We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice but Expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danta Corcovado Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Danta Corcovado Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Unfortunately, my experience was quite unlike these reviews. Yes, the ambience was wonderful and the cabins truly unique. The staff were excellent and most helpful. However, the owner did not even bother to greet me but just called over one of the staff when I showed up at the reception desk. I was there for 5 days and only did Merlyn bother to even acknowledge my existence and that was only because the reception attendant at the time did not speak enough English or me enough Spanish to be understood. I was the only guest the entire time so one would think he could have extended himself a little. The food was outrageously expensive with prices comparable to prices in the US. No where else in Costa Rica did a local beer cost $3.50. Lunch was $11.00 and dinner was $16.00. Since that was far too expensive for my pocketbook I took a taxi to a small store a few miles away and bought some non-perishable items to eat separately. Then I would eat the gratis breakfast and skip lunch and dinner at the lodge. Eating at the lodge was not very pleasant in any case since there was some construction going on was extremely loud. Even in my bungalow I could hear all the noise of hammering, sawing, and pressure washing so a quiet jungle experience was not to be had. Since I was solo was forced to pay double for any of the tours. This meant I only took the two least expensive since I was paying so much for them. I did enjoy the night tour and the guide was extremely knowleable. I was fortunate in that there eas an independent tour guide on the Osa shuttle from San Jose to the lodge so I was able to get onto one of his tours for less than it would have cost me for a regular double tour price ($65.00 versus $98.00) at the lodge.

If you have lots of money to spend on food then by all means stay here. Otherwise, find somewhere else since there is nothing else to eat anywhere close by. Be sure you are not solo or plan on paying over $180.00 for a single tour.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Safarigirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    20
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

If you're going to the Osa Peninsula in Costa Rica, this is a must. Friendly, wonderfully helpful staff and guides. Teresa's food is delicious and plentiful. Oh, the coffee! All served on the charming covered, open air deck. My favorite spot - one of the hammocks hanging just a few yards from the stream.
The rooms are clean and cute. We stayed in a separate bungalow. Loved the open air outdoor bathroom.
There's several miles of great trails to hike. We saw toucans, blue crowned mot mots, laughing falcon, & so much more! and they offer night tours of the property to see wildlife, and 2-3 day tours into Corcovado National Park as well.
This is not the place for everyone. This part of the country is VERY hot and humid. It's for hikers, birders, wildlife nerds and nature lovers. There is no a/c or hot water (trust me, you won't want any). There's no nightlife. They have cold beer and a full service bar.
WE LOVED IT.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

A delightful jungle experience 

Danta lodge is unique place. The design of the lodge & bungalows are amazing. The use of wood/bamboo & coconut shells for light fittings, taps, to toilet seats & bed canopies is so original. We loved our open airy & private 'bungalow'. No door??? why would you need one??? It was spotlessly clean quite luxurious & spacious. We loved the semi open bathroom.  Lying in bed listening to the Howler monkeys & the scarlet  macaws will be a lasting memory. 
The staff were all excellent. They were friendly, helpful & informative. Spending time here is so relaxing & calm. 
Tours are available but we saw Squirrel monkeys, anteaters, toucans, macaws, various birds, butterflies  & lizards around the lodge. 
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

What a wonderful and unique eco lodge! Great value for the rate all the way! The service, the food, etc... nothing to complain about! The bungalow was impeccable and charming. Quite an incredible experience in the rainforest, waking to the sound of the birds and the howling monkeys, hiking the trails, not being bored at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

What a great lodge. Merlyn the owner and architect/woodworker did an amazing job creating a stunning facility with wood from his family's farm. Every piece of furniture and every cabina is brilliantly designed and amazingly comfortable. His staff was more than helpful and showed true interest in us while we were there, always making sure we were happy with the tours, meals, etc. Merlyn and his staff were able to arrange everything we wanted to do with just a days notice. Merlyn also cares deeply about his community and its a joy to provide him with the means to help support the local families. It was a blast to watch the troop of squirrel mokeys come through daily. And the nearby chocolate tour was FABULOUS.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 855anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
18.9 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.0 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 km away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
19.0 km away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
3.1 km away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danta Corcovado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danta Corcovado Lodge

Property: Danta Corcovado Lodge
Address: La Palma, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,788 - ₹ 10,686
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Danta Corcovado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danta Corcovado Lodge is a uniquely designed lodge with Costa Rican flair and a concern for the rain forest. Nothing goes to waste because Merlyn is the wizard of creativity and design. step into a world of tranquility, and be amazed by all of the natural touches of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Danta Corcovado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing