We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
86
42
30
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
42
30
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scarlet macaws cano island hour walk the entire trip white faced monkeys pura vida no air conditioning highlight of our trip your feet an adventure generator ocean tours hill lodge corcovado boat
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We had the best time ever in The Punta Marenco Lodge. We couldn't expect a better welcoming ! Passionating moments spent in the true Nature ! It was hard to come back but the memories we brought won't fade ! Thank you again to our guide Oscar, to Ilena the owner and to all the staff making this place an authentic Paradise ☺
See you as soon as possible,
PURA VIDA AND COCONUTS,
The Crazy French Family (Thomas, Vero, Steph and Charlotte)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

The place is located at a very beautiful place. The rooms were decently nice. The view waking up was wonderful but the service was not amazing. Meal times were hardly set in stone and when a time was given, the food was always an hour late. They also dump their trash in a trash pit outside created by them which is obviously not environmentally safe and when we ventured back there, we got a lot of dirty looks.

Room Tip: great views, beware of capuchin monkeys.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I loved this place. From the 1.5 hour boat ride from Sierpe, to the wet entry landing off the boat to the 300m uphill walk to get to the lodge, this piece of the world is great. If you like birds, monkeys and quiet, you will like Punta Marenco lodge. This is not a luxury hotel. It is a rustic beautiful place where there is no electricity. The generators come on at 5 pm till 10 pm for you to charge camera's, phones and have lights in the rooms. I could not hear the generators. We stayed in room 5. There were 2 single beds and a double for our family. The room was clean and beds were nicely made upon our arrival. The screened in cabin allows the breeze to keep you cool in this hot humid climate. The cold shower worked for us since we were hot all the time. The deck off our cabin had a great view of the ocean. The view was enhanced when the toucans, scarlet macaws and all sorts of other birds flew by. The lodge likes to book package deals, 2 or 3 night stays with outings on each day. We did some of the outing but also liked to explore the beaches and rivers ourselves. We ended up staying for 5 nights. The staff made suggestions on where to go and what to see. The meals where good, though we found there was too much food. Our morning fruit plate was wonderful. It worked better for us when they decided to do a morning buffet. This allowed us to eat what we wanted and not waste food. The staff were very accommodating to my son who does not like fish. All the staff were very friendly.
The common area offered tea and coffee all day long.
If you go don't forget to bring your head lamp (flashlight). It is dark after dinner and you need to see your way back to your cabin.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Olaf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

I went for 4 days, stayed for 6 and didn't want to leave. I loved every minute of my stay at Marenco lodge. My friend and I had fairly low expectations having read some of the bad reviews on TA, but we were pleasantly surprised.
The facilities are basic, no wifi, no hot water and no electricity most of the day, but for me that is part of the reason Marenco is so great. You can be totally lost in the peace and tranquility of nature at it's best. We were surrounded by sloths, monkeys, Tucans, and loads of other wildlife.
Our hosts Roberto and Jonathon were lovely and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. The food was delicious, home made and plentiful.
We took 2 tours, 1 to to Caño island to snorkel and the other to Sirena NP. Both tours were well organised and fun. The guide Javier was knowledgeable and friendly.
Don't go to Marenco expecting 5 star accommodation. It is only for those who love nature and being away from all the mod cons that we don't need.
Thanks Marenco, hope to see you again one day.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kezzaosull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Excellent place to stay if you want to live among nature. A truly memorable experience and a lovely host, the food and lodge was more than I could ask for in the rainforest. The meals were homemade and delicious. Be careful of the monkeys, but as long as you lock up your belongings, they will only make your stay all that more enjoyable. It does get very humid, but that's mother nature! Wifi available, but I would recommend signing offline for a few days to enjoy the beautiful trails and views Costa Rica has to offer.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ayc412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews