We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,731)
Filter reviews
1,731 results
Traveller rating
1,548
141
23
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,548
141
23
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buena vista villas private beach personal concierge boogie boards bedroom villa jean carlo jungle house costa rica pura vida concierge gary select villa tule cafe dinner reservations shuttle service family pool three bedroom every morning
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 1,731 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is a beautiful resort with an amazing staff. Our room overlooked a jungle all the way through to the ocean with macaws and toucans flying around and eating berries outside our window. Our concierge met our every need. The restaurant staff became friends. They would show us the sloths hidden in the trees and whales in the ocean. The beach staff was also friendly and attentive. This is near many other good restaurants and the Manuel Antonio National Park, which was worth a trip. It was great to be there in the off season with few other people.

Room tip: We loved the room in the Jungle House.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you Karen for your review and for staying with us at the Tulemar Resort. I completely agree with you; the green season my favorite time of year: tranquility amplified by the afternoon and evening rains! I hope we can host you again. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The best thing about this resort is the wildlife, which was amazing, that is why we visited Costa Rica and the site certainly delivered. And the staff, who are a credit to the resort, they are unfailingly helpful and pleasant.
We stayed in a Buena Vista Villa, the room was ok but a little tired, there is very little hanging space or storage for clothes and there is also an annoying sound from a pump which goes off regularly. However the views from the room are amazing, the beds are comfy and the coffee machine with free coffee is a nice touch. There is a lovely natural beach on site and we had a lot of fun body boarding with the free boards. The sunbeds are a bit uncomfortable.
We went on the El Sanctuario ziplining trip which was excellent, the Manual Antonio National park was very busy but our brilliant guide made the trip worthwhile pointing out incredible wildlife that we would never have spotted on our own. We didn't go in the green season but we did visit off season, it does rain nearly every day usually in the afternoon from about 4pm, so go prepared.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you Susan for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Tulemar Resort. Our 33 acres is a natural preserve that is home to a vast array of wildlife that are frequently on display. We did a thorough inspection of the unit you stayed in upon your exit and rectified the unpleasant pump sound. Also during green season is when we do our room sprucing and we are still in the process of getting ready for high season... Thank you for the heads up on what you felt was a tired decor. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Everything here was amazing! I came many many years ago and mentioned to my fiancé how much I loved it and she surprised me with a vacation here for our anniversary and my birthday! The room we stayed in (208) was overhanging a lush section of the rainforest with a great view of the pacific. Just a note, wildlife is abundant here! We saw many frogs, monkeys, iguanas, and I believe a taipar.
It is a biiiig spacious property, they have several friendly shuttle drivers to transport you at a moments notice, but one of the coolest things is a personal concierge. We exchanged numbers using the phone app WhatsApp and were able to have questions, reservations, and rides just by texting our awesome concierge Gary!
He made sure we were well taken care of and handled all the hard work for us!
If your looking for a private getaway that is in the REAL rain forest, I recommend this place, the property and the service was top notch!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aptr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you Preston for your review and for staying with us at the one and only Tulemar Resort. The Select Villas are perfect for "Love Birds" and the green season is the most tranquil time of year. I'm glad you two enjoyed. Gary, one of our personal concierges is fantastic and in our digital world whatsapp makes our 33 acres very manageable. Thanks again Preston! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We have just finished a 14 day tour of Costa Rica ending our stay at the Buena Vista villas in the Tulemar resort. In all honesty I couldn't think of a better way to end a wonderful trip! Tulemar is truly a great representation of the kindness of the Costa Rican people, quality of a 5 star resort PLUS the most amazing wildlife experience right on your doorstep! We woke up twice to monkeys on our balcony, iguana on the trees outside our bedrooms and sloths in numerous trees throughout the resort. On top of this our concierge, Orlando , was just the kindest most easy going person we had met, offering help with excursion bookings, advice on restaurants and always at the end of the phone whenever you needed him!! Tulemar we cannot thank you enough for a perfect closure to our wonderful holiday in Costa Rica........ Pura Vida!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Almajema123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you Almajema123 for you review and for staying with us at the Tulemar Resort. Our resort is the perfect place to end a Costa Rican junket highlighting the best of Costa Rica's wildlife and warm hearted people. This combined with our luxury and service will make you return on a regular basis! Pura Vida Almajema123, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We came to Costa Rica for our Honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay! The service was amazing! Orlando was our concierge and he treated us amazing! We have never received the type of service we did at Tulemar. Not only was the service amazing but the beach, the pools, and the views were spectacular!

I also want to mention, the service from Daniella, Omar, Juan, David, Jean Carlos and everyone else we encountered was top notch! We hope to one day be fortunate enough to come back! I have to say, this place will be very hard to beat!

Pura Vida!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kmiranda2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you Kmiranda2007 for your review and for honeymooning with us at the one and only Tulemar Resort. Amazing setting, with exclusive beach and pools paired with our world class staff, thank you for noticing and reviewing. I hope we can host you again in the future, next time with children! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews