We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
105
81
26
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
81
26
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister resort ylang ylang banana pancakes costa rica included breakfast boat taxi rooms are clean middle of town staff was very friendly and helpful per night would highly recommend this hotel bars and restaurants large room air conditioning pura vida jaco birds
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Came to the bar here one night to watch TV and the staff was so friendly and helpful that we decided to stay there the next night. Very clean room, great price. They also helped us set up a water taxi back to Jaco

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kcharles2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESBManagement, Manager at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We do take pride that we don't hire staff to be nice, instead we hire nice staff! and we are happy that was your experience. We can provide you with clean, comfortable and safe rooms, great food including vegan, vegetarian and gluten free, and also help with your tours and shuttles. We hope you will think of us if you visit Montezuma again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and quiet with excellent showers and AC. Close enough to Chico's to grab a beer and walk back to the private outdoor patio. Next to the grocery store for daily essentials and drinks, and plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from. Next time I'm in Montezuma, I'll be staying here

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESBManagement, Manager at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Michael, thank you for staying with us. We are so happy you had an enjoyable visit to Montezuma and a great stay with us. We are indeed in a perfect location for everything. It will be our pleasure to be of service anytime you choose to visit this little gem of a town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Great location and the rooms exceeded my expectations considering the the low price. Everywhere was really nicely done and very clean! The guys that worked the desk/restaurant were all super friendly which really helps you relax when you’re travelling alone. The food was also the nicest I had had in 4 weeks in Costa Rica! Those Banana pancakes . It was a nice extra to be able to go and hang around the pool at the sister hotel too.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tabitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESBManagement, Manager at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us Tabitha.
We are so happy you noticed all the love and care we put in to Sano Banano. We hope you will visit us again sometime. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

I loved Sano Banano! The staff made us feel like old friends and the atmosphere embodies everything that I love about Costa Rica, Montezuma in particular. The vibe is eco-conscious, peaceful, fun, and kind. The restaurant avoids plastic (which is choking our oceans), including useless plastic straws, and reminds guests to do the same. You can tell the owners care for their town and the surrounding wildlife. The courtyard is relaxing and is visited by blue birds. The rooms are clean and comfy. The food was fantastic. 5 stars to Sano Banano!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S7146YMsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESBManagement, Manager at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Susan, Thank you for noticing all the love and care we put in to Sano Banano. We love nature so much and do the best we can to have the least amount of negative impact on the beautiful jungle, rivers and ocean that surround us.
We support the local fishermen, purchase local eggs and free range and hormone free chicken. We believe in nurturing the body with healthy food and therefore almost everything is made in the moment using the freshest of ingredients.
We are a team and strive to have the best work environment possible. We hire locally and all our staff members are paid fairly. And most important we have fun being of service. We hope we will have the pleasure to see you again sometime in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A buzzy, roadside bar with fabulous lemonades, Kombuchas and beer. Great staff (thanks Luis for all the good advice) and good food. A hotel too, with fine rooms at reasonable prices. Very easy to spend hours here watching the thirsty pass by. A happy place.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TomK396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESBManagement, Manager at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Tim! Thank you so much for staying with us and enjoying all the great things our restaurant has to offer.
All of our staff was delighted with your friendliness.
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you will visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews