided to give it a try. We decided to go before the crowd would, so we were a little early, but that always gives you good service as they have nothing better to do and it gives me time to talk a bit to the owners. Though the restaurant is owned by several, great attention is being given by two of the partners, Alejandro, the maitre 'd is from Madrid and the other one is from San Sebastian, so we gave it a good shot at the menu. The girl in the photo is someone from the Spanish consulate, so I guess even Spaniards think it's great food. For those who speak Spanish can check these very good ratings on Tripadvisor. You'll see the ratings are given by Spanjards, they're all three very good. They've been open for only a month, so that's pretty good.

Read more on my blog:
http://www.godutchrealty.com/blog/a-spanish-restaurant-in-san-antonio-de-escazu.html

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank IvoHenfling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Propietario at Restaurante Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear customer, we are glad that our attention and food they have liked, we hope to see you soon in our restaurant, remember that if you are on Facebook, we will inform you of special events and new dishes on the menu.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Plaza Espana also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing