We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
31
21
6
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
21
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teak house min walk squirrel monkeys anita host jungle kitchen manuel nature treetops cabin troop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

On arrival and greeted by Anita we were given a choice of room and we choose the self contained cottage. The kitchen area contained a gas stove/oven, refrigerator with small freezer compartment, various pots and pans, crockery, and cutlery. Adjacent to the kitchen was a sitting and dining area. The separate bedroom had a UK size double bed, with ample storage space. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and toilet. Have to say the gas ran out during the preparation of our first night's meal, but the salad was great. Informing Anita the next day about the gas, she had a delivery with 15 minutes!

The windows are covered with fly screens. We did bring our own mosquito net which fitted perfectly over the bed.

The cottage has become a bit run down, but was reasonably clean and tidy. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom and kitchen. After 6 days we had our routines and made it feel more homely.

Breakfast consisting of fruit juice, fruit bowl, eggs to order, toast, star fruit jam, was served in Anita's living area which was in a separate Casa.

About 400 metres uphill there is a super market which had ample choice for our needs.
there

There is a gravel track to the beach, which we walked to the National Park entrance. We both thought this area to be a bit tourist tacky. However, on the walk back we spotted Howler monkeys, and a 3 toed sloth by the side of the track.

Anita would ask about our plans at breakfast and if she was going to the far beach would give us a lift. She is full of suggestions as what to do.

The Teak House part of the complex has an excellent viewing area of the surrounding forest. One afternoon a troop of Squirrel monkeys scampered through the tree tops searching for food.

The accommodation was spacious, and ample for our needs. We did enjoy our stay, and Anita was a great host. Mention must be made of Nuria, who prepared breakfast and cleaned the rooms. One afternoon she was seen swinging a machete clearing some of the surrounding vegetation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is a great, cozy place to stay! Casa Buena Vista has a beautiful view of Manuel Antonio's bay and you can watch it while you have your breakfast.
The room is clean and tidy, it is in an old cabin downstairs the main house and has a beautiful wooden deck where you can stay in the afternoon, have a drink and watch the cappuccino monkeys playing around.
Definitely recommended, the whole place has a great vibe and gives you the feeling of staying at an old jungle cabin!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuenanota, Owner at Casa Buena Vista B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thanks so much. Glad that you enjoyed it. We do love our monkeys and other wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We stayed at Casa Buena Vista, for only one night. It is a very good option for staying in Manuel Antonio at a good price. The room had everything you may need if you are not planning to stay most time of your journey indoors. Bed, A/C, ensuite bathroom, some sort of sink, closet and some chairs.The view from our room was not as good as the one on the breakfast room, the garage or the common area, which by the way is a nice place to get to know the other guest. You also have access to the kitchen if your are planning to cook, well this suits perfect for you.
We had a little incident, we did our check out late, and we had to wait a bit more in order to have our room ready. According to the host, the previous guest made a late check out, but we arrived almost two hours late for check in, wasn't this enough time?
I few word here we have the pros/cons
-Pros
-Excellent price, considering I went in high season.
-Spacious rooms and clean bath.
-Great breakfast! Excellent to start your day in Manuel Antonio

-Cons
-Room was not ready at our arrival.
-Bats. They do not mess with you, but I classify them as a con.
-No pool (in my humble opinion you should have one)

I rate it average, but that depends on you, Don't get me wrong, I recommended, I will come back but can be improved.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yassir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We stayed for two nights in a room with AC on the bottom floor, which had a glass sliding door looking straight out into the rainforest (amazing to watch a rainstorm out that glass door one morning while journaling about our trip!). We were here during the green season, and we newlyweds were thrilled to have the whole place to ourselves. The "good view house" is a very accurate name! Beautiful views of a secluded beach, which is less than a mile walk away. It's close enough to walk into town for your meals as well (don't forget to stop at Cafe Milagro!).

The simple room was perfect for us... if you don't need all the extra frills and want to immerse yourself in nature, this is the place. Very affordable. Our host provided us a delicious, varied breakfast with fresh local fruit and kept us company (as did her cats!) with interesting conversation while we ate on a lovely indoor patio. The forest around the house is filled with wildlife... Right from the common area, we saw many bird species, heard parrots fly over, and saw a howler monkey. There's plenty more wildlife to spot on the walk to the beach--we were able to watch a sloth in a tree! Don't miss this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We rented two rooms, one for my wife and I (room 2) and one for my niece and her boyfriend(teak house). Both were clean and well looked after. We were there for a couple of days and had to leave before breakfast the first day to get to Manuel Antonio for our scheduled guide. The teak house has common area with a kitchen with the fixings for coffee there. It was a definite win!

The rooms were clean and Anita the host was very friendly and helpful. She was a very nice and very interesting lady to talk too.

The next morning we watched a troop of squirrel monkeys arrive and forage in the tree above the teak house. It was amazing to watch and we would stay there again just for that.

There is a locked garage to store your car which is nice.

Room Tip: I would ask for room 1 if I were going again. The Teak house common room is wonderful.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews