We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect Costa Rican getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
The property is surrounded on three sides by undeveloped forest- great privacy & wildlife viewing. The master bedroom has a full size bed as well as a futon single bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Feel the stress melt away as you relax on this deck- at eye level with monkeys and tropical birds.
The property is surrounded on three sides by undeveloped forest- great privacy & wildlife viewing.
The master bedroom has a full size bed as well as a futon single bed.
The second bedroom has two twin beds with armoire.
The third bedroom has a full size bed with armoire. All the bedrooms have a ceiling fan.
The well-equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare and share meals.
The kitchen and the bedrooms are fully screened.
The kitchen is so comfortable and spacious!
Relax in the hammock and listen to the sounds of nature: ocean waves, monkeys, birds, the stream...
There is an outdoor shower (with cool water) as well as an indoor shower (hot water).
The outdoor shower is wonderful after the beach.
Enjoy your morning coffee and watch wildlife on the 3rd floor observation deck!
Private gated entrance and off street parking. Great security.
Beautiful Playa los Cedros is only 400 meters from the door.
You'll see lots of hummingbirds from the patio.
The upstairs deck puts you at eye level with howler and capuchin monkeys for outstanding photo ops.
If you want to see some of Costa Rica's wildlife, this is the house for you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MikeNGina
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect Costa Rican getaway”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything about this house. Upon entering the property you're greeted through the gate by the property owner, Tito, and a long green path to the house surrounded on either side with amazing jungle fauna. Tito was invaluable to our stay, giving us information about the surrounding area and making us feel at home. The house is immaculately clean and made up of three levels of mostly beautiful almond wood The first level has a screened in kitchen well appointed with everything you need, a toilet, an open floor living area with a couch, hammock and chair, an outdoor shower and an indoor shower.The outdoor shower is perfect for hot Costa Rican days. The second level has three screened in bedrooms, 2 toilets and another open air living area with a table and chairs that look out over the jungle garden. Although Montezuma gets hot and humid during the day the nights cool down to where the ceiling fan in each bedroom is all you need for a good night sleep. The third level is an open air "lookout" with a few stools and a bar.Perfect for morning coffee, board games an evening drink. We were greeted each morning with the songs of the jungle, howler monkeys and singing birds, a great way to start each morning. The nearest beach is Los Cedros beach, a good 1000 meter walk down a rut ridden dirt road. Once at the beach it is as picturesque as it gets but be careful of the rocks once in the water especially when the surf is rough. The town of Montezuma is about a 15 minute taxi ride from Sol Y Luna and we had no trouble calling a taxi for quick pickups. Tito has a list of trusted drivers he will give to you. We used a driver that was not on his list for our final pickup to meet the fast boat to Jaco and he didn't show up causing us to nearly miss our boat. Not a great way to depart paradise, lesson learned. The house is a perfect base for all of the adventures Montezuma has to offer, incredibly peaceful, a great value and our family had the best time , We hope we can come back and stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mornings
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekarciks
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best time of our lives”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Montezuma was everything we had hoped for and more. My family had a magical month here and I only have wonderful things to say. Although we never had the pleasure of meeting Donna, she was very helpful with all of our questions before arrival. Tito was an amazing host, and is now a great friend. If you are thinking about staying here. DO IT!!!! We saw so much animal life, white face monkeys, howlers, lizards, agoutis, coatimundis, and more right from the porch. My children got quite an education!!! I will cherish our time there forever.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda6777
Vernon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled with 3 other senior ladies to this wonderful jungle retreat. I can't say enough about the house, the grounds, the close proximity to beach and town and the hospitality of Tito and Donna.
Donna was a great help in setting the groundwork for our trip, She answered our many questions very promptly via email. and even took the time to phone us to give us some travel advice .
The house has a unique design and very roomy..I especially loved the top deck observatory where I could practice my morning yoga routine surrounded by the sights and sounds of the jungle...Bliss!! We enjoyed our meals and happy hours on the deck while being entertained by the creatures who came to visit regularly.
The beach, the shuttle and the river pools are a short walk away. Tito provided us with a phone to call the taxi for longer trips or to get groceries.
We all agreed that Casa Montezuma was perfect !!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry_Lin...
Tyler, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“TREEHOUSE IN THE JUNGLE”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I are traveling around Costa Rica over a 3 week period, trying to decide what area we love the best to hopefully purchase a home here someday. Our first 6 day stay was at Casa Montezuma. We honestly did not want to leave!
The house feels like a treehouse in the jungle. The living area is the first 2 floors (bedrooms and sitting area on 2nd floor, kitchen, shower and sitting area on 1st floor). We woke up every morning to gudis, coatis, raccoons and white faced monkeys in the yard. One of the coatis ate grapes out of my wife's hand! Sometimes there are bats on the second living area which was really cool (they were sleeping). The sitting areas on both floors can be closed off by tarps if it rains, but we left them open the entire time and when you look out you really feel like you are in a treehouse!
There is no A/C which we were OK with because the owner provides plenty of fans.
Speaking of the owners; Tito & Donna. We were not able to meet Donna due to her being in the US with family, but we corresponded with her numerous times and they are both such kind and helpful people. We really enjoyed our conversations with Tito and even invited him for dinner our last night there. He has so much knowledge from living there for 10 years and we learned a lot about the Montezuma area.
We highly recommend this place if you want to be immersed in the jungle and be surrounded by wildlife. It was truly a one-of-a-kind experience. We loved feeling like we were the only casa because of all the tropical plants and palm trees. The lookout on the 3rd floor is awesome too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like like we were in a treehouse
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifera...
Boca Grande
1 review
“The Best trip EVER!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I had the best trip ever in Montezuma and the surrounding cities. Tito and Donna truly made the trip for us. They both were so helpful and very informative of the area. Neither of us speak Spanish and Tito was so accommodating. He helped us arrange transport and even took us on a tour of the area. The house is amazing and the property gorgeous! Thank you for a wonderful Anniversary trip xxoo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and the owners helpfullness
Liked least: No airconditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing