We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, stunning gardens, shame about the extra costs”
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel was one of the better ones that we stayed during our 2 week trip around Costa Rica. Good job it was as it was also the most expensive! The rooms were lovely, clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and the grounds of the hotel were absolutely stunning. Could very happily while away an afternoon in a hammock!
The only downside of this hotel was that you had to pay extra for everything on top of your room. Breakfast was not included (which we found strange for a higher rate hotel), they would charge you extra each time you fill your water bottle and it was the only place that tax was not included in the price of the room.
This was the only downside to a lovely 3 night stay on the Pacific coast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillipsrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amor de Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were so glad we chose this place for our time in Montezuma. As other reviews note, this has a gorgeous view from the front of the hotel, straight out to the ocean, but their gorgeous lawn and hammocks and large rocks in the foreground. Plus occasional cool iguanas on the grass. Other than Yin Ylang which was a lot more expense, I imagine this was the most beautiful of the hotels, and at such a great price. Our first night we were downstairs in a corner room, but then moved upstairs which was far better. If you're there in their hottest Months (around April) be sure to get AC. Rooms 5 and 7 seemed to be the nicest. Very friendly staff. A 5-minute walk to town. We were very glad not to be staying right in town as it's busy and louder. The breakfast was delicious. Other reviews described being nickel and dimed, we didn't experience that at all. We got extra towels, we borrowed beach towels, they had board games, it was lovely.

Room Tip: We thought rooms 5 and 7 on 2nd floor were best. The bottom rooms didn't get the breezes.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiserSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My stay at Amor de Mar was everything I was looking for while spending time in Montezuma. I stayed in three rooms while there (room 9, 5, and 7). Although the view from Room 5 was absolutely spectacular (especially around dusk) Room 7 and 9 were just as good. Breakfast (although not included) was well worth it sitting in the pretty outdoor area. Birds frequently visited our plates, but it was all part of the experience for me. The location is perfect for a stay in Montezuma. It is a quick walk from the center of town which is perfect because things can get pretty noisy on the weekends at Chicos (the local bar). The front lawn was so beautiful with views of the ocean and plenty of hammocks to hang out on and chairs to sun bathe in. It is directly across the street from the entrance path to the famous Montezuma Waterfalls and a very quick walk from Los Mangos where there are absolutely AMAZING yoga classes held each day.

highly recommended. food was great. location perfect. and reasonable prices for what you get!
pura vida!

Room Tip: Room 5 facing the ocean!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieTimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had an OK stay at Hotel Amor de Mar. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and has a fantastic location right on the water - the front yard is wonderful with many hammocks and lounging chairs to relax in. Also, the food at the restaurant was delicious. But unfortunately our room was extremely disappointing. We were in room #11, in the back corner of the hotel, and we found it to be very dark, dingy, and small. Also, the first night we were there our upstairs neighbors were up partying until late in the evening, and you could hear any teeny footstep through the floorboards. It was very difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_deklerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I, with our 4 yr old & 6 yr old stayed at Hotel Amor de Mar in December 2011. Loved the place, loved the management and owners and most of all loved the atmosphere. Soooo incredibly peaceful and beautiful. Received excellent service for our 3 night stay and a yummy breakfast for a bit extra. We stayed in the larger house that used to be a residence for the owner and her children. Very unique and gorgeous woodcrafted home. Could fit 6-8 people in there easily. It's open air which we loved, but definitely needed the mosquito nets at night. The wrap-around porch overlooking the beautiful lawn and ocean was the highlight. Spent many hours lounging on the futon relaxing.
Must eat at Panaderia Cabuya for lunch and Playa de los Artistas for dinner if staying in Montezuma.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the two houses available, it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carricoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.5 km away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
3.4 km away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
5.1 km away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.5 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: ₹ 4,176 - ₹ 10,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing