We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I could not have asked for s better place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were in Select Villas (upper level). Such a beautiful place. Monkeys jumping in our own balcony on our own hammock. Quite a show, on a daily basis. People at Tukemar were so, so friendly! A true pleasure. Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CeciKremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Ceci for your review and for spending your 30th wedding anniversary with us at the Tulemar Resort and ultimately Congratulations on 30 years of marriage. The Select Villas are the perfect accommodation with in Tulemar for lovebirds who are celebrating or on honeymoons or who are just looking to get away. We are thrilled you enjoyed and hope to host you again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is a beautiful resort with an amazing staff. Our room overlooked a jungle all the way through to the ocean with macaws and toucans flying around and eating berries outside our window. Our concierge met our every need. The restaurant staff became friends. They would show us the sloths hidden in the trees and whales in the ocean. The beach staff was also friendly and attentive. This is near many other good restaurants and the Manuel Antonio National Park, which was worth a trip. It was great to be there in the off season with few other people.

Room Tip: We loved the room in the Jungle House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Karen for your review and for staying with us at the Tulemar Resort. I completely agree with you; the green season my favorite time of year: tranquility amplified by the afternoon and evening rains! I hope we can host you again. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The best thing about this resort is the wildlife, which was amazing, that is why we visited Costa Rica and the site certainly delivered. And the staff, who are a credit to the resort, they are unfailingly helpful and pleasant.
We stayed in a Buena Vista Villa, the room was ok but a little tired, there is very little hanging space or storage for clothes and there is also an annoying sound from a pump which goes off regularly. However the views from the room are amazing, the beds are comfy and the coffee machine with free coffee is a nice touch. There is a lovely natural beach on site and we had a lot of fun body boarding with the free boards. The sunbeds are a bit uncomfortable.
We went on the El Sanctuario ziplining trip which was excellent, the Manual Antonio National park was very busy but our brilliant guide made the trip worthwhile pointing out incredible wildlife that we would never have spotted on our own. We didn't go in the green season but we did visit off season, it does rain nearly every day usually in the afternoon from about 4pm, so go prepared.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Susan for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Tulemar Resort. Our 33 acres is a natural preserve that is home to a vast array of wildlife that are frequently on display. We did a thorough inspection of the unit you stayed in upon your exit and rectified the unpleasant pump sound. Also during green season is when we do our room sprucing and we are still in the process of getting ready for high season... Thank you for the heads up on what you felt was a tired decor. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Everything here was amazing! I came many many years ago and mentioned to my fiancé how much I loved it and she surprised me with a vacation here for our anniversary and my birthday! The room we stayed in (208) was overhanging a lush section of the rainforest with a great view of the pacific. Just a note, wildlife is abundant here! We saw many frogs, monkeys, iguanas, and I believe a taipar.
It is a biiiig spacious property, they have several friendly shuttle drivers to transport you at a moments notice, but one of the coolest things is a personal concierge. We exchanged numbers using the phone app WhatsApp and were able to have questions, reservations, and rides just by texting our awesome concierge Gary!
He made sure we were well taken care of and handled all the hard work for us!
If your looking for a private getaway that is in the REAL rain forest, I recommend this place, the property and the service was top notch!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Preston R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Preston for your review and for staying with us at the one and only Tulemar Resort. The Select Villas are perfect for "Love Birds" and the green season is the most tranquil time of year. I'm glad you two enjoyed. Gary, one of our personal concierges is fantastic and in our digital world whatsapp makes our 33 acres very manageable. Thanks again Preston! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We have just finished a 14 day tour of Costa Rica ending our stay at the Buena Vista villas in the Tulemar resort. In all honesty I couldn't think of a better way to end a wonderful trip! Tulemar is truly a great representation of the kindness of the Costa Rican people, quality of a 5 star resort PLUS the most amazing wildlife experience right on your doorstep! We woke up twice to monkeys on our balcony, iguana on the trees outside our bedrooms and sloths in numerous trees throughout the resort. On top of this our concierge, Orlando , was just the kindest most easy going person we had met, offering help with excursion bookings, advice on restaurants and always at the end of the phone whenever you needed him!! Tulemar we cannot thank you enough for a perfect closure to our wonderful holiday in Costa Rica........ Pura Vida!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Almajema123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Almajema123 for you review and for staying with us at the Tulemar Resort. Our resort is the perfect place to end a Costa Rican junket highlighting the best of Costa Rica's wildlife and warm hearted people. This combined with our luxury and service will make you return on a regular basis! Pura Vida Almajema123, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,604 reviews
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
1.0 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
1.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 15,437 - ₹ 56,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing