We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beach resort at it very best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stunning location, wonderfully organised, great service, good food, large very comfortable suites, beautiful gardens (with resident wildlife), and an almost private beach with all the facilities: for a beach side holiday this place has it all, with style and elegance but without the stuffiness of many top end resorts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,269 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

I just returned from a few days here with my 12 year old son. We are both mad about wildlife and nature, which is why we decided to try Costa Rica but I also like a high degree of creature comforts.
Equally I felt conscious that in a country like Costa Rica I wanted a hotel that was eco-friendly and where our stay wasn't taking water or other precious resources away from the local community. The Arenas del Mar has the highest eco rating in Costa Rica - an accolade that the staff are all very proud about and was a perfect choice on all counts.

We had an Oceanview suite (with jacuzzi on the balcony and spectacular sea views), which although not luxurious was very comfortable with excellent aircon and lovely high threadcount sheets. There is twice daily housekeeping and a Ticobar with daily replenished soft drinks and snacks which you are welcome to have at no charge. Wifi is patchy but I was still on UK time and found that first thing in the morning the signal and availability was fine!

The heat (in April) was intense with very high humidity so I cannot emphasise enough what a pleasure it was to get back to a suite with good aircon! But do keep the French windows closed at all times - the Capuchin monkeys are fearless and will try to get into your room if they can!

Service throughout our stay was kind, friendly and genuine.

We only ever ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel (it was too hot to eat lunch as well) and the meals were fine. Prices for us were pretty low - especially if you consider the position of this place. I highly recommend the non alcohol cocktail they offer which has fresh pineapple, mint and coconut cream in it - absolutely delicious.

The wildlife? Fabulous and exciting. On property there is already a lot to see - many sloths (including a mother and her baby), monkeys and iguanas plus a lot of birdlife. We went out with Roger, the hotel's nature guide, on an early morning bird tour on the property and to a neighbouring area (30 mins' drive) called Hanging Bridges. The latter was wonderful: jewel-coloured poison dart frogs and the terrifyingly venomous Fer de Lance snake plus loads of exotic birds including toucans, owls and hummingbiords. The guides out here have a terrific eye and I highly recommend you take guided trips for two reasons: i) to see a lot and ii) as reassurance as I was rather scared of the poisonous snakes, having frightenedd myself about them in advance by extensively researching the wildlife in preparation for the trip.

The nearby national park Manuel Antonio is a disappointment after the Hanging Bridges or the hotel's own gardens and was overrun bystudents on Spring break, shouting and screeching every time they saw a monkey. I would avoid.

I would highly recommend this resort for a few days and would definitely consider returning and will certainly go back to Costa Rica, which was a lovely country with charming people.

Final recommendation - fly between San Jose and Quepos. We few using Sansa - an excellent service - that takes a mere 20 minutes instead of a 3 hour drive.

Room Tip: We were top floor in building 4. My one gripe is I found the path at night (to get to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear TM99,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review of our Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort in Manuel Antonio. With your review, you put a big smile on our faces as we are excited to hear so much positive feedback. It is great to read reviews where guests “really get the idea of what we are about”: You pointed it all out. Sustainability at its highest level, but with the creature comforts – Friendly and genuine service, but without the stuffiness of other resorts – easy access to wildlife viewing and private beaches, without having to deal with the crowds. Thank you also about your kind words of Costa Ricans in general. We would love to have you back with your son real soon.
Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We try to travel to Manuel Antonio once a year and this is the nicest hotel and best location so far. MA has many nice hotels but most of them aren't this close to the beach. They have free boogie boards for guests at Playitas Beach. Espadilla Beach has them and a long board as well. The hotel can also arrange to have someone in town bring you a nicer board for around $25 a day. Playitas Beach does have some large rocks that get barely submerged at high tide so make sure to ask the lifeguard where they are. He even volunteered to give me hand signals if I was getting close to them. And when I got out of the water he gave me a fresh coconut to drink.

The biggest thing that would keep me from returning is they can't guarantee a reservation for a specific room. I loved the location of our building right in front of Playalitas Beach, but our balcony/jacuzzi had very little privacy during the day as it faced a snack bar by the pool and walkway to the beach.

Room Tip: The biggest thing that would keep me from returning is they can't guarantee a reservation for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank druiddation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent five nights here with our two sons (7 and 12). The location is great and the water clear and warm but big waves so not really safe for the children unless you watch them. There is a lifeguard on duty and he was quick to act when an older lady got knocked down by a few waves in quick succession. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We saw a cool snake outside our room and watched as it disappeared into its habitat. The people make this place. Roger, the guide, Alexander and Robin who zip you around in the buggies were all incredibly friendly, helpful and genuine in wanting to make our holiday special. My children loved them and they were great with the kids. We ventured up the steep road to the main highway in the sunshine and had a lovely meal at Cafe Milagro and some powerful margaritas. There are lots of nice restaurants on the highway and you can organise transport from the hotel. $10 each way in an air-conditioned, comfortable van. We also visited the Manuel Antonio National Park which is close by but extremely crowded. Having said that we still saw a lot of wildlife but the air was heavy with the smell of DEET. You absolutely do not need to bring heavy duty insect repellant to Costa Rica. We were here for six weeks travelling throughout the country and did not need DEET once. You most certainly do not need it in Manuel Antonio. The breakfasts were nice but we did not like the lunches and went out to other spots. The staff noticed when we left our meals and asked why and in the two instances where there was an issue, they removed the item from our bill and asked for ways to improve. The resort is genuine about its intentions to please and accommodate you and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was down by the beach near the swimming pool. We had to walk up to breakfast and it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuriwaiLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family of 5 (3 kids 10-17) just returned from a week at the Arenas del Mar. This resort is incredible. We had an ocean view suite, with a connecting room. It provided us with 3 bedrooms, and 3 bathrooms. We were to comfortably be together in one room, or we could spread out and have our own space. The decks are very nice to spend time on - have a snack, watch the monkeys, or the waves in the ocean. The city of Manuel Antonio is a popular resort town, and the local beach can get very crowded. The Arenas, though, has a private beach that takes you away from all the crowds and noise. There are very helpful staff wiling to get you a lounge chair, drink, snack, or show you the baby sloth in the tree. If the riptide is too strong at the moment, there are two different pools you can swim in. It is wonderful how the resort is built into the rainforest - trees are growing through the restaurant. It feels very natural, compared to a perfectly manicured and fake resort in Palm Springs. I wondered if a week would be too long there, but we were all sad to leave when we did. We hope to return there soon!

Room Tip: We were in Building 7, right next to the restaurant. Nice to be close for the meals, not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
2.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
1.0 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
576 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 18,294 - ₹ 68,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing