We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week in paradise!”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Week in paradise!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Don't miss this property. My family, including 11 and 13 year old daughters, had an unbelievable stay at Buena Vista Luxury Villas. We stayed in a 3 bedroom premium villa for 5 nights. Accommodations were spectacular. Amazing views of the beach, monkeys on our porch, full kitchen, 4 bathrooms! Could not be better.

We had a private concierge named Brian who helped us throughout our stay. He made dinner reservations, arranged a white water rafting excursion and even waited with us for our transfer back to the airport.

Top to bottom, first class!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoatingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    120
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
624
334
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

WOW!!!!!
We just finished a 7 night stay in one of the bungalows with our 8 and 9 year old boys. It was absolutley perfect!
BEAUTIFUL beach w/ nice waves but safe for kids w/ boogie boards and kayaks for free- this is the best reason to stay at Buena Vista!!!!!
monkeys and birds, even a sloth
simple, affordable and clean accomodations
nice paths, but STEEP so plan on a little execise unless you take the free shuttle
Breakfast and lunch served at he beach
Staff is great

The only thing missing was dinner service but plenty of choices for retaurants nearby. We especially liked Salsipuedes, just a few feet down the road, for it's beachy atmosphere and excellent comida tipica.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a little more and get a porch with an ocean view, get a Select Villa- probably wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We returned last night from a 5-day stay in a 1-bedroom select villa (which was an unexpected upgrade from the junior suite we had expected). The suite was beautiful, albeit a hike up the hill from the drop-off site at the pool! No complaints - it was a great workout! The view from room 306 was breathtaking to say the very least. We enjoyed visits from both the spider monkeys and the white faced capuchins. I was surprised by the outgoing personality of the spider monkeys when one surprised me by jumping on my chair and taking the banana that was sitting near me! The staff was great and was available whenever we needed a shuttle from the beach, to dinner or the grocery store. We discovered Barba Rosa, a nearby restaurant, the cooked the snapper my husband caught one day and the snook I caught another day. Both meals were great. Be sure to try out Pez Espada for off shore fishing (we caught 13 sailfish) and Pez Rey for inshore! We would go back here in a minute!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were in Costa Rica for a couple of weeks and ended our trip in the Buena Vista Villas. It was the best of all the places we visited and we really did not want to leave. The pool was just downstairs, the beach close by with lots of activities and we were taken care of by our new friend, Brian. He was there to great us, take us to our villa and show us around. Whenever we needed anything all we had to do was pick up the phone.

The villa was beautifully appointed and the kitchen was a delight to cook in. We ate in the first night from Victoria's Restaurant. It was superb. We were so happy to be with the monkeys and looking at the Pacific that we spent most of our time on the deck.

I could not recommend Buena Vista Luxury Villas more.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped or have trouble climbing stairs make sure you let reservations know before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Us 5 ladies loved our accommodations we had our own fridge great kitchen... beautiful big rooms, loved the outside showers that were private. we had our own Private driver and guide to help us get where we needed to go. Brian was wonderful..and he went out of his way to help us. We loved the private beach and we got to see many monkey's , raccoons , lizards and other creatures. It was my favorite place to stay. The service was over the top. Loved it!
Jeannie, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Property: Tulemar Resort
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,596 - ₹ 47,155
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing