We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
125
141
39
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
141
39
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road national park pool area and breakfast no wifi in the rooms costa rica bus stop the location is perfect breakfast was delicious manuel antonio park restaurants within walking distance el avion short drive small pool howler monkeys mandarine lorena quepos
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We loved our time here. Our room was clean, spacious with a great view. Great location close to beaches and shops. Even better were the people, very hospitable and extremely nice! Would highly recommend

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank willpO2033BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words-They serve as a big incentive to the staff to continue working hard to make sure that our guests have a pleasant stay with us-
We look foward to see you again in the future
Until then...kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We were booked in this hotel by our travel agent, and were encouraged by overall positive reviews prior to arrival. My husband and I arrived with our luggage and were unsure of where to go to check in. There was a single Hotel Mandarina sign but no directions or clear "oficina" or "recepcion" sign. After asking we were directed to a non-descript area with a lady at a desk. Her name was Lorena and she was inviting and kind. She also took the time to answer questions and show us the pool, breakfast area, and to our room. There are lots of stairs! The room definitely needs updated and our room's windows overlook a stairwell. There is not much privacy as we can overhear other's conversations and the curtains have to be pulled quite forcibly to block the windows, or else have everyone passing by on the stairs have a direct view of our entire room/stuff. No hair dryer, shampoo or lotion is provided although there is a soap dispenser in the shower. Shower door was broken in our room (B). No WiFi in the rooms but there is WiFi out by the pool/eating area. I got quite bit up by the bugs while catching up with online activities. Thankfully there is working air conditioning and a ceiling fan in the room. The rooms and eating areas are clean and the pool is well-kept. The two ladies who served breakfast seemed to merely tolerate us as there was no "Buenos Dias" or other acknowledgement/greeting when we showed up for breakfast. The fruit was delicious and fresh. We felt like we were an inconvenience to the ladies who were serving us but that might have just been our experience.
Laundry service is available for $4/kilo (they weigh it after it's dried and folded).
Overall, we would have stayed at another hotel if we had known the above, as there seem to be many other attractive options in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank in1accord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review
We are sorry to hear about the negative aspects that you encountered and will definitely address all the issues that you pointed out.
It is our goal to fix and improve all the things that our guests feel that can be better-
We would like to point out a few things :
We do have two big wooden signs (Tours and Reception) right at the entrance of each office. Also we do have hair dryers in the reception upon request.
We apologize if this was not clear to you.
Our hotel is small mid -range 12 room hotel. We don't provide toiletries but we always try to be very accommodating to our guests need if we are asked or told.
Also we clearly advertised in all different sites and travel agencies that our WiFi is only in public areas. We are working on improving this particular service-
We already had a staff meeting to communicate to everyone your comments.
This is a job that has to be done with dedication and love and it is important for us that it is clear to all our staff.
Best regards,-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I loved our three nights at Hotel Mandarina! It was clean and the hearty breakfast was a great way to start a busy day. The property is well kept and interestingly laid out and we were constantly entertained by the animals and birds that frequented the nearby trees including Squirrel & Howler Monkeys, Toucans, Mot-mots, Hummingbirds, Agouti and other local wildlife! The hotel is near many popular attractions...the town of Quepos, El Avion Restaurant, and Manuel Antonio Park to name a few. The bus is convenient and easy to use so, if you want, you can just "park and go" which was a welcome treat for us road-weary travelers after having driven across the country and back. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to spend some time!

Room Tip: The lower level rooms require going up and down multiple levels of stairs so, if this is a concern for you, be sure to inquire when booking.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank songofthepaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review
We loved hearing that your stay was enjoyable and entertaining !
We strive to get better every day and be worthy of our guests positive comments.
Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

We had 3 nights at Hotel Mandarina - the location was ideal with plenty of good restaurants nearby and a short drive to the national park. The room was fine but would really benefit from a bit of updating - we felt like it wouldn't take much more than a lick of paint and some new curtains etc. to make it so much better - as it it is, it's a little tired. It was also quite annoying that there was no wifi in the rooms, only in communal areas.
Reception staff were very friendly but we found that the ladies at breakfast didn't exactly give service with a smile! We felt like we were a bit of an inconvenience to them. The breakfast itself though was great! A plate of fresh fruit followed by either eggs or pancakes.
All in all, it was good value but if a couple of tweaks were made, it could be great!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Ms F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review
All the comments and feedback are more than welcome as it what help us improve and change the things that need to be changed.
We will certainly work on the issues you mentioned.
We appreciate you staying with us and hope you enjoyed your visit to this area and this country !
Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We loved our 2 night stay at hotel mandarina. It was the last leg in an 11 night tour of Costa Rica and everything about it was just great. The staff were so friendly and the room was a great with biggest bed and much needed aircon. It was lovely to spend time in and around the pool area and breakfast was tasty with eggs cooked to preference. The location is perfect as opposite a small supermarket and easy walking distance of a number of great restaurants. We particularly liked the falafel bar on the corner opposite - food very tasty and reasonably priced. 2.5km walk to beach which is all down hill or grab the local bus which runs every 15 mins for 300 colones pp - we took the bus back as didn't fancy the hill climb!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks a lot for your comment !
We loved meeting you and having you here
For the staff is always a great source of pride to have comments like this and it serves of great incentive to continue to work hard and improve every day !
Looking forward to see you again in the future
Kind regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews