We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
355
185
35
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
185
35
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free kayaks golfo dulce the owner coffee maker costa rica boat trip small pool private deck thoroughly enjoyed our stay location was perfect close to town corcovado national park ocean view laid back drake bay osa peninsula scarlet macaws
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Our initial plan during our extensive travels in Costa Rica recently, was to drive to Puerto Jimenez from Golfito and explore the Osa Peninsula from there. This however did not work out because of landslides, and time restraints.
We did however, contact the owner of Cabinas Jimenez where we had originally booked a night stay, to inform him about our inability to travel there by car and keep this booking. We simply had too much luggage and camera equipment to take it across the Gulfo Dulce on a ferry. We did however, take the ferry over for a day trip as we desperately wanted to at least do a quick walk around the Puerto Jiminez town. We popped into Cabinas Jimenez (probably the best tourist accommodation in this very laid back little seaside village), to say hi to the owner and once again tried to explain our dilemma to him.
Cabinas Jimenez certainly looked like a very quaint if somewhat rustic but very laid back and relaxed place to spend time. It overlooks the bay at Puerto Jimenez, it has direct water access, it has multiple facilities in terms of recreation (bicycle, paddleboards, surfboards, kayaks etc).
The overall feeling when we walked in there was inviting, relaxing, and almost a little bit throw back 1970s hippie style.
As far as the little village was concerned, it is small, intimate, and very functional with every basic amenity one would want or need. We even had the joy of witnessing the parade from school children from all the surrounding schools commemorating the a nature park day, stressing and making us once again aware of the importance that this country attaches to looking after its beautiful natural resources.
We hope to one day get back to Cabias Jimenez and to have the opportunity and time to explore this natural wonder called Osa Peninsula.

Room Tip: This I am sure would have great views no matter where you are
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your review of The Hotel. It is appreciated by us. " A change of plans by Mother Nature.. " As with traveling plans, things can happen.. Landslides, Torrential rain, missed flights... We are pleased, as you must be, that we did Not charge you for the cancellation. Hopefully, we will see each other again, in the Osa peninsula. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This is not a destination resort. Dishes and coffee maker were very dirty. Friendly employees. Very noisy. You can hear people talking at all hours. The small pool is not big enough for more than about 3 people. Just okay for overnight.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank susanmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Staff worked to make our stay work and give us a discount. We needed three beds, and they gave them to us. Having AC or a powerful ceiling fan is essential. Cabinas Jimenez had both!

Scarlet Macaws were constantly in the beach almonds in front of our room. Staff was helpful to answer any questions and immediately setup two days of awesome fishing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that you appreciated the larger room with three beds with the discount. We hope to see you again. !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My buddy and I stayed here for 2 nights last week. Aug 11-12. Very good room with a great view. #13. John upgraded us , which was perfect. They have a nice pool and pool area. Not too far of a walk to a few of the Resturants in town. Puerto Jimenez is small but just about right for this area on the OSA. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to most travelers in the area. We did have coffee and a kitchenette in our room but I didn't see any coffee or breakfast area at the hotel. That would be nice.
Also John ran the whale and dolphin tour. We were very lucky to see plenty of dolphins and about a half dozen humpback whales. I believe the tour, which lasted 4+ hours, was $65.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wesmma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your " Great stay here." review and that you recommend Cabinas Jimenez to most travelers. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the free upgrade on your room. Hope to see you again, back in the Osa Peninsula. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We loved our stay here, sitting on the terrace overlooking the gulf and watching the scarlet macaws feeding in the trees and a dolphin swimming in the bay. Our room was small but well equipped and the outside space is very spacious and comfortable. (Room 10). There are kayaks and bicycles available for guests to use and John is really helpful. We were disappointed that we couldn't do the boat trip, but no one else signed up. We discovered afterwards that the boat from il Giardino restaurant along the shore did go out that day, so may be worth asking there if you have no luck with the hotel.

Room Tip: The waterfront cabinas are great
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews