We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Spokane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family of 5 (3 kids 10-17) just returned from a week at the Arenas del Mar. This resort is incredible. We had an ocean view suite, with a connecting room. It provided us with 3 bedrooms, and 3 bathrooms. We were to comfortably be together in one room, or we could spread out and have our own space. The decks are very nice to spend time on - have a snack, watch the monkeys, or the waves in the ocean. The city of Manuel Antonio is a popular resort town, and the local beach can get very crowded. The Arenas, though, has a private beach that takes you away from all the crowds and noise. There are very helpful staff wiling to get you a lounge chair, drink, snack, or show you the baby sloth in the tree. If the riptide is too strong at the moment, there are two different pools you can swim in. It is wonderful how the resort is built into the rainforest - trees are growing through the restaurant. It feels very natural, compared to a perfectly manicured and fake resort in Palm Springs. I wondered if a week would be too long there, but we were all sad to leave when we did. We hope to return there soon!

Room Tip: We were in Building 7, right next to the restaurant. Nice to be close for the meals, not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    179
    40
    22
    9
See reviews for
512
930
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you've travelled a lot, you've probably said "we've got to come back to this place" and then never do, right? Well, this is one that we liked so much we did come back and of course, it's beautiful. I've said before, the people make the difference...they seem genuinely interested in you, your stay and your well being.
That being said, we did find a couple of things different this time around.
One is our mistake...we came here in late January last year and it was perfect This time we made the mistake of staying during Semana Santa..Holy week. Verrrrryyyy crowded. also, if you don't plan in advance, don't count on any liquor being sold or served anywhere in the country on Thursday or Friday....it's a law..no alcohol. They even have police road blocks to check on possible violators.
But that's not anything to do with the resort...that's on us..poor planning I guess.
But I have to say I was quite disappointed in the VERY weak wi-fi signal...it really impacted my stay here.
Let's face it, if you can afford to stay here, you probably have some business associates you need to keep in touch with via email...and for me, that just wasn't happening.
Wi-fi is so important today, that to me, it's a deal breaker for coming back. A modern person, especially a business person, or anyone who needs internet fairly regularly, is NOT going to be happy.
I complained to the management and they reset the router but it made no difference. C'mon guys, all things computer related go obsolete quickly...I've already replaced my home router three times in order to upgrade.....can't you do the same?
The other thing is the food prices do seem to have gone up since last year, but I guess that's understandable. I love the food and it's obvious the chef goes to a great deal of care in its preparation, but my wife and I both noticed about a 25% increase in price. The prices are reasonable to begin with, so it wasn't much of a problem, but one of the perks of staying here has been diminished a bit.
Another thing about this time of year is we were invaded by halloween crabs. I guess they're harmless but there were hundreds of them crawling around the resort, especially the stairs to the rooms...it was like something out of a horror movie! Google them for more info.
Interstingly enough, they seemed to disappear today.
Conclusion: it's a luxury resort in a rain forest, which is another way of saying a jungle...and that's the attraction for us...but be prepared for wildlife whether you want it or not.
The monkeys are a treat for sure (we even saw the rarer squirrel monkeys) and large iguanas are everywhere as well, all intermingled with pools and a couple of spectacular beaches.
So, the staff is really excellent, the location and view couldn't be better, the food good and fairly reasonable, but remember..it's essentially in the jungle so be prepared for...what's in (and I guess what's not in) the jungle!

Room Tip: If you're not in good physical shape, try not to get a room down the hill, or you will be using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifes2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestserviceADM, Manager at Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Friend,
Thank you for your second visit to our resort. We are excited that you came back and hope to have you back with us many more times. Thank you for your feedback and explaining to future guests about travelling in semana santa in Costa Rica. It seems that the whole country heads to the beach and yes, there is a dry law in place that is enforced quite strictly. To avoid the crowds, it is best that you come in the shoulder seasons of May/June or November/early December for your next visit. Few people but still great weather. We are happy to hear that you felt that the staff makes the difference and that you felt very well taken care of. Also thanks for pointing out how our location next to the Ocean and in the rainforest cannot be beat. We would like to address some of your concerns and comments.
We are sorry that the weak wifi signal impacted your stay. Just a few months ago, we upgraded the system at the hotel and had very positive comments about the improvement in general. We will look into more detail what happened during your stay as we are very aware how important this complimentary amenity is for our guests. Thank you for pointing out how much you liked our food. I can ensure you that we have not increased the prices since your last stay. Providing value for our guests in the restaurants at Arenas del Mar is very important. Not sure why your perception changed here - possibly you might have chosen different dishes. About the Halloween crabs. They come up from the beach towards the forest every year with the first rains in April. Arenas del Mar is located in the rainforest and home to monkeys, sloths, iguanas and also halloween crabs. No reason to be afraid though. They are harmless and in a few days, they will disappear again. Our staff is ready to help guests that are concerned about this part of the rainforest experience. Thanks for your comments. This is always helpful for us and we take them very seriously.
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We enjoyed part of our Honeymoon at this resort last month. My wife wants to return, like, tomorrow...the beach was clean and private. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was healthy and the wildlife was entertaining. Note: Take the staffs advice and keep your balcony doors locked-those monkeys know where the service bar is located in every room!

Room Tip: 302B was our room. An incredible balcony with a glass tiled jacuzzi, with the beach 100 yards away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerDishwasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband, 9 year old son and I just returned from Arenas del Mar and I wish I could give it more stars. We stayed in an ocean view suite and it was fantastic. Very spacious and comfortable. Wifi worked well. Monkeys visited our patio every afternoon. Both pools were fantastic-nice warm water. The beaches were lovely-playitas just a few steps from your room. Some reviews have remarked on the the hilliness of the resort-do not be concerned. If you do not want to walk-they will come an pick you up in minutes with a golf cart to take you where you would like to go. The staff was incredibly nice and very friendly. The food was very good. I would go again in an instant.

Room Tip: ask for a room in building 1 if you want to be close to the private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cofamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our family (mom, dad and 3 kids ages 24-31) met for a week at Arenas del Mar. Great location on the beach. Playitas Beach was beautiful--basically a private beach with lounge chairs and drink/lunch service with palm trees up to the beach and with a restaurant with tables on the sand in the shade of the trees. Playa Espadilla beach is a short walk with surfing and an easy walk to Manuel Antonio. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. During the week there were special dinners on the beach. Food was very good, but not as fine as expected. Highly recommend for relaxation and a very fun and enjoyable beach vacation in the jungle.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms closest to the beach. Ocean View Premium Suites can be combined with connecting S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckySadieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 km away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
2.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
2.1 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,306 - ₹ 41,361
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing