We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Cabinas Jimenez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Jimenez
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Been coming here for 10 plus years. Bungalow 1 is our home away from home. Private deck and kitchen that look out over the bay. Clean and close to town. The landscape is beautiful - they add more and more each visit. Nice small refreshing pool all to ourselves in September. Staff is friendly and helpful. We recommend it highly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JD-GD--ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your " Home away from Home " review. ! It is very much appreciated by us. We hope to see you again from your Home away from Home. John and his wonderful Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Our initial plan during our extensive travels in Costa Rica recently, was to drive to Puerto Jimenez from Golfito and explore the Osa Peninsula from there. This however did not work out because of landslides, and time restraints.
We did however, contact the owner of Cabinas Jimenez where we had originally booked a night stay, to inform him about our inability to travel there by car and keep this booking. We simply had too much luggage and camera equipment to take it across the Gulfo Dulce on a ferry. We did however, take the ferry over for a day trip as we desperately wanted to at least do a quick walk around the Puerto Jiminez town. We popped into Cabinas Jimenez (probably the best tourist accommodation in this very laid back little seaside village), to say hi to the owner and once again tried to explain our dilemma to him.
Cabinas Jimenez certainly looked like a very quaint if somewhat rustic but very laid back and relaxed place to spend time. It overlooks the bay at Puerto Jimenez, it has direct water access, it has multiple facilities in terms of recreation (bicycle, paddleboards, surfboards, kayaks etc).
The overall feeling when we walked in there was inviting, relaxing, and almost a little bit throw back 1970s hippie style.
As far as the little village was concerned, it is small, intimate, and very functional with every basic amenity one would want or need. We even had the joy of witnessing the parade from school children from all the surrounding schools commemorating the a nature park day, stressing and making us once again aware of the importance that this country attaches to looking after its beautiful natural resources.
We hope to one day get back to Cabias Jimenez and to have the opportunity and time to explore this natural wonder called Osa Peninsula.

Room Tip: This I am sure would have great views no matter where you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your review of The Hotel. It is appreciated by us. " A change of plans by Mother Nature.. " As with traveling plans, things can happen.. Landslides, Torrential rain, missed flights... We are pleased, as you must be, that we did Not charge you for the cancellation. Hopefully, we will see each other again, in the Osa peninsula. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This is not a destination resort. Dishes and coffee maker were very dirty. Friendly employees. Very noisy. You can hear people talking at all hours. The small pool is not big enough for more than about 3 people. Just okay for overnight.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank susanmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Staff worked to make our stay work and give us a discount. We needed three beds, and they gave them to us. Having AC or a powerful ceiling fan is essential. Cabinas Jimenez had both!

Scarlet Macaws were constantly in the beach almonds in front of our room. Staff was helpful to answer any questions and immediately setup two days of awesome fishing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Manager at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that you appreciated the larger room with three beds with the discount. We hope to see you again. !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My buddy and I stayed here for 2 nights last week. Aug 11-12. Very good room with a great view. #13. John upgraded us , which was perfect. They have a nice pool and pool area. Not too far of a walk to a few of the Resturants in town. Puerto Jimenez is small but just about right for this area on the OSA. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to most travelers in the area. We did have coffee and a kitchenette in our room but I didn't see any coffee or breakfast area at the hotel. That would be nice.
Also John ran the whale and dolphin tour. We were very lucky to see plenty of dolphins and about a half dozen humpback whales. I believe the tour, which lasted 4+ hours, was $65.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wesmma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjpodson, Owner at Cabinas Jimenez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your " Great stay here." review and that you recommend Cabinas Jimenez to most travelers. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the free upgrade on your room. Hope to see you again, back in the Osa Peninsula. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
3.6 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
363 reviews
0.7 km away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
78 reviews
1.5 km away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Crocodile Bay Resort - An All-Inclusive Resort
18.2 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
19.2 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Jimenez

Address: on Main Street - 50 meters from the end of the soccer field | directly on the Golfo Dulce, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: ₹ 3,759 - ₹ 7,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Jimenez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jimenez is located on the Osa Peninsula, in Puerto Jimenez, on a quiet street at the edge of Puerto Jimenez, and directly on the Golfo Dulce. Comfortable new beds and linens, A/C, hot showers, mini-fridge, coffee makers are just a few of the amenities offered. A new pool, free wireless internet, kayaks, bicycles, and a cheerful and helpful staff will make your stay at Cabinas Jimenez truly memorable! Explore Corcovado National Park, Go Fishing, Surfing…Come and explore all the Osa has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cabinas Jimenez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jimenez Hotel Puerto Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez Puerto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing