We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
289
98
36
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
98
36
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lawntide poolscosta ricadirectly across the streetpalm treesthe ownerminute walkcomfortable chairsmontezuma fallsfirst floormosquito nettingocean frontdirt roadin townair conditioningeach morningan amazing place
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I wrote this before but it did not show up,that is why it appears so late.
This is one of the finest pension style hotels we have stayed in so far (of all vacations,Europe,South America etc..). We stayed for 16 glorious nights through the Christmas holiday. Two different rooms,one downstairs and one up. Both fantastic.
The wildlife around the hotel is wonderful,monkeys,iguanas,birds,rooster and the resident dogs. HELLO CELINE!!!!!
The grounds are immaculate and embrace everything that is true of Costa Rica. The design and running of the hotel is to be honored. They have adopted an obligation to the environment,the community. This is all very evident in the ecologically sound practices that you can see every day. Right down to being able to refill your water bottles,with filtered water (for a minimal charge) to help save on the plastic usage and trash issues. All the rooms have art from local artisans and the food is all from local distributers.
The exteremely happy staff and the great reputation speaks volumes on the community efforts. This is a boutique pesion hotel on the edge of the jungle in Costa Rical,not a luxury all-inclusive resort or a hostel. I have read other reviews that were negative and can honestly say that those travellers did not know where they were or what this place is all about. It is in the heart of rural Central American paradise. The ocean in the back,swimming hole to the right and the jungle out front......HEAVEN!!!!!
I am from New York and the Best Western a few miles away is $139.00 a night and it looks over a parking lot and a shopping center. If you want an oceanview by me......I go east 2 miles and pay 400.00 a night. So I was super happy with my bill when we checked out. It was a bargain by my standards.
Our experience was outstanding,we were comfortable and safe. We had an excellent holiday and want to thank Amor de mar for making that possible. (Bring comfortable shoes and a spritz of bug spray...be sensible...its the edge of the jungle!!!)
If you are in Montezuma...don't miss this place...if there are no rooms,have breakfast or lunch...the food,service and atmosphere is great!!!!! Brunch on Sundays ROCKS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishrover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We recently spent six nights at Amor de Mar – it was a spectacular finale to our time in Costa Rica. Undoubtedly, Amor de Mar is the best value in Montezuma. It offers beautiful, landscaped grounds complete with hammocks and cozy lawn furniture. The room was clean, comfortable, and stunning thanks to the beautiful wood finishes, unique light fixtures, and stunning ocean view – and the bathroom had been freshly remodeled (it was the nicest bathroom of our trip – no question).

The staff was top-notch and eager to help us plan activities, to make sure we made the most of our time in Costa Rica. Ammi and Carla were especially helpful – even talking Zuma Tours into picking us up at our hotel on our departure day, so we didn’t have to drag our luggage into town. We supremely enjoyed our massages by Barbara. If you’re looking to relax be sure to book a massage with her, and you’ll be treated to a cozy massage “cove” under the palm trees, next to the beach. It doesn’t get much better than that.

O, and the breakfast! We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, enjoying a wonderful, organic feast each day – homemade bread with peanut butter and banana, huevos rancheros with gallo pinto, fresh fruit plates and smoothies. They have a fabulous brunch buffet on Sundays. If you’re looking for a memorable trip to Montezuma, please be sure to stay at Amor de Mar – you will have a sensational experience! (And be sure to take a dip in the tide pool!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortifiedBySun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The moment we entered the reception area at the Amor de Mar, we felt like exclaiming "This is what we came all the way down here for". A green lawn streches to to the palm tree fringed shore and dotted with hammocks and sling chairs.Photography alone can not give this vista justice. We booked the highly recommended Room 5 on the second floor, which enjoys a corner balcony. A great place to sit and savor the sound of the crashing surf. The rooms are air conditioned, which I thought we would not need but believe me-you do. Be advised that the ADM does NOT have a beach in front, just volcanic rock.. However, it does have a tide pool that functions as a very unique and refreshing swimming area. The town of Montezuma lies a comfortable 10 minute walk away north along the road. Karla and Ammi are gracious, hands on hosts and full of useful advice that helped guide us through this rather eccentric part of the country. They serve breakfast and lunch on the premises, and the breakfast we ate there was top notch. The wi-fi worked reasonably well. After walking by some of the other hotel/guesthouses around the town, we are more than satisfied that we made Montezuma's very best lodging choice.

Room Tip: Room 5...Room 5...Room 5
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Amor de Mar is really a little piece of paradise. All the time we stayed there, we felt that we were visiting some good friend's house. The setting is outstanding, the decor tastefully done with every little detail to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff treat you like family or friends and not once did we feel that we were 'paying guests'. I just loved the rocks around the lash garden and the sandy beach is only a short walk away, 2-5 minutes. So here one can have the best of all that Montezuma can offer. Can you imagin going to sleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to the sound of the birds I just can't sing the praises enough, even the soft classical music, the flowers on the table, the constant free coffee and water supply and the feeling of security and warmth. Nothing was too much trouble, even when I lost my camera whilst walking back from the waterfall, they sent one of the guys to search 'just in case'....Amor de Mar, I can't thank you enough for the great time we had with you and wish you with all our heart good luck in the future and we shall return, hopefully in the not too far future. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the sea...what a view.............
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We ended our two week tour of Costa Rica with a stay at Amor de Mar. Our only regret is that we had planned for more time there. Originally, we had booked a two night stay at Amor de Mar but, after seeing our room and the grounds, we ended up canceling our last night's accommodations in San Jose and extended our stay in Montezuma for a total of three nights.

The owners and staff obviously take great pride in caring for the place. We stayed in room 8, situated on the first floor, and had a beautiful view looking out onto the lawn and over to the stream. The room was well appointed and newly refinished with clean bedding, A/C, fan, and even tasteful tapestries on the wall. The bathroom was also very nicely and newly refurbished. Our room led out to the main patio and also had a sitting area from where we could read and lounge in the afternoon heat. The only slightly pesky part was that there were some people staying in the room above us, one of which was a particularly flat-footed walker who liked to pace his room into the fee hours of the morning. A few taps on the ceiling the first night took care of the issue and we had no problems after that. If you are easily disturbed by noises, I'd recommend a second story room but this is no reason to avoid this place.

The main patio leads out to an expansive and well-maintained lawn with about ten hammocks and an assortment of lawn chairs. It is definitely set for relaxation. The lawn then leads out to the rocky beach. There is a small area of the beach that is sandy and was great for playing and building sandcastles with my young daughter. We also took advantage of the stream and pools that run along the side of the property.

The hotel is about a five minute walk to the main part of town and a great assortment of restaurants. But, we made good use of Amor de Mar's facilities by eating breakfast there each day. They have wonderful crepes and homemade bread and jam as well as fresh squeezed juices.

I would recommend this place in a heartbeat. The staff were super helpful in arranging transportation needs for us, recommending restaurants, and even helping us find some out-of-the-way activities to explore.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidgeandMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews